Short answer
The Tulsa, OK metro had 569 law offices with paid employees in 2023, employing 2,861 people with $267.6 million in payroll, according to Census County Business Patterns. Tulsa County has 507 of them, and only two offices have 100 or more employees. The Oklahoma Bar Association's member verification lists 3,319 members in Tulsa. Use that tool to check a lawyer's standing, and ask whether your matter might belong in a tribal court.
- 569 law offices and 2,861 employees in the Tulsa metro in 2023, averaging 5.0 employees against 6.6 nationally.
- Tulsa County has 507 offices and 95% of the jobs; both offices with 100 or more employees are there.
- The OBA's member verification lists 3,319 members with a Tulsa address, against 4,376 in Oklahoma City.
- The Supreme Court held in 2020 that the Creek Reservation, which takes in most of Tulsa, remains Indian country.
- The Muscogee (Creek) Nation District Court has its own bar association, with its own admission fees.
On this page
This report is for anyone looking for a law firm in Tulsa, Broken Arrow and the surrounding counties: someone who needs a lawyer, a lawyer or paralegal weighing local employers, or a company that sells to firms in northeastern Oklahoma.
Tulsa's law offices
Offices of lawyers (NAICS 541110) in the Tulsa, OK Metro Area (CBSA 46140), from County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, beside the Oklahoma totals:
| Measure (2023) | Tulsa metro | Oklahoma |
|---|---|---|
| Establishments | 569 | 2,234 |
| Employees (mid-March) | 2,861 | 9,881 |
| Annual payroll | $267,642,000 | $878,081,000 |
| Average employees per office | 5.0 | 4.4 |
| Average annual pay | $93,548 | $88,866 |
| Share of US law offices | 0.34% of 165,491 | 1.35% |
The metro has 25% of Oklahoma's law offices and pays 5% above the state average (our calculation from the same data). Nationally the average law office has 6.6 employees.
| County | Offices | Employees |
|---|---|---|
| Tulsa County, Oklahoma | 507 | 2,720 |
| Rogers County, Oklahoma | 20 | not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Creek County, Oklahoma | 16 | 31 |
| Wagoner County, Oklahoma | 10 | not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Okmulgee County, Oklahoma | 8 | not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Osage County, Oklahoma | 4 | 9 |
| Pawnee County, Oklahoma | 4 | not reported (high-noise figure) |
Rogers, Wagoner, Okmulgee and Pawnee counties' employee counts are left blank because the Census Bureau flags them as high-noise: the protective noise it adds changed each by 5% or more. Tulsa County's offices average 5.4 employees and $95,631 in pay (our calculation).
| Employees per office | Offices |
|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 436 |
| 5 to 9 | 67 |
| 10 to 19 | 34 |
| 20 to 49 | 25 |
| 50 to 99 | 5 |
| 100 or more | 2 (derived from the total; classes not published) |
Two offices have 100 or more employees; the Bureau suppresses those classes, but the total less the published ones gives the count, and both sit in Tulsa County. 77% of offices have fewer than five employees.
CBP counts offices with paid staff, so it misses lawyers who practice alone. Those owner-only practices are tallied in Nonemployer Statistics: 961 legal services businesses without employees in the Tulsa metro in 2023, with $68.8 million in receipts. The code it uses also covers title abstract offices and other businesses that aren't law offices.
How many lawyers: the bar's own records
The Oklahoma Bar Association's member verification lists each member's city, membership type (active, senior or retired), standing and admission date. On 30 October 2026 it returned:
| Search | Members listed |
|---|---|
| All members | 19,128 |
| Location in Oklahoma | 14,113 |
| City: Oklahoma City | 4,376 |
| City: Tulsa | 3,319 |
| City: Broken Arrow | 243 |
These include senior and retired members and anyone who lists a Tulsa address, whether they practice at a firm, in a company, in government or not at all. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS, May 2025) counts 1,820 lawyers employed on payrolls in the metro, with a mean wage of $130,060 and a median of $108,220; OEWS leaves out lawyers who own their firms, and BLS rates the estimate's relative standard error at 13.6%.
Tribal courts and the Creek Reservation
In McGirt v. Oklahoma (9 July 2020, 5 to 4), the Supreme Court held that for purposes of the federal Major Crimes Act, land reserved for the Creek Nation since the 19th century remains Indian country. The majority noted that the reservation takes in most of Tulsa and some neighboring communities. The case concerned crimes by Indians, for which, the Court noted, responsibility on the reservation falls to the federal government and the tribe rather than the state. Anyone with a matter touching tribal citizens, land or businesses in Tulsa should know the tribal courts exist.
Those courts have their own bars. The Muscogee (Creek) Nation District Court, based in Okmulgee, publishes rules that refer to members of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation Bar Association, who pay admission fees and receive the court's rules on joining. For a client, the practical question is simple: if your matter involves a tribal citizen, tribal land or a tribal business, ask whether the lawyer is admitted in the relevant tribal court as well as in Oklahoma.
