How many employees does Dell have?

Dell Technologies has cut its headcount by more than a quarter in three years while its revenue rose to $113.5 billion on demand for AI-optimized servers. Its 10-Ks give the number plainly and say why: cost management, limits on hiring and reorganizations.

Company profile5 min readPublished

Dell Technologies had approximately 97,000 employees on January 30, 2026, the end of its 2026 fiscal year, according to its Form 10-K filed March 16, 2026. That is the latest headcount Dell has reported, down from about 108,000 a year earlier and 133,000 in early 2023. Over the same three years revenue rose to $113.5 billion. Counts before fiscal 2022 included VMware, spun off in November 2021.

  • Latest figure: about 97,000 employees on January 30, 2026 (fiscal 2026 10-K, filed March 16, 2026).
  • Headcount has fallen three years running, from about 133,000 (February 2023) to 97,000, a drop of 27%.
  • Dell recognized $0.5 billion to $0.7 billion of severance a year from fiscal 2023 to fiscal 2026 for workforce reduction activities.
  • Figures for fiscal 2021 and earlier include VMware, which had about 34,000 employees when Dell last counted them.
  • Revenue per employee was about $1.17 million in fiscal 2026 (our calculation from the 10-K).
On this page

This page is for sellers, analysts and job seekers who need a Dell headcount they can cite. Dell Technologies reports one figure a year, at the end of its fiscal year (the Friday nearest January 31), in the Human Capital section of its 10-K. Every figure below comes from those filings, with the date it applies to.

Dell employees by year

Fiscal year endEmployeesChange on prior yearOf which VMwareIn the USSource
January 30, 202697,000-11,000 (-10.2%)Not reportedFY2026 10-K, filed March 16, 2026
January 31, 2025108,000-12,000 (-10.0%)Not reportedFY2025 10-K, filed March 25, 2025
February 2, 2024120,000-13,000 (-9.8%)Not reportedFY2024 10-K, filed March 25, 2024
February 3, 2023133,000No changeAbout 32%FY2023 10-K, filed March 30, 2023
January 28, 2022133,000See noteAbout 32%FY2022 10-K, filed March 24, 2022
January 29, 2021158,000-7,000 (-4.2%)About 34,000About 36%FY2021 10-K, filed March 26, 2021
January 31, 2020165,000+8,000 (+5.1%)About 31,000About 37%FY2020 10-K, filed March 27, 2020
February 1, 2019157,000About 24,000About 37%FY2019 10-K, filed March 29, 2019

Each figure is "approximately", rounded to the nearest thousand. For fiscal 2019 to 2021 the 10-Ks say "total full-time employees". The changes are our arithmetic.

Note on VMware. Dell completed its spin-off of VMware on November 1, 2021, during fiscal 2022. The fiscal 2021 count of 158,000 included about 34,000 VMware employees, so Dell without VMware had about 124,000. On that basis, headcount grew to 133,000 in fiscal 2022 rather than falling by 25,000. By the same arithmetic, Dell without VMware had about 133,000 in fiscal 2019 and 134,000 in fiscal 2020.

What the number includes

  • Employees, worldwide. The fiscal 2026 10-K says: "As of January 30, 2026, we had approximately 97,000 employees." Recent filings don't say whether part-time staff are included or give a contractor count. Older 10-Ks described the figure as full-time employees.
  • No current country split. The fiscal 2022 and 2023 10-Ks said about 32% of employees were in the United States. The fiscal 2024 to 2026 filings dropped that figure.
  • Subsidiaries move in and out. VMware left the count in fiscal 2022. Dell's fiscal 2026 10-K also records a gain on the sale of Secureworks, a former subsidiary, whose employees left with it.
  • No function split in recent filings. The fiscal 2023 10-K described "a 31,000-person direct sales force" and "approximately 35,000 full-time service and support professionals." Later 10-Ks describe an "extensive direct sales force" without a number.

What changed and why

Fiscal 2023: the cuts begin

The fiscal 2023 10-K says Dell "took certain measures to reduce cost, including limiting external hiring," and that after the year closed it announced "reorganizations and other actions" that "will reduce our employee population by approximately 5%."

Fiscal 2024 to 2026: three years of reductions

Each 10-K since then repeats the reason. Fiscal 2024: "limiting external hiring, employee reorganizations, and other actions." Fiscal 2025: the same measures "resulted in a reduction in our overall headcount." Fiscal 2026: "employee reorganizations, limitation of external hiring, and other actions," which "resulted in a continued reduction in our overall headcount." Dell recognized severance expense "related to workforce reduction activities" of $0.5 billion in fiscal 2023, $0.6 billion in fiscal 2024, $0.7 billion in fiscal 2025 and $0.6 billion in fiscal 2026.

