Short answer
Lowe's employed approximately 167,000 full-time and 109,000 part-time associates, about 276,000 in total, as of January 30, 2026, according to its Form 10-K for fiscal 2025, filed March 23, 2026. They work primarily in the United States and India. The total is up from about 270,000 a year earlier, after the acquisitions of Artisan Design Group and Foundation Building Materials, but down from about 340,000 in fiscal 2020 and 2021.
- About 276,000 associates at January 30, 2026: 167,000 full-time and 109,000 part-time.
- Part-timers are about 39% of the workforce, and Lowe's adds seasonal staff every spring.
- The total fell from about 340,000 in fiscal 2021 to 270,000 in fiscal 2024; Lowe's sold its Canadian retail business in February 2023.
- Lowe's bought Artisan Design Group ($1.3 billion) and Foundation Building Materials ($8.8 billion) in 2025 and now runs over 540 branches alongside 1,759 stores.
- Net sales per associate were about $313,000 in fiscal 2025 (our calculation).
On this page
This page is for sellers sizing Lowe's as an account, retail analysts, and anyone who needs a citable headcount. Every figure is from Lowe's annual reports on Form 10-K. Lowe's fiscal year ends on the Friday nearest the end of January and takes the number of the calendar year it starts in, so fiscal 2025 ran to January 30, 2026.
Lowe's employees by year
| Fiscal year | As of | Full-time | Part-time | Total (our addition) | Where | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | January 30, 2026 | about 167,000 | about 109,000 | about 276,000 | US and India | 10-K filed March 23, 2026 |
| 2024 | January 31, 2025 | about 161,000 | about 109,000 | about 270,000 | US and India | 10-K filed March 24, 2025 |
| 2023 | February 2, 2024 | about 168,000 | about 116,000 | about 284,000 | US and India | 10-K filed March 25, 2024 |
| 2022 | February 3, 2023 | about 182,000 | about 125,000 | about 307,000 | US and India | 10-K filed March 27, 2023 |
| 2021 | January 28, 2022 | about 200,000 | about 140,000 | about 340,000 | US, India and Canada | 10-K filed March 21, 2022 |
| 2020 | January 29, 2021 | about 220,000 | about 120,000 | about 340,000 | US and Canada | 10-K filed March 22, 2021 |
| 2019 | January 31, 2020 | about 200,000 | about 120,000 | about 320,000 | not stated | 10-K filed March 23, 2020 |
| 2018 | February 1, 2019 | about 190,000 | about 110,000 | about 300,000 | not stated | 10-K filed April 2, 2019 |
Lowe's reports full-time and part-time counts separately and doesn't give a total, so the total column is our addition. "Where" is the 10-K's own wording ("primarily in...").
What the number includes
The fiscal 2025 10-K says: "As of January 30, 2026, Lowe's employed approximately 167,000 full-time associates and 109,000 part-time associates, primarily in the United States and India."
- Both full-time and part-time associates, reported separately. Part-timers were 39% of the total at the end of fiscal 2025, down from 41% in fiscal 2021 to 2023.
- Not the spring peak. "During the spring season, we temporarily expand our workforce by hiring associates in part-time and full-time positions." The count is taken at the end of January, before that hiring.
- Not installers. Lowe's contracts with third-party installers for installation services, so they aren't in the count.
- India is the only other country the 10-K names as a main location. It mentions Great Place to Work certification in both the US and India but doesn't give a split.
- The 2025 acquisitions are in it. The fiscal 2025 count includes associates of Artisan Design Group and Foundation Building Materials, some of whom (at FBM) are union-represented.
What changed and why
- Fiscal 2020: 20,000 more full-time associates, taking the total to about 340,000, during the pandemic, when Lowe's says it gave $915 million of incremental COVID-related financial support to front-line hourly associates.
- Fiscal 2021: same total, different mix. Full-time fell to 200,000 and part-time rose to 140,000.
- Fiscal 2022: down to about 307,000. On February 3, 2023, the last day of the fiscal year, Lowe's completed the sale of its Canadian retail business, which ran 232 stores and served 210 dealer-owned stores under the RONA, Lowe's Canada, Réno-Dépôt and Dick's Lumber banners. Canada had been about 5% of sales.
- Fiscal 2023 and 2024: down to about 270,000. Net sales fell in both years, and the 10-Ks don't attribute the lower headcount to a specific program.
