Short answer
The Home Depot employed approximately 472,400 associates at the end of fiscal 2025 (February 1, 2026), according to its Form 10-K filed March 18, 2026. About 53,400 were salaried and the rest paid hourly. By country, 422,500 worked in the US, 31,700 in Canada, 17,800 in Mexico and 400 elsewhere. The total is up from 470,100 a year earlier and below the peak of 504,800 in January 2021.
- About 472,400 associates at February 1, 2026: 89.4% in the US, 6.7% in Canada, 3.8% in Mexico.
- About 53,400 salaried associates, up from 29,500 at the start of 2020; everyone else is paid hourly.
- The count jumped 89,100 in fiscal 2020, when net sales rose 19.9%, then fell to 463,100 by early 2024.
- The SRS (2024) and GMS (2025) acquisitions added a distribution business with over 1,250 locations.
- Net sales per associate were about $348,600 in fiscal 2025 (our calculation).
On this page
This page is for sellers sizing Home Depot as an account, analysts comparing home improvement retailers, and anyone who needs a citable headcount. Every figure comes from The Home Depot, Inc.'s annual report on Form 10-K. Home Depot names its fiscal year for the calendar year in which it starts, so fiscal 2025 ran from February 3, 2025 to February 1, 2026.
Home Depot employees by year
| Fiscal year | As of | Associates | Salaried | US | Canada | Mexico | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | February 1, 2026 | 472,400 | 53,400 | 422,500 | 31,700 | 17,800 | 10-K filed March 18, 2026 |
| 2024 | February 2, 2025 | 470,100 | 50,600 | 419,600 | 32,000 | 18,200 | 10-K filed March 21, 2025 |
| 2023 | January 28, 2024 | 463,100 | 46,200 | 411,200 | 33,800 | 17,800 | 10-K filed March 13, 2024 |
| 2022 | January 29, 2023 | 471,600 | 46,500 | 418,900 | 34,500 | 17,900 | 10-K filed March 15, 2023 |
| 2021 | January 30, 2022 | 490,600 | 42,800 | 437,000 | 34,100 | 19,200 | 10-K filed March 23, 2022 |
| 2020 | January 31, 2021 | 504,800 | 35,700 | 451,500 | 34,400 | 18,600 | 10-K filed March 24, 2021 |
| 2019 | February 2, 2020 | 415,700 | 29,500 | not stated | not stated | not stated | 10-K filed March 25, 2020 |
| 2018 | February 3, 2019 | 413,000 | 29,000 | not stated | not stated | not stated | 10-K filed March 28, 2019 |
Each figure is "approximately", rounded to the nearest hundred. A further 300 to 400 associates each year work in Home Depot's sourcing offices in Asia and Europe. Fiscal 2024 had 53 weeks.
What the number includes
The fiscal 2025 10-K says: "At the end of fiscal 2025, we employed approximately 472,400 associates, of whom approximately 53,400 were salaried, with the remainder compensated on an hourly basis."
- Hourly associates are the vast majority: about 419,000, or 89% (our calculation). The 10-K doesn't give a full-time and part-time split.
- Three countries plus sourcing. The "Other" 400 associates work in the sourcing organization in India, Italy, Poland, Türkiye, Taiwan, Vietnam and China.
- Acquired distributors count. SRS, bought in fiscal 2024, and GMS, bought by SRS in fiscal 2025, are consolidated subsidiaries, and the 10-K notes that "a limited number of our associates at SRS are represented by labor unions." The filings don't say how many associates each brought.
- It's a year-end snapshot, taken in late January or early February, outside the spring selling season.
The fiscal 2018 10-K described the non-salaried group as "compensated on an hourly or temporary basis"; later reports say hourly only.
What changed and why
- Fiscal 2020: up 89,100 (21%). Net sales rose 19.9%, to $132.1 billion; the 10-K says the pandemic "spurred significant growth in home improvement demand." The 10-K describes temporary COVID-19 pay and benefits, such as 80 extra hours of paid time off for full-time hourly associates, and a move in the third quarter "to permanent compensation enhancements for our frontline, hourly associates." It doesn't describe a hiring target.
- Fiscal 2021 to 2023: down 41,700. The count fell to 463,100 by January 2024, almost all of it in the US (from 451,500 to 411,200). The 10-Ks don't explain the decline.
