Biotech companies in Philadelphia: Penn, cell and gene therapy, and a four-state metro

Philadelphia's biotech identity is cell and gene therapy, built on research at Penn and Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. The companies, though, are spread across the suburbs and Delaware, and the largest one is in Wilmington.

Market report5 min readPublished

The Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington metro had 221 biotech establishments in 2023 (Census County Business Patterns, NAICS 541714 and 325414), spread across Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware and Maryland; New Castle County, Delaware, had the most (57). SEC EDGAR lists 26 public biotech and drug companies in the metro. Incyte in Wilmington is the largest ($5.14 billion of 2025 revenue), followed by Madrigal in West Conshohocken ($958.4 million), per their 10-Ks.

  • The metro's 196 biotech R&D labs employed 8,001 people in 2023, at an average of about $213,000 a year.
  • Penn received $727.2 million of the metro's $1.43 billion of NIH awards in fiscal 2025, and CHOP $188.4 million.
  • Spark Therapeutics, Iovance and Advanced Therapies are registered with FDA for manufacturing in Philadelphia.
  • Five listed companies with little or no revenue (Larimar, ArriVent, Cabaletta, Mineralys and Prelude) each spent more than $90 million on R&D in 2025.
  • Life Sciences PA's 2026 report counts 109,000 direct life-science jobs statewide in 2024.
On this page

This report is for job seekers, investors, partners and suppliers looking at biotech in and around Philadelphia. The Census metro is unusually wide: it takes in the Pennsylvania suburbs (Montgomery, Chester, Bucks and Delaware counties), South Jersey around Camden, Wilmington and New Castle County in Delaware, and Cecil County, Maryland.

How many biotech companies are in Philadelphia

County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD Metro Area (CBSA 37980), NAICS 541714 (biotech research and development) and 325414 (biological product manufacturing):

MeasurePhiladelphia metro
Establishments221
Employeesnot reported (high-noise figure)
Annual payrollnot reported (high-noise figure)
Share of US establishments3.63% of 6,095

The metro employee and payroll totals were published but flagged as high-noise: the Census Bureau's confidentiality noise moved them by 5% or more, because of the 25 biologics plants. The 196 R&D labs on their own are clean: 8,001 employees and $1,703,832,000 of payroll, about $213,000 per employee (our calculation).

CountyEstablishmentsEmployees
New Castle County, Delaware572,223
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania45not reported (high-noise figure)
Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania42not reported (high-noise figure)
Chester County, Pennsylvania37not reported (high-noise figure)
Bucks County, Pennsylvania25368
Delaware County, Pennsylvania1050
Camden County, New Jersey4not reported (high-noise figure)

The city itself has only 42 of the 221. The suburbs and Delaware have the rest, which is where most of the listed companies are headquartered too.

By size

Employees per establishmentEstablishments
1 to 4112
5 to 9not published
10 to 1927
20 to 4921
50 to 9910
100 or morenot published

Of the withheld classes, the R&D code shows 31 labs with 5 to 9 employees and 7 with 100 to 249; the larger classes aren't published. Only 31 establishments have 20 to 99 employees, so the middle is thin: most establishments are either very small or part of a large company.

What the codes leave out

Contract research and testing labs (541380), drug discovery labs coded 541715, pharmaceutical plants (325412) and corporate headquarters sit outside these codes. So do the university and hospital labs where much of the region's cell and gene therapy work happens. Life Sciences PA's 2026 report, prepared by KPMG, counts 109,000 direct life-science jobs in Pennsylvania in 2024 and 361,000 including indirect and induced jobs, using a far broader definition.

Listed biotechs in the metro

SEC EDGAR lists 26 listed companies with a Philadelphia-metro business address in SIC 2834 (pharmaceutical preparations, 20), 2836 (biological products, 5) and 8731 (commercial research, 1, Incyte). From their latest 10-Ks, all for 2025:

CompanyHQ (10-K cover)RevenueR&DEmployees
IncyteWilmington, DE$5,141.2M$2,050.2M2,844
Madrigal PharmaceuticalsWest Conshohocken$958.4M$388.5M
Harmony BiosciencesPlymouth Meeting$868.5M$189.6M293
Century TherapeuticsPhiladelphia$109.2M$95.7M78 full-time (1 Mar 2026)
ZymeworksMiddletown, DE$106.0M$137.0M264 full-time
Larimar TherapeuticsBala CynwydNone reported$154.2M
ArriVent BioPharmaNewtown SquareNone reported$153.4M77 full-time
Cabaletta BioPhiladelphiaNone reported$142.7M156
Mineralys TherapeuticsRadnorNone reported$132.0M76 full-time
Prelude TherapeuticsWilmington, DE$12.1M$94.3M79 full-time
Inovio PharmaceuticalsPlymouth Meeting$0.1M$54.2M
Aclaris TherapeuticsWayne$7.8M$52.6M73

Employees as of 31 December 2025 unless dated; blank where we didn't take a figure. Pennsylvania towns are in the suburban counties unless the city is named.

