Biotech companies in Boston: 700 sites, 117 listed companies and a hospital research engine

Greater Boston has more biotech establishments than any other US metro, and more than 70% of them are in one county. The useful question isn't which companies exist but which ones are spending, hiring or outsourcing right now, and the filings answer that.

Market report6 min readPublished

The Boston-Cambridge-Newton metro had 700 biotech establishments in 2023 with 38,843 employees and an average pay of $215,982 (Census County Business Patterns, NAICS 541714 and 325414), 11.48% of the US total. Middlesex County, which includes Cambridge, has 503 of them. SEC EDGAR lists 117 public biotech and drug companies in the area. Vertex ($12.0 billion of 2025 revenue) and Biogen ($9.9 billion) are the largest, per their 10-Ks.

  • Middlesex County has 503 of the metro's 700 biotech establishments and 27,884 of its employees.
  • Vertex and Moderna each spent more than $3 billion on R&D in 2025; Moderna's revenue was $1.94 billion.
  • Several clinical-stage companies spend over $1.3 million of R&D per employee, a sign of heavy outsourcing.
  • Five hospitals received 52% of the metro's $3.13 billion of NIH awards in fiscal 2025.
  • Average pay at Boston biotech establishments was $215,982 in 2023, against $180,590 in the San Diego metro.
On this page

This page is for job seekers, investors, partners and suppliers sizing up greater Boston's biotechs. The Census metro runs from Boston and Cambridge out to Worcester's edge and into southern New Hampshire, so the counts cover Waltham, Lexington, Watertown and the Route 128 suburbs as well as Kendall Square.

How many biotech companies are in Boston

County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH Metro Area (CBSA 14460), NAICS 541714 (biotech research and development) and 325414 (biological product manufacturing):

MeasureBoston metro
Establishments700
Employees38,843
Annual payroll$8,389,399,000
Employees per establishment55.5
Average annual pay$215,982
Share of US establishments11.48% of 6,095

R&D labs dominate: 663 establishments and 33,420 employees, against 37 biologics plants with 5,423 employees. CBP counts establishments with paid employees, so a company with three buildings counts three times and a two-founder startup with no payroll doesn't count.

Where they are

CountyEstablishmentsEmployees
Middlesex County, Massachusetts50327,884
Suffolk County, Massachusetts134not reported (high-noise figure)
Norfolk County, Massachusetts29not reported (high-noise figure)
Essex County, Massachusetts19not reported (high-noise figure)
Plymouth County, Massachusetts950
Rockingham County, New Hampshire32

The Census Bureau published the missing county employee totals but flagged them: the noise it adds to protect confidentiality moved each one by 5% or more. Middlesex, which takes in Cambridge, Waltham, Lexington, Watertown and Bedford, holds 72% of the establishments. Suffolk is mostly Boston itself, including the Seaport and Longwood.

By size

Employees per establishmentEstablishments
1 to 4239
5 to 9not published
10 to 1980
20 to 49122
50 to 9982
100 to 24957
250 to 499not published
500 to 9996
1,000 or morenot published

The withheld classes are suppressed in the manufacturing code. The R&D code on its own fills most of them: 94 labs with 5 to 9 employees, 13 with 250 to 499 and 4 with 1,000 or more. Boston's distinctive feature is the middle: 204 establishments have 20 to 99 employees, the size of a funded company with its own lab.

What the Census codes miss

The two codes cover biotech labs and biologics plants. Small-molecule discovery companies are often coded 541715 (other life-sciences R&D), drug plants 325412, diagnostics 325413, and contract testing labs 541380. Corporate headquarters are classed by function. A Cambridge company whose 300 employees work in an office and outsource the lab work may not be in either code.

The listed companies, by R&D spend

SEC EDGAR lists 117 listed companies with a Boston-area business address in SIC 2834 (pharmaceutical preparations, 83), 2836 (biological products, 32) and 8731 (commercial research, 2). The largest research budgets in their latest 10-Ks, all for 2025:

CompanyHQ (10-K cover)R&DRevenueEmployees (10-K)
Vertex PharmaceuticalsBoston$3,909.5M$12,001.3Mabout 6,400
ModernaCambridge$3,132.0M$1,944.0Mabout 4,700 full-time
BiogenCambridge$1,778.6M$9,890.6Mabout 7,500
Sarepta TherapeuticsCambridge$1,522.1M$2,198.2M835
Alnylam PharmaceuticalsCambridge$1,319.8M$3,713.9Mabout 2,500 full-time
Beam TherapeuticsCambridge$409.6M$139.7M511 full-time
Dyne TherapeuticsWaltham$398.3M$0258 full-time (27 Feb 2026)
Agios PharmaceuticalsCambridge$339.5M$54.0M539 full-time
Viridian TherapeuticsWaltham$338.9M$70.8M252 full-time
Vor BiopharmaBoston$321.5M$076 full-time (3 Mar 2026)
Kymera TherapeuticsWatertown$316.6M$39.2M238 full-time
Cogent BiosciencesWaltham$269.8M$0258
Praxis Precision MedicinesBoston$267.1M$0168 (16 Feb 2026)
Relay TherapeuticsCambridge$261.4M$15.4M192 full-time

Employees are worldwide, as of 31 December 2025 unless dated. Charles River Laboratories of Wilmington, the contract research company (SIC 8731), reported $4,015.4 million of revenue and about 19,700 employees for its fiscal year ended 27 December 2025.

