Short answer
The Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue metro had 398 concrete establishments in 2023 (Census County Business Patterns): 365 poured concrete contractors and 33 ready-mix plants, employing 5,508 people across King, Snohomish and Pierce counties. Washington's Department of Labor and Industries lists 293 active contractors registered in the concrete specialty with addresses in those counties. A specialty contractor can work only in its specialty and can't hire subcontractors, so check the registration type, bond and insurance in L&I's lookup.
- 398 concrete establishments in the Seattle metro employ 5,508 people on a $405.3 million payroll.
- Snohomish County has 131 concrete contractor locations to King County's 128.
- Ready-mix plants pay $100,520 on average, against $69,567 at contractors.
- L&I lists 293 active concrete specialty registrations in the three counties: King 106, Snohomish 97, Pierce 90.
- Specialty registrations carry a $15,000 bond; general contractor registrations carry $30,000.
On this page
This report is for Puget Sound homeowners, builders and property managers hiring a concrete contractor or choosing a ready-mix supplier, and for B2B sellers whose customers are concrete firms: rebar fabricators, pump and forming suppliers, equipment dealers, insurers, estimating services and software.
Where the crews are
Figures for the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA Metro Area (CBSA 42660), combining NAICS 238110 (Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors) and NAICS 327320 (Ready-Mix Concrete Manufacturing). Source: US Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023.
| County | All concrete | Contractors | Ready-mix | Employees, both codes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| King County, Washington | 142 | 128 | 14 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Snohomish County, Washington | 140 | 131 | 9 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Pierce County, Washington | 116 | 106 | 10 | 1,394 |
King's and Snohomish's combined employee totals were published but flagged as high-noise (the Census Bureau's confidentiality noise moved them by 5% or more), so we don't use them. The contractor-only figures are solid: 2,066 employees at King County contractor locations, 1,660 in Snohomish and 1,068 in Pierce.
A contractor in Lynnwood or Marysville is as likely to pour your Seattle foundation as one in the city. Shortlist by the region, not the ZIP code.
The market in numbers
| Measure (2023) | Seattle metro |
|---|---|
| Establishments | 398 |
| Employees (week of March 12) | 5,508 |
| Annual payroll | $405,275,000 |
| Average employees per establishment | 13.8 |
| Average annual pay | $73,579 |
| Share of US establishments | 1.34% of 29,706 |
| Industry (2023) | Establishments | Employees | Annual payroll | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concrete contractors (238110) | 365 | 4,794 | $333,504,000 | $69,567 |
| Ready-mix plants (327320) | 33 | 714 | $71,771,000 | $100,520 |
| Employees per location | Both codes | Contractors | Ready-mix |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 219 | 205 | 14 |
| 5 to 9 | 70 | 66 | 4 |
| 10 to 19 | 45 | 42 | 3 |
| 20 to 49 | 42 | 33 | 9 |
| 50 to 99 | Not published | 13 | Not published |
| 100 to 249 | Not published | 4 | Not published |
| 250 or more | Not published | 2 (derived) | Not published |
The contractor row for 250 or more is the total less the published classes. Three ready-mix establishments fall in classes the Census Bureau doesn't publish. Overall, 334 of the 398 locations have fewer than 20 employees.
These are establishments with paid employees, not companies. Owner-operators without payroll aren't counted, and a producer with several plants counts each one.
Washington's registry, and what a specialty registration allows
Every contractor in Washington registers with the Department of Labor and Industries (L&I), either as a general contractor or as a specialty contractor in one of the state's specialties. Concrete is one of them.
| General contractor | Specialty contractor (for example, concrete) | |
|---|---|---|
| Scope | Most construction work, across trades | Only the registered specialty |
| Can hire subcontractors | Yes | No |
| Continuous surety bond | $30,000 | $15,000 |
| Liability insurance | $200,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage, or $250,000 combined | Same |
| Application and renewal fee | $150.20 | $150.20 |
L&I publishes its registrations as open data. On 30 October 2026, 750 active registrations statewide named concrete as a specialty, and 293 had addresses in the three metro counties (we placed each ZIP code in the county holding most of its land, using the Census ZIP-to-county file): King 106, Snohomish 97 and Pierce 90. Of those 293, 182 are LLCs, 65 corporations and 41 individuals. General contractors who also pour concrete don't appear in that count.
Worked example: a quote that breaks the specialty rule
Illustrative example. The job and firms are invented.
An Everett homeowner gets two quotes for a new driveway with a trench drain tied into the storm line.
| Quote A | Quote B | |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | Concrete specialty | General contractor |
| Price | $14,200 | $15,900 |
| Drain and storm tie-in | "By our plumbing sub" | Own crew and licensed sub |
| Bond on file | $15,000 | $30,000 |
Quote A is $1,700 cheaper, but a specialty contractor can't hire subcontractors, so the drain work either isn't really covered or is being done outside the rules. The bond also matters: it's the pool of money for claims against that contractor, shared among everyone who claims. Ask Quote A to drop the drain and hire a separate registered contractor for it, or go with Quote B.
