Biotech companies in Maryland: the I-270 corridor, Frederick's plants and the federal labs

Maryland's biotech industry grew up next to the federal government: NIH in Bethesda, FDA in Silver Spring and the labs at Fort Detrick. That shows in the numbers, with most labs in Montgomery County, big biologics plants in Frederick, and federal contractors among the largest recipients of NIH money.

Market report5 min readPublished

Maryland had 292 biotech establishments in 2023 with 9,867 employees and an average pay of $150,045 (Census County Business Patterns, NAICS 541714 and 325414), third among states. Montgomery County has 156 of the 282 research labs. SEC EDGAR lists 23 public biotech and drug companies in the state; United Therapeutics in Silver Spring ($3.18 billion of 2025 revenue) and Novavax in Gaithersburg ($1.12 billion) are the largest, per their 10-Ks.

  • Maryland has 4.79% of US biotech establishments and ranks third, behind California and Massachusetts.
  • Ten biologics plants employ 2,563 people; Frederick County's three plants alone employ 1,890.
  • Montgomery County holds 156 of the state's 282 biotech research labs, with 5,528 employees.
  • Johns Hopkins received $859.5 million of the $2.17 billion of NIH awards to Maryland organizations in fiscal 2025.
  • Kite, AstraZeneca, Novavax, REGENXBIO and United Therapeutics are among Maryland's FDA-registered manufacturers.
On this page

This report is for job seekers, investors, partners and suppliers looking at biotech companies in Maryland. It's a state view, so it covers Baltimore as well as the I-270 corridor from Bethesda and Rockville through Gaithersburg and Germantown to Frederick.

How many biotech companies are in Maryland

County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, Maryland, NAICS 541714 (biotech research and development) and 325414 (biological product manufacturing):

MeasureMaryland
Establishments292
Employees9,867
Annual payroll$1,480,490,000
Employees per establishment33.8
Average annual pay$150,045
Share of US establishments4.79% of 6,095
Rank among states3

The two codes split into many small labs and a few very large plants:

CodeEstablishmentsEmployeesPayroll
Biotech R&D (541714)2827,304$1,153,958,000
Biological product manufacturing (325414)102,563$326,532,000

The plants average about 256 employees each (our calculation), and three of the ten have 500 to 999 employees. As with all CBP data, these are payroll establishments rather than companies, and sole proprietors aren't included.

By size and county

The combined size table isn't published because most manufacturing cells are suppressed. The R&D code shows the shape of the lab base: 126 labs have 1 to 4 employees, 53 have 5 to 9, 29 have 10 to 19, 37 have 20 to 49, 22 have 50 to 99, 8 have 100 to 249 and 6 have 250 to 499; the largest classes are withheld.

County (CBP 2023)R&D labsR&D employeesBiologics plants
Montgomery County1565,5284 (employees not reported, high-noise)
Baltimore city36530
Frederick County284253 (1,890 employees)
Baltimore County20not reported (high-noise figure)
Howard County15222
Prince George's County10166
Anne Arundel County9not reported (high-noise figure)

Those figures exist but carry the Census Bureau's high-noise flag, meaning its confidentiality adjustments changed them by at least 5%. Montgomery County is the research center; Frederick is the manufacturing center.

What the codes leave out

Federal labs are the biggest gap. NIH's own intramural research in Bethesda, FDA in Silver Spring and the labs at Fort Detrick are government, not industry, so they aren't in CBP. Contract research organizations and data firms (coded in testing, consulting or computing), drug plants (325412) and corporate headquarters are also outside these codes. Maryland's Department of Commerce says its Maryland Life Sciences Directory lists more than 1,800 life sciences companies, a definition that includes medical technology and digital health.

The listed companies

SEC EDGAR lists 23 listed companies with a Maryland business address in SIC 2834 (pharmaceutical preparations, 18), 2836 (biological products, 4) and 8731 (commercial research, 1). From their latest filings:

CompanyHQ (filing cover)Revenue, 2025R&D, 2025Employees
United TherapeuticsSilver Spring$3,182.7M$550.0Mabout 1,400
NovavaxGaithersburg$1,123.5M$342.3Mabout 749
Emergent BioSolutionsGaithersburg$742.9M$53.2Mabout 900
Supernus PharmaceuticalsRockville$719.0M$106.2M778 full-time in the US
REGENXBIORockville$170.4M$228.3M
MacroGenicsRockville$149.5M$147.2M
MaxCyteRockville$33.0M$20.8M91 full-time
PrecigenGermantown$9.7M$41.3M
Cartesian TherapeuticsFrederick$2.8M$58.0M
AltimmuneGaithersburg$0$66.4M57 full-time
NovaBridge Biosciences (20-F)RockvilleNone reported$62.9M30
NextCureBeltsvilleNone reported$44.9M40 full-time
Northwest BiotherapeuticsBethesda$1.4M$28.8M105 full-time

Employees as of 31 December 2025, blank where we didn't take a figure. Champions Oncology has a Baltimore address in EDGAR but gives Hackensack, New Jersey, in its 10-K, so it's left out.

