How many employees does Salesforce have?

Salesforce reports an exact employee count, not a rounded one, so its 10-K is about as precise a headcount source as you will find. The number tells a story of fast growth, one sharp cut in 2023 and growth again, much of it bought.

Company profile5 min readPublished

Salesforce had 83,334 employees on January 31, 2026, the end of its 2026 fiscal year, according to its Form 10-K filed March 2, 2026. That is the latest headcount it has reported, up 6,881 (9.0%) from 76,453 a year earlier, a rise that includes Informatica, acquired in November 2025. The count peaked at 79,390 in January 2023, then fell to 72,682 after a restructuring that cut about 10% of the workforce.

  • Latest figure: 83,334 employees on January 31, 2026 (fiscal 2026 10-K, filed March 2, 2026).
  • Salesforce's fiscal year ends January 31, so fiscal 2026 mostly covers calendar 2025.
  • Headcount more than doubled from about 35,000 (January 2019) to 79,390 (January 2023), helped by the Slack, Tableau and MuleSoft deals.
  • A January 2023 restructuring plan cut the workforce by about 10%; headcount has grown in both years since.
  • Revenue per employee was about $498,300 in fiscal 2026 (our calculation from the 10-K).
On this page

This page is for anyone who needs a Salesforce headcount they can cite: sellers sizing the account, analysts and candidates. Salesforce reports one figure a year, in the Human Capital Management section of its 10-K, as of January 31. Every number below comes from those filings, from the 10-K of a company it acquired or from California's public layoff notices, with the date each applies to.

Salesforce employees by year

Fiscal year endEmployeesChange on prior yearUS shareSource
January 31, 202683,334+6,881 (+9.0%)Not reportedFY2026 10-K, filed March 2, 2026
January 31, 202576,453+3,771 (+5.2%)Not reportedFY2025 10-K, filed March 5, 2025
January 31, 202472,682-6,708 (-8.4%)About 51%FY2024 10-K, filed March 6, 2024
January 31, 202379,390+5,849 (+8.0%)About 52%FY2023 10-K, filed March 8, 2023
January 31, 202273,541+16,935 (+29.9%)About 55%FY2022 10-K, filed March 11, 2022
January 31, 202156,606+7,606 (+15.5%)About 58%FY2021 10-K, filed March 17, 2021
January 31, 2020More than 49,000About +14,000Not reportedFY2020 10-K, filed March 5, 2020
January 31, 2019More than 35,000Not reportedFY2019 10-K, filed March 8, 2019

Since fiscal 2021 Salesforce has reported an exact number. The fiscal 2019 and 2020 figures are given only as "more than", so the change between them is approximate. The changes are our arithmetic.

What the number includes

The fiscal 2026 10-K says simply: "As of January 31, 2026, we had 83,334 employees." It doesn't say whether part-time staff or contractors are included, and it doesn't break the total down by function or country.

  • Worldwide, all subsidiaries. Earlier 10-Ks split the count between the United States and everywhere else, which is where the US share column comes from. In January 2024, about 51% of employees were in the United States and 49% internationally. The fiscal 2025 and 2026 filings dropped that split, so there's no current US figure from Salesforce itself.
  • Acquired companies are in it from the day they close. The January 2023 figure "includes those individuals impacted by our restructuring plan announced on January 4, 2023," which the company says meant "a reduction of our current workforce by approximately 10 percent." So that count still included people who had been told their roles were going.
  • Unions. "None of our employees in the United States are represented by a labor union," though some employees of foreign subsidiaries are represented by works councils or unions.

What changed and why

Fiscal 2020 to 2023: growth and acquisitions

Headcount went from more than 35,000 to 79,390 in four years. The 10-Ks credit hiring and deals: the fiscal 2022 filing says research and development headcount rose 28% and marketing and sales headcount 26% that year, and that "our recent acquisition of Slack also contributed to this increase in headcount." The fiscal 2019 filing ties part of that year's growth to the MuleSoft acquisition of May 2018, and the fiscal 2020 filing, the year of the August 2019 Tableau acquisition, says "our recent acquisitions also contributed to this increase in headcount."

Fiscal 2024: the restructuring

In January 2023 Salesforce announced a restructuring plan that included cutting the workforce by about 10%. Headcount fell by 6,708 in fiscal 2024. The fiscal 2024 10-K records about $988 million of restructuring costs, of which about $541 million related to employee transition, severance, benefits and stock-based compensation. California's WARN reports show what that looked like at headquarters: notices for 1,151 San Francisco employees between January and March 2023, the largest of them 752 on January 4, 2023.

