Law firms in Omaha: 427 offices, Douglas County's share, and checking lawyers in Nebraska and Iowa

Omaha is a compact legal market: 427 offices, almost four in five of them in Douglas County, and none with more than 249 employees. It also straddles the Missouri River, so the first question about any lawyer is which state licensed them.

Market report5 min readPublished

The Omaha metro area had 427 law offices with paid employees in 2023, employing 3,204 people at an average annual pay of $104,696, according to Census County Business Patterns. Douglas County holds 334 of the offices and 2,880 of the jobs; Pottawattamie County, Iowa, has 43. Five offices have 100 to 249 employees and none is larger. Nebraska lawyers renew their licenses each year with the Nebraska Supreme Court.

  • 427 law offices and 3,204 employees in the Omaha metro (Census, 2023), 0.26% of US law offices.
  • Douglas County has 78% of the offices and 90% of the jobs.
  • Five offices have 100 to 249 employees; none has 250 or more.
  • Sarpy County has just 24 law offices, with 83 employees between them.
  • Nebraska's mandatory annual attorney assessment is $98 for active lawyers, paid to the Nebraska Supreme Court.
On this page

This page is for anyone working with Omaha law firms: a business or household choosing a lawyer, a lawyer or paralegal looking at employers, a researcher, or a company that sells to law practices. It gives the Census picture of the metro's law offices, how Nebraska and Iowa license and list lawyers, and how to reach firms of each size.

Measure (2023)Omaha, NE-IA Metro Area
Law offices with paid employees427
Employees3,204
Annual payroll$335,446,000
Average employees per office7.5
Average annual pay$104,696
Share of US law offices0.26% of 165,491

These are County Business Patterns figures for CBSA 36540 under NAICS 541110, offices of lawyers. Each is an office with paid staff, so a firm with locations downtown and in West Omaha counts twice, and a lawyer who works alone with no employees isn't counted at all. In-house and government lawyers fall outside the industry code. Average pay covers employees, from assistants to associates; it doesn't include what partners take from profits.

Douglas County and the rest

CountyStateOfficesEmployees
DouglasNebraska3342,880
PottawattamieIowa43158
SarpyNebraska2483
SaundersNebraska1023
CassNebraska530
MillsIowa4Not reported (high-noise figure)
WashingtonNebraska4Not reported (high-noise figure)
HarrisonIowa35

The Census Bureau publishes the Mills and Washington county employee counts with a high-noise flag, meaning the noise it adds for confidentiality changed them by 5% or more, so we don't show them. Douglas County's offices average 8.6 employees; everywhere else in the metro, the 93 offices employ 324 people between them, about 3.5 each. Sarpy County, home to Bellevue and Papillion, has only 24 law offices, so suburban residents and businesses often look to Douglas County firms.

Office sizes

Employees per officeOffices
1 to 4292
5 to 966
10 to 1934
20 to 4925
50 to 995
100 to 2495

The size classes above add up to all 427 offices, so the unpublished cells for 250 or more employees are empty. Grouped: 392 offices with 1 to 19 employees, 30 with 20 to 99 and 5 with 100 or more. The top ten offices (50 employees and up) are the whole of Omaha's large-firm market.

Licensed in Nebraska, Iowa or both

NebraskaIowa
Who licenses lawyersThe Nebraska Supreme Court. Lawyers file an annual license report with its Attorney Services Division and pay a mandatory assessment: $98 active, $49 inactive, with a late fee after 20 JanuaryThe Iowa Supreme Court, through its Office of Professional Regulation, which collects attorneys' annual fees and handles discipline
Where to check a lawyerSearch Nebraska Licensed AttorneysThe Search Iowa Attorneys link on the Office of Professional Regulation page
The bar associationThe Nebraska State Bar Association, which says it does not license attorneys, runs Nebraska Find-a-Lawyer

A matter in Council Bluffs or anywhere in Pottawattamie County is in Iowa's courts, so check for an Iowa license; a matter in Douglas or Sarpy needs Nebraska. Iowa's Office of Professional Regulation also publishes lists of attorneys subject to disciplinary action, and runs the Client Security Commission, which compensates clients who lost money through a lawyer's dishonest conduct.