The plants
Thirty-three ready-mix establishments serve the metro, and their average pay of $100,520 is higher than in Chicago ($85,009) or Phoenix ($74,724). Plants that discharge process water or stormwater are covered by the Department of Ecology's Sand and Gravel General Permit, which covers concrete batch and hot-mix asphalt operations as well as pits and quarries; the current permit took effect on 1 April 2026 and runs to 31 March 2031.
None of the SEC-registered listed concrete companies is based in the Seattle metro. Two listed producers report Washington operations: Knife River (Bismarck, ND), whose West segment, covering Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon and Washington, ran 51 ready-mix plants at the end of 2025; and Martin Marietta, whose West division includes Washington and whose February 2026 exchange with Quikrete added aggregates operations including Vancouver, British Columbia.
Selling to Puget Sound concrete firms
The L&I data gives you the concrete specialty list with business type and registration dates, and L&I's separate insurance and bond files add carriers and expiration dates. Sellers of tools, rental, rebar and forming should cover all three counties; a plant-side seller has 33 locations. Because specialty contractors can't sub out work, they hire or rent everything they need, which makes them good customers for equipment rental and labor. For finding the right person, see how to find decision makers. Bebop can find concrete firms that match a description like this and research each one.
Illustrative example. A rebar fabricator in Kent (pugetrebar.example) targets the 293 concrete specialty contractors plus the general contractors who self-perform foundations. Applying the Census share of contractor locations with ten or more employees (94 of 365, or 26%) suggests about 75 firms big enough to buy by the ton. At a 12% reply rate that's 9 conversations; three accounts buying 80 tons a year at $1,400 a ton is $336,000 a year.
Subject: Cut and bent rebar, delivered to the pour Hi [first name], [Company] is registered in Washington's concrete specialty, so I'm guessing foundations and walls keep your crews moving between [county] sites. We cut, bend and tag rebar to your takeoff in Kent and deliver to the site in [days], sequenced by pour. Could I price your next job from the drawings? [Your name]
Local sources
| Source | What it gives you |
|---|---|
| L&I contractor license data (open data) | Every registration with specialty, type, status and address |
| L&I: register as a contractor | Bond, insurance and fee rules for general and specialty registration |
| L&I verify a contractor | Look up a single contractor's registration, bond and insurance |
| Ecology: Sand and Gravel General Permit | Which plants need water quality coverage |
| AGC of Washington | Commercial general contractors who hire concrete subs |
| Seattle Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce | Regional business directory |
Next step: for the builders and trades around these firms, read the report on construction companies in Seattle.
Sources
- County Business Patterns (CBP), 2023, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- L&I Contractor License Data: General, Washington Department of Labor and Industries, data.wa.gov, updated 30 October 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- Register as a contractor, Washington Department of Labor and Industries, accessed 30 October 2026
- Sand and Gravel General Permit, Washington State Department of Ecology, accessed 30 October 2026
- Knife River Corporation Form 10-K for 2025, US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), filed 20 February 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- Martin Marietta Materials Form 10-K for 2025, US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), filed 19 February 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- ZIP Code Tabulation Area to County Relationship File, 2020, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many concrete companies are there in Seattle?
Census County Business Patterns counted 398 concrete establishments in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue metro in 2023: 365 contractors and 33 ready-mix plants, employing 5,508 people. King County had 142, Snohomish 140 and Pierce 116. Washington's contractor registry is a second count: 293 active registrations in the concrete specialty had addresses in those three counties in October 2026.
Do concrete contractors need a license in Washington?
They must register with the Department of Labor and Industries, either as a general contractor or in a specialty such as concrete. Specialty registration needs a $15,000 surety bond and general registration $30,000, plus liability insurance of $200,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage or $250,000 combined. A specialty contractor can only do work in its specialty and can't hire subcontractors.
How do I check a concrete contractor in Washington?
Search the business in L&I's verify-a-contractor tool. Confirm the registration is active, whether it's general or specialty, that the bond and insurance are current, and whether there are claims against the bond or any infractions. If a specialty contractor's quote includes work by its own subcontractors, ask about it, because specialty registrations don't allow hiring subs.
Why do Seattle ready-mix plants pay so much?
Census data show ready-mix establishments in the Seattle metro paid $100,520 per employee on average in 2023, against $69,567 at concrete contractors. Plant payroll includes drivers, batch operators, dispatchers, mechanics and managers, and the figure is total annual payroll divided by employees in March. It doesn't tell you any single job's pay, but it's a useful benchmark when hiring drivers away from a plant.