- Fiscal 2024 and 2025: acquisitions. Home Depot acquired SRS, a distributor of roofing, landscape and pool supplies to professional contractors, on June 18, 2024. SRS then acquired GMS, a distributor of wallboard, ceilings and steel framing, on September 4, 2025. Together the acquisitions contributed about $6.3 billion of incremental net sales in fiscal 2025, and at year-end SRS ran over 1,250 locations in the US and Canada. Headcount rose 7,000 in fiscal 2024 and 2,300 in fiscal 2025.
- Salaried staff: up 81% since fiscal 2019. From 29,500 to 53,400 (our calculation). The 10-K doesn't break salaried roles down by function.
Revenue per employee
| Fiscal year | Net sales | Associates | Net sales per associate (our calculation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $164,683 million | 472,400 | about $348,600 |
| 2024 (53 weeks) | $159,514 million | 470,100 | about $339,300 |
| 2023 | $152,669 million | 463,100 | about $329,700 |
For fiscal 2025: $164,683 million divided by 472,400 is about $348,600.
Home Depot reports one reportable segment, the Primary segment (its stores and online business in the US, Canada and Mexico), with $151,966 million of net sales in fiscal 2025. SRS and GMS sit in non-reportable segments, with $12,717 million of net sales. Headcount isn't split between them. The company ran 2,359 stores at February 1, 2026, 324 of them in Canada and Mexico.
Selling to a company of Home Depot's size
General guidance, not a description of Home Depot's internal process.
Home Depot is now a retailer and a specialty distributor, and each buys differently.
- The retailer buys centrally. Store technology, merchandising, supply chain and associate programs are usually owned at the Store Support Center in Atlanta and rolled out across 2,359 stores. Expect a pilot in a region before a chain-wide decision.
- SRS is organized by trade. After the GMS deal, the 10-K says SRS is organized as four lines of business: roofing and building products, interior and construction products, landscape, and pool. Each serves a different kind of contractor and may buy on its own.
- Price for hourly work. With about 89% of associates paid hourly, tools for scheduling, training, safety and store communication are judged per store and per associate.
- Sell the Pro story. The 10-K is explicit that the acquisitions were made "to accelerate our growth with Pros"; vendors who help serve contractors have a clear opening.
For a research routine, see how to research an account. For the contractor customers SRS serves, see our guide to construction companies. For the closest peer, compare Lowe's headcount.
Next step: see Home Depot alongside other big chains on our list of the largest retailers.
Sources
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 1, 2026, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 18 March 2026
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 2, 2025, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 21 March 2025
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 28, 2024, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 13 March 2024
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 29, 2023, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 15 March 2023
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 30, 2022, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 23 March 2022
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2021, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 24 March 2021
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 2, 2020, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 25 March 2020
- The Home Depot, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 3, 2019, The Home Depot, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 28 March 2019
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many employees does Home Depot have in the US?
About 422,500 at the end of fiscal 2025 (February 1, 2026), or 89.4% of its 472,400 associates, according to Home Depot's 10-K. Another 31,700 work in Canada, 17,800 in Mexico and about 400 in sourcing offices elsewhere. The US count peaked at 451,500 in January 2021 and was 411,200 at the low point in January 2024.
How many Home Depot employees are hourly?
About 419,000, by our calculation: Home Depot's 10-K says 53,400 of its approximately 472,400 associates were salaried at the end of fiscal 2025, "with the remainder compensated on an hourly basis." That's about 89% hourly. The filing doesn't say how many hourly associates are full-time or part-time, and Home Depot doesn't publish that split elsewhere in the 10-K.
Does Home Depot's employee count include SRS?
Yes, as far as the filings show: SRS and GMS are Home Depot subsidiaries, and the 10-K refers to "our associates at SRS" when describing union representation. The 10-K gives one company-wide figure of about 472,400 and doesn't say how many of those associates work at SRS or GMS, which together ran over 1,250 locations at the end of fiscal 2025.
Why did Home Depot's employee count go up in 2020?
Home Depot's associates rose from 415,700 in February 2020 to 504,800 in January 2021, an increase of about 21%. In the same fiscal year net sales grew 19.9%, to $132.1 billion, according to the 10-K. The filing describes temporary COVID-19 pay and paid time off for hourly associates, but it doesn't describe a specific hiring program.
When does Home Depot report its employee count?
Once a year, in the human capital section of its Form 10-K, filed in March. The count is as of the fiscal year-end, the Sunday nearest January 31. The latest is about 472,400 associates as of February 1, 2026. The 10-K also gives the salaried count and a table of associates by country. Quarterly reports don't update the figures.