Architecture firms in Atlanta: 458 offices, why Georgia checks the architect and not the firm, and how to hire

Georgia doesn't register architecture firms at all, so the firm's name on the proposal tells you little. What counts is which Georgia-registered architect has responsible control of your project, and the state's rules say that person must be named in your contract.

Market report4 min readPublished

The Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell metro had 458 architecture offices with paid employees in 2023, employing 4,659 people at an average of $106,397 a year, according to the Census Bureau. Fulton County had 212 offices and 69% of the jobs. Georgia registers individual architects but not firms; a firm may practice only under the responsible control of a Georgia-registered architect who is an owner or director, and that architect must be identified in the contract.

  • 458 architecture offices in metro Atlanta employ 4,659 people on a $496 million payroll.
  • Fulton County offices average 15.2 employees; DeKalb County offices average 3.9.
  • Georgia's board rules say no firm will be registered to practice architecture; the responsible architect is.
  • 59% of Georgia's 6,336 architect licenses are held by people living in other states (NCARB, 2025).
  • Atlanta architects' pay runs from $71,660 at the 10th percentile to $198,350 at the 90th (BLS).
On this page

This report is for companies, institutions, developers and homeowners hiring an architect in metro Atlanta, for architects and designers weighing employers, and for B2B sellers whose customers are design firms.

Metro Atlanta's architecture offices

County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, NAICS 541310 (Architectural Services), Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metro Area (CBSA 12060):

Measure (2023)Atlanta metro
Architecture offices458
Employees4,659
Annual payroll$495,703,000
Employees per office10.2
Average annual pay$106,397
Share of US architecture offices2.01% of 22,805
Employees at the officeOffices
1 to 4301
5 to 952
10 to 1951
20 to 4931
50 to 9916
100 to 2497
250 or moreNot published

The published classes already sum to 458, so the classes the Census Bureau withholds, 250 employees and above, contain no offices. In bands: 404 under 20 employees, 47 with 20 to 99 and seven with 100 to 249. CBP counts establishments with paid employees, so a firm with Midtown and Alpharetta offices counts twice and a sole practitioner isn't counted.

Fulton County is where the staff are

CountyOfficesEmployeesEmployees per office
Fulton County2123,23015.2
DeKalb County682673.9
Cobb County605799.7
Gwinnett County482615.4
Forsyth County15Not reported (high-noise figure)
Cherokee County14Not reported (high-noise figure)
Fayette County1212410.3
Coweta County4Not reported (high-noise figure)

Employees per office is our calculation. Fulton has 46% of the offices and 69% of the jobs. DeKalb has more offices than Cobb but under half the staff: mostly owner-run studios. Three counties' employee counts carry the Census Bureau's high-noise flag (its confidentiality noise moved them by 5% or more), so we don't report them. Another 25 offices sit in the metro's other counties.

Georgia checks the architect, not the firm

The Georgia State Board of Architects and Interior Designers, part of the Secretary of State's licensing boards, registers architects and registered interior designers. Its rules, chapter 50-3, are unusually direct about firms:

  • "No firm, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation or limited liability company will be registered to practice architecture."
  • A firm may practice only under the responsible control of a Georgia-registered architect who is a full-time director working where the services are performed, a partner, an LLC member, or an employee with an ownership interest designated in writing.
  • That architect must be identified in any contract for architectural services, and the drawings must carry their signature and seal.
  • Reviewing or correcting drawings after others prepared them doesn't count as responsible control.

Two practical consequences. First, ask every finalist to name its Georgia responsible architect before you sign, and check that person's registration with the Secretary of State's licensing division. Second, watch out-of-state firms: NCARB counts 6,336 Georgia architect licenses in 2025, 59% held by people living elsewhere. A firm whose Georgia-registered architect only reviews and stamps work done elsewhere doesn't meet the rule.

Architect, interior designer or builder?

The metro has 534 interior design offices, 1,325 engineering offices and 888 commercial and institutional builders, a code that includes design-build firms. The Census Bureau classifies firms that both design and construct buildings as construction, not architecture. An interior designer suits finishes and furniture in an existing space; a design-builder gives you one contract but hires the architect itself; an architecture firm works for you from site to occupancy.

A hiring checklist

Ask the firmWhat a good answer looks like
Who is the Georgia responsible architect for my project?A named owner or director, registered in Georgia, who will sign the contract and seal the drawings
Who will run it day to day?Named project architect, with comparable built work
Which jurisdiction has permitted your similar projects?Recent permits in your city or county
Which contract form do you use?A standard form, such as AIA B101-2017 for a full scope or B105-2017 for a small project
How is the fee set?A stated basis: percentage of construction cost, stipulated sum or hourly, with what's excluded

For public projects, federal agencies and many public owners choose on qualifications first and negotiate the fee with the top-ranked firm; FAR subpart 36.6 sets out the federal version. AIA Atlanta, the local chapter of the American Institute of Architects, is a place to start a long list.

Careers: a wide pay range

BLS counted 1,940 architects in the metro in May 2025, with a mean wage of $117,560 and a median of $103,330. The range is wide: $71,660 at the 10th percentile and $198,350 at the 90th. Drafters outnumber architects here: 2,170 architectural and civil drafters, at a mean of $79,580. None of the companies listed with the SEC is an Atlanta-based architecture firm.

Selling to Atlanta architecture firms

Two markets share one metro. The 23 offices with 50 or more employees have studio leaders, HR and IT who evaluate vendors. The 301 offices with fewer than five people buy like small businesses: the principal decides, often the same day.

Illustrative example. The company, fees and results are invented.

Peachtree Design Talent (peachtreetalent.example) recruits project architects and BIM staff. It targets the 82 offices with 10 to 49 employees, keeps the 50 that posted design roles in the last 90 days, and calls each firm's managing principal with two pre-screened candidates. Twelve conversations lead to five searches and three placements at a $20,000 fee. Knowing which 50 are hiring, and who signs off on hires, is the research Bebop does for each firm in a list.

Next step: see the builders Atlanta's architects work with in construction companies in Atlanta.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many architecture firms are in Atlanta?

The Census Bureau counted 458 architecture offices with paid employees in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell metro in 2023, employing 4,659 people. Fulton County had 212, DeKalb 68, Cobb 60 and Gwinnett 48. None had 250 or more employees. The count is of office locations with staff, so sole practitioners without employees aren't included and multi-office firms count once per office.

Do architecture firms register in Georgia?

No. The Georgia State Board of Architects and Interior Designers' rules state that no firm, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation or LLC will be registered to practice architecture. Firms may practice under the responsible control of a Georgia-registered architect who is a director, partner, member or owner-employee, and that architect must be named in any contract for architectural services.

What does responsible control mean for a Georgia architect?

Under the board's rule 50-3-.02, responsible control means the licensed architect has personal knowledge of, and ultimate authority over, all architectural decisions on the project. Reviewing or correcting drawings after someone else prepared them doesn't qualify. When drawings are prepared outside the architect's company, contracts, financial records and time sheets must show the architect's substantial and continuous participation.

How much do architects make in Atlanta?

The Bureau of Labor Statistics put the mean annual wage for architects in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell metro at $117,560 in May 2025, with a median of $103,330 and 1,940 employed. The 10th percentile was $71,660 and the 90th $198,350. Architectural and civil drafters, who outnumber architects locally at 2,170, averaged $79,580. The figures cover employees, not firm owners.

Find the Atlanta architecture firms that fit your offer

Describe the firms you want by county, size and hiring activity. Bebop finds them and the person who decides at each.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in