Short answer
Nvidia had approximately 42,000 employees in 38 countries at the end of fiscal 2026 (January 25, 2026), according to its Form 10-K filed February 25, 2026. About 31,000 work in research and development and 11,000 in sales, marketing, operations and administration. That's up from about 36,000 a year earlier and 13,775 in January 2020, while annual revenue grew from $10.9 billion to $215.9 billion.
- About 42,000 employees at January 25, 2026, up about 6,000 (17%) in a year.
- 31,000 (74%) work in research and development; Nvidia says more than 80% hold technical roles.
- Turnover was 3.7% in fiscal 2026, and over 40% of new hires came from employee referrals.
- Revenue per employee was about $5.1 million in fiscal 2026 (our calculation), up from about $0.8 million in fiscal 2020.
On this page
This page is for sellers sizing Nvidia as an account, recruiters and analysts, and anyone who needs a citable headcount. Every figure comes from Nvidia's annual report on Form 10-K. Nvidia's fiscal year ends on the last Sunday in January and is named for the calendar year it ends in, so fiscal 2026 ended January 25, 2026.
Nvidia employees by year
| Fiscal year | As of | Employees | Research and development | Sales, marketing, operations and admin | Countries | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | January 25, 2026 | about 42,000 | 31,000 | 11,000 | 38 | 10-K filed February 25, 2026 |
| 2025 | January 26, 2025 | about 36,000 | 27,100 | 8,900 | 38 | 10-K filed February 26, 2025 |
| 2024 | January 28, 2024 | about 29,600 | 22,200 | 7,400 | 36 | 10-K filed February 21, 2024 |
| 2023 | January 29, 2023 | 26,196 | 19,532 | 6,664 | 35 | 10-K filed February 24, 2023 |
| 2022 | January 30, 2022 | 22,473 | 16,242 | 6,231 | 32 | 10-K filed March 18, 2022 |
| 2021 | January 31, 2021 | 18,975 | 13,532 | 5,443 | 29 | 10-K filed February 26, 2021 |
| 2020 | January 26, 2020 | 13,775 | 9,823 | 3,952 | not stated | 10-K filed February 20, 2020 |
| 2019 | January 27, 2019 | 13,277 | 9,486 | 3,791 | not stated | 10-K filed February 21, 2019 |
Until fiscal 2023 Nvidia gave exact counts; since fiscal 2024 it has rounded them ("approximately"). The research and development share has stayed between 71% and 75% in every year shown.
What the number includes
The fiscal 2026 10-K says: "As of the end of fiscal year 2026, we had approximately 42,000 employees in 38 countries; 31,000 were engaged in research and development and 11,000 were engaged in sales, marketing, operations, and administrative positions."
- It's employees only. The filing doesn't say whether the count includes part-time staff, interns or contractors, and gives no contractor figure, so treat 42,000 as people on Nvidia's payroll.
- It covers subsidiaries worldwide. The 10-K reports about 6,000 employees in and around Israel, up from about 4,700 a year earlier and about 3,700 two years earlier, who mainly support its networking products. It doesn't give a US count.
- It's a point-in-time count at the fiscal year-end, not an average for the year.
The filing adds a few facts about the workforce: more than 80% of employees have technical roles, more than half hold an advanced degree, over 40% of fiscal 2026 hires came from employee referrals, and turnover was 3.7%.
| Fiscal year | Turnover rate (10-K) |
|---|---|
| 2026 | 3.7% |
| 2025 | 2.5% |
| 2024 | 2.7% |
| 2023 | 5.3% |
| 2022 | 4.9% |
| 2021 | 3.8% |
What changed and why
- Fiscal 2021: the Mellanox step. Nvidia completed its roughly $7 billion acquisition of Mellanox, a supplier of high-performance networking products, in April 2020. Headcount rose 5,200 that year, from 13,775 to 18,975, the largest jump in the series until fiscal 2025. The 10-K doesn't say how many of those people came with Mellanox.
- Fiscal 2022 to 2026: steady hiring, mostly engineers. Research and development grew from 16,242 to 31,000 people in four years. The 10-K ties revenue growth to "accelerated computing and AI" and its Blackwell platform, but doesn't give a hiring plan.