R&D per employee shows who outsources. Dyne spent about $1.54 million of R&D per employee, Praxis about $1.59 million and Kymera about $1.33 million (our calculation), against about $0.61 million at Vertex. A company spending well over $1 million per head buys most of its science from CROs, CDMOs and consultants. Check the 10-K before you rely on the ratio: R&D can include one-time license payments, which may explain Vor's $321.5 million with 76 staff.

The hospital research base

NIH RePORTER shows $3.13 billion of NIH awards to 194 organizations in the Boston metro in fiscal 2025 (October 2024 to September 2025), across 4,929 projects. The largest recipients are hospitals, not universities:

OrganizationNIH awards, FY2025
Massachusetts General Hospital$639.9M
Brigham and Women's Hospital$411.9M
Boston Children's Hospital$245.0M
Boston University Medical Campus$181.6M
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute$176.9M
Harvard Medical School$146.4M
Broad Institute$144.5M
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center$144.1M

For-profit companies received 215 awards worth $181.8 million; 180 were small-business (SBIR or STTR) grants. Charles River was the largest company recipient ($18.6 million). Many startups license technology from these hospitals and institutes, so a startup's founders often show up in RePORTER years before the company does.

Manufacturing and cell supply

FDA's drug establishment file, where biologics makers other than blood and tissue banks register, lists 73 Boston-metro sites with manufacturing operations. They include Bristol-Myers Squibb in Devens, Genzyme in Framingham, ModernaTX in Norwood, Wyeth BioPharma in Andover, Lonza Biologics in Portsmouth, NH, MassBiologics in Boston, and Replimune and CRISPR Therapeutics in Framingham. FDA's cell and tissue registry lists 16 establishments registered for blood stem cell or peripheral blood mononuclear cell products, mostly hospital cell therapy labs plus suppliers such as AllCells in Quincy. Investigational-only manufacturing doesn't require registration, so most clinical-stage companies aren't listed.

How to shortlist

You areStart withThen check
A job seekerThe R&D table and headcountsThe 10-K's cash runway and any restructuring note
An investor or partnerCash, R&D and pipeline in the 10-KNIH RePORTER for the founders' grant history
A supplierR&D per employee and FDA registrationsWho runs outsourcing: CMC, clinical operations or procurement

MassBio publishes a member directory (it reports more than 1,700 members) and runs a career center.

Selling to Boston biotechs

Worked example: a lab safety consultancy

Illustrative example. The firm, rates and conversion rates are invented; the counts come from CBP 2023.

Harborline Safety (harborline.example) runs biosafety and chemical safety programs for labs.

  1. Pick the mid-sized labs. 261 establishments have 20 to 249 employees, large enough to need a formal program and small enough to lack a full-time safety team.
  2. Do the arithmetic. Reaching 40% gives 104 conversations. If 10% book an $8,000 gap assessment, that's about 10 projects ($83,200), and if four become $36,000 retainers, $144,000 a year.
  3. Use a trigger. A lease in a new building or a jump in headcount means new permits and training.

At this volume, the slow part is finding each company's lab operations lead. Bebop finds the companies and contacts and drafts the first email.

First email to a lab operations director
Subject: Your move to [building or street]

Hi [first name],

Congratulations on the new space at [address]. A lab move usually means new biosafety registrations and a refreshed training plan within the first 90 days.

We run safety programs for Cambridge and Waltham labs of 20 to 200 people, so your scientists can keep working while the paperwork gets done.

Worth a 15-minute call next week to compare your move checklist with ours?

[Your name]

For national context, see the largest biotech companies and the Massachusetts pharmaceutical market report.

Next step: see the statewide picture, including Worcester and the manufacturing towns, in biotech companies in Massachusetts.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many biotech companies are in Boston?

Census County Business Patterns counted 700 biotech establishments in the Boston-Cambridge-Newton metro in 2023, with 38,843 employees: 663 research and development labs and 37 biological product plants. SEC EDGAR lists 117 public biotech and drug companies with a business address in the area. Counts that include devices, diagnostics and services are higher; MassBio, the state association, has more than 1,700 member organizations.

What is the largest biotech company in Boston?

Vertex Pharmaceuticals, headquartered in Boston, reported $12,001.3 million of revenue and $3,909.5 million of R&D for 2025 in its 10-K, with about 6,400 employees. Biogen in Cambridge reported $9,890.6 million of revenue and about 7,500 employees. Moderna, also in Cambridge, spent $3,132.0 million on R&D, more than any other local company except Vertex.

Where are most biotech companies in the Boston area?

In Middlesex County, which includes Cambridge, Waltham, Lexington, Watertown and Bedford. It had 503 of the metro's 700 biotech establishments and 27,884 employees in 2023, according to Census County Business Patterns. Suffolk County, mostly the city of Boston, had 134. The 10-K covers of the largest listed companies give Cambridge, Boston, Waltham and Watertown addresses.

How much do biotech jobs pay in Boston?

Biotech establishments in the Boston metro paid $8.39 billion to 38,843 employees in 2023, an average of $215,982 a year, according to Census County Business Patterns. That average covers every job at those sites, from lab technicians to executives, against $180,590 in the San Diego metro. It doesn't include employees at corporate offices classed in other industries.

How much NIH funding does Boston get?

NIH RePORTER shows $3.13 billion of NIH awards to 194 organizations in the Boston metro in fiscal 2025, across 4,929 projects. Massachusetts General Hospital received $639.9 million and Brigham and Women's Hospital $411.9 million. For-profit companies received 215 awards worth $181.8 million, mostly small-business innovation grants.

Find Boston biotechs that outsource

Describe the companies you sell to: modality, stage, headcount and the team that buys. Bebop finds matching companies and contacts and explains why each fits.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in