Finding and checking a Tulsa lawyer
- Get names. The Tulsa County Bar Association has served Tulsa for more than 100 years and runs a lawyer referral service and a member directory.
- Verify standing. Search the OBA member verification for the lawyer's name and confirm "Good Standing" and an active membership.
- Ask about tribal court admission where it could matter, as above.
- Agree fees in writing, including whether the work is hourly, flat-fee or contingent.
Selling to Tulsa law firms
With 503 of 569 offices under ten employees, Tulsa is a market of owner-operators. The lawyer is often the office manager and IT department too, so offers that remove an administrative job sell better than offers that add a dashboard. Decisions are quick and price-sensitive. The 32 offices with 20 or more employees are few enough to research one by one. The University of Tulsa College of Law is the local pipeline for new associates and a natural partner for vendors offering student or new-lawyer programs.
Illustrative example. The installer and its numbers are fictional.
Arkansas River Voice (arkvoice.example) installs cloud phone systems with call recording and after-hours routing. Its list is Tulsa County offices with one to nine employees: 380 + 62 = 442. If an estimated 40% are due to replace their phone setup within a year, that's about 177. A 3% reply rate on a short email gives five conversations; if two install, that covers the month's target for a two-person sales team. Bebop can turn a plain description of that segment into matching offices, the decision maker at each and a playbook, which beats checking 442 websites.
Subject: Missed calls at [firm] Hi [first name], When you're in court, who answers [firm]'s phone? For a lot of small Tulsa offices the answer is voicemail, and new clients don't leave messages. We set up phones that ring your cell, route after-hours calls and record intake calls for your file, for a flat monthly price. Worth a 10-minute look? If not, reply "no" and I'll leave you alone. [Your name] [Company], [postal address]
For general guidance on this kind of buyer, see how to sell to small businesses.
Tulsa sources
- OBA member verification: standing, membership type and admission date for every Oklahoma Bar member.
- Tulsa County Bar Association: lawyer referral and member directory.
- Muscogee (Creek) Nation District Court: court rules, including the tribal bar.
- McGirt v. Oklahoma, No. 18-9526 (2020): the full opinion, via Cornell's Legal Information Institute.
- University of Tulsa College of Law: the local law school.
- Census County Business Patterns: law offices by county and size.
Among SEC-registered listed companies, none in legal services (SIC 8111) has a Tulsa-metro business address. For the state capital, see law firms in Oklahoma City.
Next step: for who decides at firms of each size, read selling to law firms.
Sources
- County Business Patterns (CBP), 2023, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- Nonemployer Statistics, 2023 (NAICS 5411, metropolitan areas), US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- Member Verification, Oklahoma Bar Association, searched 30 October 2026
- McGirt v. Oklahoma, No. 18-9526 (2020), Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School, 9 July 2020
- Rules of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation District Court, Muscogee (Creek) Nation District Court, accessed 30 October 2026
- May 2025 Metropolitan and Nonmetropolitan Area Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, accessed 30 October 2026
- Tulsa County Bar Association, Tulsa County Bar Association, accessed 30 October 2026
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many law firms are there in Tulsa?
Tulsa's metro area had 569 law offices with paid staff in 2023, employing 2,861 people, by the Census Bureau's count; 507 were in Tulsa County. The average office had five employees. Solo practices without staff are tallied separately, and there were 961 legal services businesses of that kind in the metro.
How many lawyers are in Tulsa?
The Oklahoma Bar Association's member verification listed 3,319 members with a Tulsa address on 30 October 2026, including senior and retired members, against 4,376 in Oklahoma City. The Bureau of Labor Statistics estimated 1,820 lawyers employed on payrolls in the Tulsa metro in May 2025, a narrower count that leaves out lawyers who own their firms.
How do I check if an Oklahoma lawyer is in good standing?
Search the lawyer's name in the Oklahoma Bar Association's member verification at my.okbar.org. Each listing shows the member's city, bar ID, membership type (such as active, senior or retired), standing and admission date. If you can't find someone, the OBA asks you to call its office. Confirm an active membership in good standing before you sign an engagement letter.
Do I need a lawyer admitted in tribal court in Tulsa?
Sometimes. After McGirt v. Oklahoma (2020), the Supreme Court recognized the Creek Reservation, which takes in most of Tulsa, as Indian country for Major Crimes Act purposes, so the federal government and the tribe, not the state, prosecute crimes by Indians there. The Muscogee (Creek) Nation District Court has its own bar association. If your matter involves a tribal citizen, tribal land or a tribal business, ask about tribal court admission.
What is the largest law firm in Tulsa?
Census data doesn't name firms, but it shows only two law offices in the Tulsa metro had 100 or more employees in 2023, both in Tulsa County, and 30 more had 20 to 99. To compare firms, use each firm's own website for its Tulsa lawyer count, and remember that firms with Oklahoma City offices report combined totals.