The top four are commercial companies with steady procurement. Below them, REGENXBIO spent more on R&D than it earned in revenue and MacroGenics about as much, and the rest are smaller companies with fewer than 110 employees where stated.

NIH money, and who gets it

NIH RePORTER shows $2.17 billion of NIH awards to 129 Maryland organizations in fiscal 2025 (October 2024 to September 2025), across 2,438 projects. That excludes NIH's own intramural spending.

OrganizationNIH awards, FY2025
Johns Hopkins University$859.5M
Leidos Biomedical Research (Frederick)$382.1M
University of Maryland, Baltimore$204.4M
Westat (Bethesda)$151.8M
University of Maryland, College Park$71.2M
The Emmes Company (Rockville)$64.9M

For-profit organizations received 341 awards worth $912.5 million, far more than Massachusetts' $193.9 million, because several large NIH research contractors are based here, led by Leidos Biomedical Research, Westat and Emmes. Only 82 of those were small-business (SBIR or STTR) grants, worth $63.9 million to 62 companies; that's the figure to use for startup activity.

Where biologics are made

Maryland's biologics makers appear in two FDA files: the cell and tissue registry, and the drug establishment registry used by other biologics manufacturers. Plants making only trial material don't have to register.

  • Drug establishment registry: 82 Maryland registrations, 65 with manufacturing operations. Registrants include Kite Pharma and AstraZeneca in Frederick, Novavax in Gaithersburg, REGENXBIO and Bora Biologics in Rockville, Precigen and uBriGene in Germantown, United Therapeutics in Silver Spring and Beltsville, Xcellon Biologics in Beltsville, and Catalent and Syngene in the Baltimore area.
  • Cell and tissue registry: six Maryland establishments are registered for blood stem cell or immune cell products: the NIH Clinical Center and a hematology and oncology clinic in Bethesda, Johns Hopkins Hospital, University of Maryland Medical Center (two registrations) and Miltenyi Biotec in Gaithersburg.

Frederick County's economic development office describes Kite's site there as a 279,000-square-foot biologics manufacturing facility, consistent with the county's 1,890 biologics plant employees.

Where to look

  1. Maryland Life Sciences Directory, from the state Department of Commerce, for company names by sector.
  2. Maryland Tech Council, the state's technology and life sciences association, for its member directory and job board.
  3. Frederick County Office of Economic Development for the manufacturing employers around Fort Detrick.
  4. NIH RePORTER for Johns Hopkins and University of Maryland investigators whose work is moving toward a company.

Selling to Maryland biotech

Worked example: a biomanufacturing training provider

Illustrative example. The provider, course prices and take-up rates are invented; the employee counts come from CBP 2023.

Monocacy Skills (monocacyskills.example) runs GMP and aseptic technique training for plant staff.

  1. Size the audience. Maryland's 10 biologics plants employ 2,563 people, 1,890 of them in Frederick County.
  2. Do the arithmetic. If 15% of plant staff need refresher or new-hire training each year (about 385 people) and Monocacy trains a third at $1,200 a seat, that's about 128 seats and $154,000 a year.
  3. Add the labs. The 22 R&D labs with 50 to 99 employees are moving toward clinical supply and will need GMP training next.

Matching each plant to its training or quality lead is the slow part. Bebop matches each site to likely contacts and drafts a first message.

For the national ranking, see the largest biotech companies; for the state's broader economy, companies in Maryland.

Next step: compare the larger research cluster in biotech companies in Massachusetts.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many biotech companies are in Maryland?

Census County Business Patterns counted 292 biotech establishments in Maryland in 2023, with 9,867 employees: 282 research labs and 10 biological product plants. That ranks third among states, behind California and Massachusetts. SEC EDGAR lists 23 public biotech and drug companies with a Maryland address, and the state's Maryland Life Sciences Directory lists more than 1,800 life sciences companies under a broader definition.

What are the largest biotech companies in Maryland?

By 2025 revenue in their 10-Ks: United Therapeutics in Silver Spring ($3,182.7 million, about 1,400 employees), Novavax in Gaithersburg ($1,123.5 million), Emergent BioSolutions in Gaithersburg ($742.9 million) and Supernus Pharmaceuticals in Rockville ($719.0 million). AstraZeneca and Kite, headquartered elsewhere, run large registered manufacturing sites in Frederick.

Where are biotech companies in Maryland located?

Mostly along the I-270 corridor. Montgomery County, which includes Bethesda, Rockville, Gaithersburg and Germantown, had 156 of the state's 282 biotech research labs in 2023. Frederick County had 28 labs and three biologics plants with 1,890 employees, and Baltimore city had 36 labs, according to Census County Business Patterns.

How much NIH funding does Maryland get?

NIH RePORTER shows $2.17 billion of NIH awards to 129 Maryland organizations in fiscal 2025, not counting NIH's own intramural research. Johns Hopkins received $859.5 million and Leidos Biomedical Research in Frederick $382.1 million. Small-business innovation grants, the best measure of startup activity, totaled $63.9 million to 62 companies.

Find Maryland biotechs and plants

Describe the labs, plants or companies you sell to and the role that buys. Bebop finds matching companies and contacts and explains why each fits.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in