- Fiscal 2025: up about 6,000. Lowe's completed the acquisition of Artisan Design Group on June 2, 2025 ($1.3 billion) and Foundation Building Materials on October 9, 2025 ($8.8 billion), to serve larger professional customers in residential and commercial markets. At year-end it ran 1,759 US home improvement stores and outlets plus more than 540 branch locations in the US and Canada, including those businesses.
Revenue per employee
Lowe's fiscal 2025 net sales were $86,286 million. Divided by about 276,000 associates, that's about $313,000 per associate (our calculation). Counting full-time associates only, it's about $517,000.
| Fiscal year | Net sales | Associates | Net sales per associate (our calculation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $86.3 billion | about 276,000 | about $313,000 |
| 2024 | $83.7 billion | about 270,000 | about $310,000 |
| 2023 | $86.4 billion | about 284,000 | about $304,000 |
| 2022 | $97.1 billion | about 307,000 | about $316,000 |
| 2021 | $96.3 billion | about 340,000 | about $283,000 |
| 2020 | $89.6 billion | about 340,000 | about $264,000 |
Sales per associate rose about 10% between fiscal 2021 and 2024 while sales fell, because the workforce shrank faster than sales.
Selling to a company of Lowe's size
General guidance, not a description of Lowe's internal process.
- Stores and the people in them are the biggest budget. With 109,000 part-timers and a spring hiring surge, scheduling, hiring, training and store communication tools are judged per store and per associate, piloted in a district, then rolled out.
- Two kinds of customer, two kinds of buyer. The DIY homeowner business and the professional business (now including FBM and ADG branches) run on different systems and priorities. Name which one you serve.
- Integration is a 2026 trigger. Bringing two acquired distributors into Lowe's systems creates work in technology, finance, supply chain and people teams.
- Selling products for Lowe's shelves is different from selling services to Lowe's. Merchandising and supplier relationships run separately from the corporate buying of software and services.
For a research routine on large accounts, see how to research an account. For selling into the sector, see selling to retailers, and to compare with Lowe's closest rival, Home Depot's headcount.
Next step: see how Lowe's ranks among US retailers on our list of the largest retailers.
Sources
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 30, 2026, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 23 March 2026
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2025, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 24 March 2025
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 2, 2024, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 25 March 2024
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 3, 2023, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 27 March 2023
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 28, 2022, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 21 March 2022
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 29, 2021, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 22 March 2021
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2020, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 23 March 2020
- Lowe's Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 1, 2019, Lowe's Companies, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 2 April 2019
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many part-time employees does Lowe's have?
About 109,000 as of January 30, 2026, according to Lowe's fiscal 2025 10-K, alongside about 167,000 full-time associates. That's about 39% of the workforce. The part-time count was the same a year earlier and has fallen from about 140,000 in fiscal 2021. Lowe's also hires extra part-time and full-time associates every spring, its busiest season.
How many employees does Lowe's have in the US?
Lowe's doesn't publish a US-only count. Its fiscal 2025 10-K says its approximately 276,000 associates (167,000 full-time and 109,000 part-time) work primarily in the United States and India. It also runs branch locations in the US and Canada, including those of the businesses it bought in 2025, but the filing gives no headcount by country.
Why does Lowe's have fewer employees than it used to?
Lowe's had about 340,000 associates at the ends of fiscal 2020 and 2021 and about 270,000 at the end of fiscal 2024. Part of the drop came from selling its Canadian retail business, with 232 stores, in February 2023. The 10-Ks don't give a reason for the rest of the decline in fiscal 2023 and 2024, during which net sales also fell.
How many stores does Lowe's have?
1,759 home improvement stores and outlets in the United States at the end of fiscal 2025, with about 196 million square feet of retail selling space, according to Lowe's 10-K. It also ran more than 540 branch locations in the US and Canada, including those of Foundation Building Materials and Artisan Design Group, which it acquired in 2025.
How much revenue does Lowe's make per employee?
About $313,000 per associate in fiscal 2025, by our calculation: net sales of $86.3 billion divided by about 276,000 full-time and part-time associates at January 30, 2026. Counting only the 167,000 full-time associates, it's about $517,000. The per-associate figure has risen from about $283,000 in fiscal 2021.