Fiscal 2025 and 2026: growth again, partly bought

Headcount rose by 3,771 and then 6,881. In November 2025 Salesforce completed its acquisition of Informatica for about $9.6 billion. Informatica's own last 10-K reported "over 5,200 full-time employees" at December 31, 2024, so the deal alone could account for most of the fiscal 2026 increase. Salesforce kept trimming at the same time: the fiscal 2026 10-K records about $586 million of restructuring costs, "primarily related to employee transitions, severance payments and employee benefits," and California WARN notices list 262 San Francisco employees on September 2, 2025, 51 on March 2, 2026, 86 on June 8, 2026 and 74 on August 5, 2026. WARN notices cover only California sites above the law's thresholds, so they understate the total.

Revenue per employee

Fiscal 2026 revenue was $41.5 billion. $41,525 million ÷ 83,334 employees = about $498,300 per employee (our calculation). The fiscal 2025 figure ($37,895 million ÷ 76,453) was about $495,700. The fiscal 2026 number is slightly understated: Informatica's employees are in the year-end count for the whole year, but its revenue (about $0.4 billion) counts only from November.

Where the revenue comes from, per the fiscal 2026 10-K:

Subscription and support revenue by serviceFiscal 2026Share
Agentforce Service$9.8 billion25%
Agentforce Sales$9.0 billion23%
Agentforce 360 Platform, Slack and Other$8.9 billion22%
Agentforce Integration and Agentforce Analytics$6.2 billion16%
Agentforce Marketing and Agentforce Commerce$5.4 billion14%

By region, the Americas brought in 65% of total revenue ($27.2 billion), Europe 25% ($10.0 billion) and Asia Pacific 10% ($4.3 billion). Salesforce doesn't report employees by service or region.

Selling to a company this size

General guidance on how software companies of about 80,000 people buy, not a description of Salesforce's internal processes.

  • Follow the product lines. A company organized around several clouds and acquired businesses usually buys by business unit and function. Work out which group owns your problem before you think about the corporate center.
  • Expect builders to evaluate you. Software companies often weigh build against buy, and their engineers will test your claims. Bring a technical proof, not only a business case.
  • Watch the restructuring notes. Cost programs in the 10-K tell you leadership is focused on margin, so lead with cost or productivity, and with evidence.
  • Plan for security review and procurement. At this size, a first contract normally goes through security, legal and procurement. Our enterprise account executive guide covers how to run that process.

Mapping which group owns the problem is most of the work. Bebop researches each account and suggests who to talk to and the angle to open with; check its findings against the filings.

How to check Salesforce's headcount yourself

  1. Open Salesforce's 10-K filings on SEC EDGAR and pick the latest one, filed each March.
  2. In Item 1, Business, find Human Capital Management. The exact count and its date are in the second paragraph.
  3. For California layoffs, search the EDD WARN reports for "Salesforce, Inc."

Next step: compare Salesforce with its peers in the largest software companies.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many employees does Salesforce have in 2026?

Salesforce had 83,334 employees on January 31, 2026, according to its fiscal 2026 10-K, filed March 2, 2026. That is the latest count the company has reported. It's up 6,881 (9.0%) from 76,453 a year earlier, a rise that includes employees from Informatica, which Salesforce acquired in November 2025. The next annual figure, for January 31, 2027, will be in the 10-K filed in March 2027.

How many Salesforce employees are in the United States?

Salesforce's most recent split is in its fiscal 2024 10-K: of 72,682 employees on January 31, 2024, about 51% were in the United States and 49% outside it, which works out to roughly 37,000 in the US by our arithmetic. The fiscal 2025 and 2026 10-Ks don't give a split, so there's no newer US figure from the company.

How many employees did Salesforce lay off?

In January 2023 Salesforce announced a restructuring plan that included cutting its workforce by about 10%. Headcount fell from 79,390 to 72,682 over fiscal 2024, and the company recorded about $988 million of restructuring costs. Smaller rounds followed: the fiscal 2026 10-K records about $586 million of restructuring costs, and California WARN notices list 262 San Francisco employees in September 2025.

What is Salesforce's revenue per employee?

About $498,300 in fiscal 2026, by our calculation: $41,525 million of revenue divided by 83,334 employees at January 31, 2026, both from the 10-K. In fiscal 2025 it was about $495,700. The latest figure is slightly understated because Informatica's employees are in the year-end count while only about $0.4 billion of its revenue, from November onward, is in the year's total.

When is Salesforce's fiscal year?

Salesforce's fiscal year runs from February 1 to January 31, and it's named for the calendar year in which it ends. Fiscal 2026 ran from February 1, 2025 to January 31, 2026. That's why Salesforce's headcount is dated January 31 and appears in a 10-K filed in early March, unlike most companies, which count employees at December 31.

Find the business unit that owns your problem

Describe the software companies you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies and contacts, researches each account and suggests who to talk to first.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in