The clinical-stage group is the region's growth engine for suppliers: Larimar, ArriVent, Cabaletta, Mineralys and Prelude spent $676.6 million on R&D between them (our sum) with fewer than 160 employees each where stated, so much of that money is spent with CROs, manufacturers and clinical sites.

The research base

NIH RePORTER shows $1.43 billion of NIH awards to 93 organizations in the metro in fiscal 2025 (October 2024 to September 2025), across 2,313 projects:

OrganizationNIH awards, FY2025
University of Pennsylvania$727.2M
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia$188.4M
Thomas Jefferson University$73.0M
Temple University$60.3M
Drexel University$52.7M
University of Delaware$50.9M
Wistar Institute$40.6M
Fox Chase Cancer Center research institute$30.2M

Companies received 76 awards worth $56.5 million, 57 of them small-business (SBIR or STTR) grants. Penn alone took 51% of the metro's NIH total.

Cell and gene therapy sites

FDA's biologics registration has two parts: cell and tissue establishments register with its biologics center, and other biologics makers register as drug establishments. Products made only for trials don't require registration.

  • Drug establishment registry: 154 metro registrations, 96 with manufacturing operations. Registrants include Spark Therapeutics (active ingredient manufacture), Iovance Biotherapeutics Manufacturing and Advanced Therapies in Philadelphia, Janssen Biotech in Malvern, and AstraZeneca in Philadelphia, Bensalem and Newark, Delaware.
  • Cell and tissue registry: 15 metro establishments are registered for blood stem cell or peripheral blood mononuclear cell products, including the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, CHOP's Cell Based Therapy Lab, Jefferson's cellular therapy lab, Temple's transplant program, Nemours in Wilmington, and suppliers such as StemExpress in East Norriton and Pharmaron in Exton.

Where to look

  1. Life Sciences PA, the statewide trade association, says it represents more than 960 organizations and runs a group purchasing program.
  2. NIH RePORTER, searched for Penn, CHOP and Wistar investigators, shows the science behind the next spinouts.
  3. 10-K properties sections list each company's lab and manufacturing leases, which tells you whether the work happens in the city, the suburbs or Delaware.

Selling into Philadelphia cell and gene therapy

Worked example: a vector analytics lab

Illustrative example. The lab, test prices and volumes are invented; the companies and sites come from the filings and FDA's file.

Schuylkill Vector Analytics (schuylkillvector.example) runs potency, titer and safety tests for viral vector and cell therapy batches.

  1. Pick the accounts. Developers with clinical programs (Cabaletta, Century) plus registered manufacturers (Spark, Iovance, Advanced Therapies) are five accounts that release batches all year.
  2. Do the arithmetic. If each runs 30 lots a year needing a $12,000 outsourced test panel and the lab wins a third of the work at three of them, that's 30 panels and $360,000 a year.
  3. Find the buyer. Quality control or analytical development leads choose labs; quality assurance approves them as suppliers.

Most of the time goes into learning which programs are moving into later trials. Bebop builds that account research for each company on a list, with suggested contacts.

For the national ranking, see the largest biotech companies; for the region's drug manufacturers, the Philadelphia pharmaceutical market report.

Next step: compare the neighboring cluster in biotech companies in New Jersey.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many biotech companies are in Philadelphia?

Census County Business Patterns counted 221 biotech establishments in the Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington metro in 2023: 196 research labs and 25 biological product plants. Only 42 were in Philadelphia County; New Castle County, Delaware, had 57 and Montgomery County 45. SEC EDGAR lists 26 public biotech and drug companies with an address in the metro.

What is the largest biotech company in the Philadelphia area?

Incyte, headquartered in Wilmington, Delaware, with $5,141.2 million of 2025 revenue and 2,844 employees, according to its 10-K. In Pennsylvania, Madrigal Pharmaceuticals in West Conshohocken ($958.4 million) and Harmony Biosciences in Plymouth Meeting ($868.5 million) are the largest. Within the city, Century Therapeutics ($109.2 million) and Cabaletta Bio are the largest listed biotechs.

Why is Philadelphia known for cell and gene therapy?

Much of the research base is there: the University of Pennsylvania received $727.2 million and Children's Hospital of Philadelphia $188.4 million of NIH awards in fiscal 2025. FDA's registration files list cell and gene therapy manufacturers in the city, including Spark Therapeutics, Iovance and Advanced Therapies, and hospital cell therapy labs at Penn, CHOP and Jefferson.

How much NIH funding does Philadelphia get?

NIH RePORTER shows $1.43 billion of NIH awards to 93 organizations in the Philadelphia metro in fiscal 2025, across 2,313 projects. The University of Pennsylvania received $727.2 million, about half the total, and CHOP $188.4 million. Companies received 76 awards worth $56.5 million, mostly small-business innovation grants.

Find Philadelphia cell and gene therapy teams

Describe the developers, manufacturers or labs you sell to and the role that buys. Bebop finds matching companies and contacts and explains why each fits.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in