Accounting firms in Austin: 1,047 offices, what to ask for by the job you need done, and how Texas checks the auditors

Austin's accounting market is made of small offices: only six have 250 or more staff, and bookkeeping and other non-CPA practices outnumber CPA offices. The right choice depends less on a firm's size than on the job, so start there.

Market report4 min readPublished

The Austin metro area has 1,047 accounting, tax preparation, bookkeeping and payroll offices with paid employees, employing 8,024 people (Census County Business Patterns, 2023). Travis County has 658 of them. 386 are CPA offices and 456 bookkeeping and other accounting services. For audited, reviewed or compiled statements, hire a Texas-licensed CPA firm and ask for its peer review; Texas requires one for any firm doing that work. Check licenses in the TSBPA lookup.

  • 1,047 offices employ 8,024 people across five counties, at average pay of $87,584.
  • Travis County has 63% of the offices and 82% of the jobs.
  • Bookkeeping and other non-CPA offices (456) outnumber CPA offices (386).
  • Texas requires a peer review for any firm that does audits, reviews or compilations.
  • Accountants and auditors in the metro earned a median of $83,120 in May 2025.
On this page

This page is for Austin-area founders, businesses and households looking for an accountant, people job hunting in local accounting, and companies that sell to accounting practices. It's organized by the job you need done, after a look at the numbers.

Austin's accounting market

County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, NAICS 5412 (accounting, tax preparation, bookkeeping and payroll services), Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX Metro Area (CBSA 12420):

Measure (2023)Austin metro
Establishments1,047
Employees (week of March 12)8,024
Annual payroll$702,773,000
Average employees per establishment7.7
Average annual pay$87,584
Share of US establishments0.76% of 137,069
CountyEstablishmentsEmployees
Travis6586,543
Williamson2651,051
Hays92358
Bastrop2356
Caldwell9Not reported (high-noise figure)

Caldwell County's employee total was published but flagged as high-noise, meaning confidentiality noise changed it by 5% or more. By size, 746 offices have 1 to 4 employees, 171 have 5 to 9, 70 have 10 to 19, 37 have 20 to 49, 13 have 50 to 99, 4 have 100 to 249 and 5 have 250 to 499. The Census Bureau doesn't publish the 500 to 999 or 1,000-or-more cells here; subtracting the published classes from the total leaves 1 office with 500 or more employees. All five offices with 250 to 499 are in Travis County.

Austin ranks 25th among US metro areas by number of accounting offices, by our ranking of the CBP metro file. CBP counts establishments with employees, not firms, and leaves out sole practitioners. SEC EDGAR has no listed accounting companies to add, since its industry list has no accounting code.

If you need audited, reviewed or compiled statements

That's CPA firm work. The metro has 386 CPA offices (NAICS 541211) with 4,167 employees. In Texas, any firm with an office in the state that does attest work or calls itself a CPA firm must hold a firm license from the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (TSBPA), and a majority of its owners must be CPAs.

Texas also checks the work. A firm must be peer reviewed if it does audits, reviews, compilations or certain special reports on financial statements, and it must tell the board within 30 days of finishing its first such engagement. So ask any firm you're considering for its latest peer review report, and check the firm and the signing CPA in the TSBPA license lookup. If you're preparing for an IPO or another SEC registration, the auditor must be registered with the PCAOB: 194 US firms issued public company audit reports in 2025.

If you need tax help

The IRS's August 2026 preparer listing, released under the Freedom of Information Act, has 4,525 preparers with a business address in the metro: 1,500 CPAs, 403 enrolled agents and 137 attorneys. 2,223 (49%) have no IRS credential and no Annual Filing Season Program record. The city of Austin lists 2,574 preparers, 1,018 of them CPAs.

For an IRS audit, a payment plan or an appeal, use a CPA, enrolled agent or attorney: the IRS gives only those three unlimited representation rights. For a simple return, any preparer with a PTIN may do. The 167 tax preparation offices (541213) average 4.2 employees and do returns only. The IRS's advice applies everywhere: avoid fees based on your refund, never sign a blank return, and make sure the preparer signs and enters a PTIN.

If you need books or payroll

Bookkeeping and other non-CPA accounting offices (541219) are the largest group: 456 offices with 2,165 employees, averaging 4.7 people. They keep the books and may also prepare returns or run payroll, usually at lower rates than a CPA firm. Payroll services (541214) number 38 offices; their employee total is not reported (high-noise figure). Many startups use a bookkeeper for monthly close and bring in a CPA firm at year end or for a review.

Working in Austin accounting

Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos metro:

OccupationEmployedMedian annual wage
Accountants and auditors12,480$83,120
Bookkeeping, accounting and auditing clerks11,900$54,320
Financial managers7,210$167,180
Tax preparers490$48,150

CBP puts pay per employee at the metro's CPA offices at $104,024, our calculation from payroll.

Prospecting Austin accounting firms

Illustrative example. The company and rates are invented; the counts come from CBP.

Pecan Review Prep (pecanreview.example) helps small CPA firms get ready for peer review. Its buyers are firms that do audits, reviews or compilations with 5 to 49 staff. The metro has 171 + 70 + 37 = 278 offices of that size; at the CPA share of offices, an illustrative 37%, that's about 103 CPA firms, and Pecan confirms each in the TSBPA lookup. It writes to the managing partner in late spring, when firms schedule reviews for the slower months. At an illustrative 10% reply rate, that's 10 conversations from one metro, with a second pass in Williamson and Hays counties.

Confirming licenses and finding the partner responsible for quality at each firm takes time; Bebop finds matching firms and researches each. The list of accounting firms explains buying cycles, and how many accountants there are covers the IRS file.

Local sources

SourceWhat it gives you
TSBPA peer review programWhich services need a peer review, and how firms enroll
TSBPA license lookupIndividual CPA and firm searches
TXCPA AustinThe Austin chapter of the Texas Society of CPAs, with a member directory
Austin ChamberThe regional chamber and economic development group

Next step: for the next metro down I-35, see accounting firms in San Antonio.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many accounting firms are in Austin?

Census County Business Patterns counted 1,047 accounting, tax preparation, bookkeeping and payroll establishments with paid employees in the Austin metro area in 2023, employing 8,024 people. Travis County had 658 and Williamson County 265. 386 were CPA offices. The figures count offices with employees, not firms, and leave out sole practitioners.

What is a peer review for a CPA firm?

It's an outside review of a CPA firm's audit and accounting work, run by a board-approved sponsor. In Texas, a firm must be peer reviewed if it performs audits, reviews, compilations or certain special reports on financial statements, and it must notify the state board within 30 days of completing its first such engagement. Ask a prospective firm for its latest report.

Do I need a CPA or a bookkeeper for my Austin startup?

For monthly books, payroll and invoicing, a bookkeeping service is usually enough and costs less; the metro has 456 such offices. When a lender or investor asks for reviewed or audited statements, or you face an IRS audit, you need a CPA firm or another credentialed professional. Many companies use both: a bookkeeper monthly and a CPA at year end.

How much do accountants make in Austin?

Accountants and auditors in the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos metro area earned a median of $83,120 a year in May 2025, across 12,480 jobs, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Bookkeeping clerks earned $54,320 and financial managers $167,180. Census puts pay per employee at the metro's CPA offices at $104,024 in 2023.

Find Austin firms that fit your offer

Describe the accounting firms you sell to by size and service. Bebop finds them, explains why each fits and finds the managing partner.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in