Short answer
CVS Health employed over 300,000 colleagues on December 31, 2025, according to its 2025 Form 10-K, filed February 10, 2026, about 73% of them full-time and mainly in the United States. That is the latest headcount CVS has reported. It has given the figure as "over 300,000" every year since 2022, up from about 290,000 in 2019, so the filings don't show smaller year-to-year changes.
- Latest figure: over 300,000 colleagues on December 31, 2025, about 73% full-time (2025 10-K, filed February 10, 2026).
- CVS has described its workforce as "over 300,000" every year since 2022, so the exact trend isn't public.
- By our arithmetic, at least about 219,000 of those colleagues work full-time.
- CVS closed about 900 stores between 2022 and 2024 and 221 more in 2025, and had about 9,000 retail locations at the end of 2025.
- Revenue per employee was at most about $1.34 million in 2025, because 300,000 is a floor (our calculation).
On this page
This page is for sellers, analysts and job seekers who need a CVS Health headcount they can cite, and need to know how precise it is. CVS Health, the parent of CVS Pharmacy, Aetna, CVS Caremark and Oak Street Health, reports its workforce once a year, as of December 31, in the Human Capital section of its 10-K. Every figure below comes from those filings, with its date.
CVS Health employees by year
| Year end | Employees ("colleagues") | Full-time share | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 31, 2025 | Over 300,000 | About 73% | 2025 10-K, filed February 10, 2026 |
| December 31, 2024 | Over 300,000 | About 73% | 2024 10-K, filed February 12, 2025 |
| December 31, 2023 | Over 300,000 | About 73% | 2023 10-K, filed February 7, 2024 |
| December 31, 2022 | Over 300,000 | About 73% | 2022 10-K, filed February 8, 2023 |
| December 31, 2021 | Approximately 300,000 | About 72% | 2021 10-K, filed February 9, 2022 |
| December 31, 2020 | Nearly 300,000 | About 71% | 2020 10-K, filed February 16, 2021 |
| December 31, 2019 | Approximately 290,000 | Not reported | 2019 10-K, filed February 18, 2020 |
| December 31, 2018 | Approximately 295,000 | Not reported | 2018 10-K, filed February 28, 2019 |
The wording is CVS's own. Because "over 300,000" has no upper bound, the filings can't tell you whether the workforce grew or shrank between 2022 and 2025. All you can say is that it stayed above 300,000.
What the number includes
The 2025 10-K says: "As of December 31, 2025, we employed over 300,000 colleagues primarily in the U.S. including in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, approximately 73% of whom were full-time."
- Full-time and part-time. The figure counts both, and gives the full-time share. By our arithmetic, 73% of at least 300,000 means at least about 219,000 full-time colleagues and at least about 81,000 part-time.
- All of CVS Health. It covers every segment: Health Care Benefits (Aetna), Health Services (the CVS Caremark pharmacy benefits manager, specialty and mail order pharmacy, and medical clinics such as Oak Street Health) and Pharmacy & Consumer Wellness (CVS Pharmacy stores).
- Mostly in the United States. The 2019 and earlier 10-Ks also mentioned "a number of countries outside the United States." Recent filings say "primarily in the U.S." and give no country or segment split.
- No contractor count. The 10-K doesn't report contractors or temporary staff separately.
For scale, the 10-K describes "approximately 9,000 retail locations, more than 1,000 walk-in and primary care medical clinics" and a pharmacy benefits manager with "approximately 87 million plan members," and says Aetna serves more than 37 million people through its health insurance products.
What changed and why
2018 to 2023: acquisitions
The 2018 count of about 295,000 already included Aetna, which CVS acquired on November 28, 2018. In 2023 CVS acquired Signify Health (March 29) and Oak Street Health (May 2), which runs primary care centers for Medicare patients. Because the total was already "over 300,000," those deals don't show as a change in the headline figure.
2022 to 2025: closing stores
In the fourth quarter of 2021 CVS announced plans to close about 900 stores between 2022 and 2024. Its 2024 10-K confirms it "had closed approximately 900 retail stores in connection with these actions." In the third quarter of 2024 it finalized "an enterprise-wide restructuring plan intended to streamline and simplify the organization, improve efficiency and reduce costs," which included plans to close another 271 stores in 2025, "corporate workforce optimization costs, including severance and employee-related costs," and expected cost savings of more than $500 million in 2025. The 2025 10-K says CVS closed 221 retail stores in 2025 under that plan.