Hiring an Omaha lawyer

  1. Start with the right state. Match the license to the court, as above.
  2. Use Nebraska Find-a-Lawyer if you don't have a name.
  3. Confirm the license in the court's own roster, not just the firm's website.
  4. Ask who does the work. With only ten offices of 50 or more people, most Omaha firms are small teams; the lawyer you meet is likely the one handling the matter.
  5. Agree the fee in writing, with an estimate for the whole matter.

Selling to Omaha law firms

Omaha is small enough that a seller can know every firm. The 35 offices with 20 or more employees have a firm administrator or office manager worth reaching by name; the 358 offices under ten people are owner-run and buy on a single conversation.

Illustrative example. The company, percentages and results are invented.

Platte Line Reception (platteline.example) answers phones and does client intake for small firms. It targets the 358 metro offices of 1 to 9 employees and keeps practices that take calls from the public (injury, family, criminal defense, estate planning), an illustrative 40%, or about 143. Most decide on the phone, so it calls: at an illustrative 15% connect rate, about 21 conversations; if one in four agrees to a two-week trial, five trials. It runs the same list into Pottawattamie County with an Iowa angle.

Knowing which practices take public calls and who answers them now is the research that makes the call work; Bebop finds firms that match a description and writes a playbook for each account. For the call itself, see the cold calling guide.

Call opener for a small-firm owner
Hi [first name], this is [your name] with [company]. I'll be quick: I called [firm]'s main line at [time] yesterday and it went to voicemail, which is when a lot of new injury and family clients call the next firm on the list. We answer for small Omaha firms after hours and at lunch and book consultations straight into your calendar. Is that a gap you've noticed, or have you got it covered?

Omaha sources

SourceWhat it gives you
Nebraska annual attorney licensureHow Nebraska lawyers renew, and the assessment
Search Nebraska Licensed AttorneysThe Nebraska Supreme Court's roster
Nebraska Find-a-LawyerThe Nebraska State Bar Association's directory for the public
Iowa Office of Professional RegulationIowa attorney search, discipline lists and the Client Security Commission
Greater Omaha ChamberThe metro chamber of commerce

Next step: build your list of owner-run practices with how to sell to small businesses.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many law firms are in Omaha?

Census County Business Patterns counted 427 law offices with paid employees in the Omaha, NE-IA metro area in 2023, employing 3,204 people. Douglas County had 334 of them, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, 43 and Sarpy County 24. The count is of offices rather than firms, and it leaves out lawyers who practice alone with no employees.

Who licenses lawyers in Nebraska?

The Nebraska Supreme Court. Lawyers file an annual license report with the Court's Attorney Services Division and pay a mandatory assessment directly to the Court: $98 for active attorneys and $49 for inactive ones, with a late fee for reports after 20 January. The Nebraska State Bar Association says it does not license attorneys; it offers membership and a Find-a-Lawyer service.

How do I check if an Omaha lawyer is licensed?

For Nebraska, use the Nebraska Supreme Court's Search Nebraska Licensed Attorneys roster. For Iowa, which covers Council Bluffs and the rest of Pottawattamie County, use the Search Iowa Attorneys link on the Iowa Office of Professional Regulation's page, which also lists attorneys subject to discipline. Check the license for the state whose courts will hear your matter.

What are the largest law offices in Omaha?

Census data gives the sizes without names: in 2023 the Omaha metro had five law offices with 100 to 249 employees, five with 50 to 99 and none with 250 or more. We couldn't find a free, current published ranking by local headcount. To compare firms, count the lawyers each firm's website lists for its Omaha office.

Find the Omaha practices that fit your offer

Describe the law firms you sell to. Bebop finds matching practices and the owners who run them, and writes a playbook for each account.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in