- Fiscal 2023: Russia closed, revenue flat. The 10-K says Nvidia stopped direct sales to Russia and closed its business operations there that year, recorded $54 million of restructuring costs and other, and had to move certain operations, including some research and development, out of China. Headcount still rose by 3,723, as it did in every year shown.
Revenue per employee
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Employees | Revenue per employee (our calculation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $215.9 billion | about 42,000 | about $5.14 million |
| 2025 | $130.5 billion | about 36,000 | about $3.62 million |
| 2024 | $60.9 billion | about 29,600 | about $2.06 million |
| 2023 | $27.0 billion | 26,196 | about $1.03 million |
| 2022 | $26.9 billion | 22,473 | about $1.20 million |
| 2020 | $10.9 billion | 13,775 | about $0.79 million |
For fiscal 2026: $215,938 million divided by 42,000 is about $5.14 million per employee. Headcount is a year-end figure and revenue is for the whole year, so a fast-growing company looks slightly more productive by this measure than it is.
By segment, Compute & Networking brought in $193.5 billion and Graphics $22.5 billion in fiscal 2026. The 10-K splits employees by function, not by segment.
Selling to a company of Nvidia's size
General guidance, not a description of Nvidia's internal process.
A 42,000 person company with three quarters of its staff in engineering buys like an engineering organization.
- Engineering owns most budgets that matter. Tools for chip and system design, software development, test, compute and lab infrastructure are bought by engineering leaders, with procurement and security running the process. Find the team whose work your product changes, not a general IT contact.
- Expect technical evaluation first. A team of specialists will want a proof of concept on their own workloads. Bring an engineer, not a deck.
- Hiring and people tools follow the growth. A company adding about 6,000 people a year, with referrals driving over 40% of hires, spends on recruiting, onboarding, learning and workplace services.
- Use the filing's own words. The 10-K's descriptions of its platforms and priorities give you the vocabulary for a first message.
For a research routine on accounts this large, see how to research an account. To find the specific owner, see how to find decision makers. For the wider industry, see our guide to semiconductor companies.
Next step: see how Nvidia compares with other chipmakers and software companies on our list of the largest tech companies.
Sources
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 25, 2026, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 25 February 2026
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 26, 2025, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 26 February 2025
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 28, 2024, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 21 February 2024
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 29, 2023, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 24 February 2023
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 30, 2022, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 18 March 2022
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2021, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 26 February 2021
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 26, 2020, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 20 February 2020
- NVIDIA Corporation Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 27, 2019, NVIDIA Corporation, via SEC EDGAR, 21 February 2019
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many engineers does Nvidia have?
Nvidia's 10-K doesn't count engineers by job title, but it says about 31,000 of its approximately 42,000 employees worked in research and development at the end of fiscal 2026 (January 25, 2026), and that more than 80% of all employees have technical roles. The research and development count has nearly doubled since fiscal 2022, when it was 16,242.
How many employees does Nvidia have in Israel?
About 6,000 in the region at the end of fiscal 2026, according to Nvidia's 10-K, which mentions them in its discussion of the conflict in and around Israel. They mainly support research and development, operations, and sales and marketing for its networking products. The figure was about 4,700 a year earlier and about 3,700 two years earlier.
What is Nvidia's employee turnover rate?
3.7% in fiscal 2026, according to Nvidia's 10-K, up from 2.5% in fiscal 2025 and 2.7% in fiscal 2024. The peak in the past six years was 5.3% in fiscal 2023. These are Nvidia's own reported figures; the filing doesn't define how it calculates the rate.
How much revenue does Nvidia make per employee?
About $5.1 million in fiscal 2026, by our calculation: revenue of $215.9 billion divided by about 42,000 employees at year-end. That's up from about $3.6 million in fiscal 2025 and about $0.8 million in fiscal 2020. Because headcount is measured at year-end and Nvidia is still hiring fast, the figure slightly overstates revenue per average employee.
How many countries does Nvidia have employees in?
38, according to Nvidia's 10-K for fiscal 2026, the same as a year earlier. The count has grown from 29 countries in fiscal 2021 and 32 in fiscal 2022. The filing doesn't list the countries or give headcount by country, apart from about 6,000 employees in and around Israel.