2026: clinic closures
The 2025 10-K records a charge for "the planned closure of certain existing Oak Street Health clinics in 2026, as well as associated severance and employee-related costs expected to be incurred." It doesn't say how many clinics or employees.
The closures and restructuring point to fewer employees in some areas, but because CVS reports only "over 300,000," the effect on the total isn't visible in its filings.
Revenue per employee
CVS Health's 2025 total revenues were $402.1 billion, up 7.8%. Using 300,000 employees: $402,067 million ÷ 300,000 = about $1.34 million per employee (our calculation). Because the true headcount is above 300,000, the real figure is somewhat lower, so treat $1.34 million as a ceiling. For 2024 the same ceiling was about $1.24 million.
| 2025 total revenues by segment | Amount |
|---|---|
| Health Services | $190.4 billion |
| Health Care Benefits | $143.4 billion |
| Pharmacy & Consumer Wellness | $139.4 billion |
| Corporate/Other | $0.5 billion |
| Intersegment eliminations | -$71.6 billion |
| Total | $402.1 billion |
Segment revenues add up to more than the total because, as the 10-K puts it, some revenue comes from "activities that occur between the Health Care Benefits segment, the Health Services segment, and/or the Pharmacy & Consumer Wellness segment." CVS doesn't report employees by segment.
Selling to a company this size
General guidance on how an integrated health company of this size buys, not a description of CVS Health's internal processes.
- Pick the business. An insurer, a pharmacy benefits manager, a retail pharmacy chain and a primary care operator have different buyers, budgets and rules. Treat each segment, and often each business inside it, as its own account.
- Expect healthcare compliance review. Anything that touches patient or member data meets HIPAA requirements, security review and, for Medicare and Medicaid work, government program rules. Have business associate terms ready.
- Tie your pitch to the restructuring. A company closing stores and clinics and running a cost program wants efficiency it can measure. Show the saving per store, per clinic or per member.
- Respect the field structure. Store operations run through regional and district leaders. A pilot in one region is a common way in.
Working out which part of an integrated company owns a decision takes time. Bebop researches each account and suggests who to talk to; check its findings against the filings. For the manual method, see our guide to finding decision makers.
How to check CVS Health's headcount yourself
- Open CVS Health's 10-K filings on SEC EDGAR and pick the latest one, filed each February.
- In Item 1, Business, find Human Capital. The headcount, its date and the full-time share are in the first paragraph.
- For store counts and closures, read the Pharmacy & Consumer Wellness store information in Item 1 and the restructuring note.
Next step: see CVS alongside its peers in the largest healthcare companies.
Sources
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 10 February 2026
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2024, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 12 February 2025
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2023, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 7 February 2024
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2022, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 8 February 2023
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2021, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 9 February 2022
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2020, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 16 February 2021
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2019, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 18 February 2020
- CVS Health Corporation Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2018, CVS Health Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 28 February 2019
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many employees does CVS have in 2026?
CVS Health's latest reported figure is over 300,000 colleagues on December 31, 2025, from its 2025 10-K, filed February 10, 2026. About 73% were full-time. CVS doesn't report headcount quarterly and hasn't given a more precise total since 2021, when it said approximately 300,000. Its next figure will be in the 10-K for 2026, normally filed in February.
How many full-time employees does CVS have?
CVS says about 73% of its more than 300,000 colleagues were full-time at the end of 2025. By our arithmetic, that's at least about 219,000 full-time employees. CVS doesn't give an exact full-time count, and the share has crept up from about 71% in 2020 and 72% in 2021 to 73% in each year since 2022.
Does the CVS employee count include Aetna?
Yes. The figure in CVS Health's 10-K covers the whole company, including Aetna, which CVS acquired on November 28, 2018 and which forms its Health Care Benefits segment. It also includes CVS Caremark, CVS Pharmacy stores, Oak Street Health and Signify Health. CVS doesn't split its headcount by segment, so there's no separate Aetna employee count in its filings.
How many CVS stores are there?
CVS Health had approximately 9,000 retail locations at the end of 2025, according to its 2025 10-K, plus more than 1,000 walk-in and primary care medical clinics. It closed about 900 stores between 2022 and 2024 under a plan announced in 2021, and 221 more in 2025 under an enterprise-wide restructuring plan finalized in 2024.
Is CVS laying off employees?
CVS's 10-Ks describe workforce reductions without giving numbers: restructuring charges in 2023 mainly for severance, corporate workforce optimization costs under the 2024 restructuring plan, and severance expected with Oak Street Health clinic closures planned for 2026. Its headcount is reported only as over 300,000, so the net effect isn't visible in the filings.