Over the same period revenue grew. Fiscal 2026 revenue was $113.5 billion, up 19%. The 10-K says ISG revenue rose 40%, "driven primarily by strength in our AI-optimized servers offerings," whose revenue rose 166% to $24.7 billion. Dell is selling more with fewer people, and its filings tie the reductions to cost management and its strategic priorities.

Revenue per employee

$113,538 million ÷ 97,000 = about $1.17 million per employee in fiscal 2026 (our calculation). In fiscal 2025 it was about $884,900 ($95,567 million ÷ 108,000). The jump of about a third came from both sides: revenue up 19% and headcount down 10%.

Fiscal 2026 net revenueAmountChange
Infrastructure Solutions Group (ISG)$60.8 billion+40%
of which AI-optimized servers$24.7 billion+166%
of which traditional servers and networking$19.5 billion+9%
of which storage$16.6 billion+1%
Client Solutions Group (CSG)$51.0 billion+5%
of which commercial$44.1 billion+8%
of which consumer$6.9 billion-8%
Total, including other businesses$113.5 billion+19%

Dell doesn't report employees by segment, so revenue per employee for ISG or CSG can't be worked out from the filings.

Selling to a company this size

General guidance on how a hardware and services company of about 100,000 people buys, not a description of Dell's internal processes.

  • Bring a cost case. A company that has cut headcount for three straight years and says so in its 10-K wants productivity. Show what your product lets fewer people do.
  • Know which side you're selling to. ISG and CSG serve different customers on different cycles. Treat the segment, and the function inside it, as the account.
  • Expect partner overlap. A company that sells through a direct sales force and a channel network may be your customer, your partner and your channel at once. Be clear which relationship you're proposing.
  • Plan for procurement. At this size, first deals go through supplier onboarding, security and legal review. Map the people involved; our account plan template helps.

Keeping track of who owns what after repeated reorganizations is slow research. Bebop researches each account and suggests who to talk to now; check what it finds against the filings.

How to check Dell's headcount yourself

  1. Open Dell Technologies' 10-K filings on SEC EDGAR and pick the latest one, filed each March.
  2. In Item 1, Business, find Human Capital. The headcount and its date open the section, followed by the reason for any change.
  3. For severance, search the 10-K for "workforce reduction activities" in the discussion of other corporate expenses.

Next step: see how Dell compares with other hardware and IT companies in the largest tech companies.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many employees does Dell have in 2026?

Dell Technologies' latest reported figure is approximately 97,000 employees on January 30, 2026, the end of its 2026 fiscal year, from the 10-K it filed on March 16, 2026. Dell doesn't report headcount quarterly. Its next figure, for the end of fiscal 2027 in late January 2027, will be in the 10-K it normally files in March.

How many employees has Dell laid off?

Dell doesn't give a single layoff total. Its 10-Ks describe reorganizations and limits on external hiring every year since fiscal 2023, when it said actions would cut its employee population by about 5%. Headcount fell from about 133,000 in February 2023 to about 97,000 in January 2026, and Dell recognized $0.5 billion to $0.7 billion of severance each year.

Did Dell's employee count include VMware?

Until the spin-off. Dell's 10-Ks for fiscal 2019 to 2021 included VMware employees in the total and said how many: about 24,000, 31,000 and 34,000. Dell completed the VMware spin-off on November 1, 2021, so counts from fiscal 2022 onward exclude VMware. Without VMware, Dell had about 124,000 employees in January 2021.

How many Dell employees are in the United States?

Dell's most recent figure is in its fiscal 2023 10-K: about 32% of roughly 133,000 employees, or about 42,600 by our arithmetic, were in the United States at February 3, 2023. The fiscal 2024 to 2026 10-Ks don't give a US share, so there's no newer figure from Dell itself.

What is Dell's revenue per employee?

About $1.17 million in fiscal 2026, by our calculation: $113,538 million of net revenue divided by about 97,000 employees at January 30, 2026, both from the 10-K. In fiscal 2025 it was about $884,900. The rise came from revenue growing 19%, led by servers and networking, while headcount fell about 10%.

Find the team that owns the problem after a reorganization

Describe the enterprise accounts you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies and contacts, researches each account and suggests who to talk to now.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in