Short answer
Workday had over 21,000 employees in 36 countries on January 31, 2026, the end of its 2026 fiscal year, according to its Form 10-K filed with the SEC on March 6, 2026. About 58% were in the US and 42% elsewhere. Since then Workday has announced cuts of about 2% (February 2026) and 2.5% (September 2026) of its workforce, after eliminating about 1,750 positions in 2025. It hasn't published a newer total.
- Latest figure: over 21,000 employees in 36 countries on January 31, 2026, from Workday's fiscal 2026 10-K.
- The US share fell from about 65% to 58% in two years; by our arithmetic, international headcount grew by about 2,200 while the US stayed near 12,200.
- Workday cut about 1,750 positions (8.5%) in February 2025, then about 2% in February 2026 and 2.5% in September 2026.
- Headcount grew 72% from fiscal 2020 to fiscal 2026, while revenue grew 2.6 times.
- Revenue per employee was at most about $455,000 in fiscal 2026 (our calculation).
On this page
This page is for sellers, analysts and anyone who needs a Workday headcount they can cite: the latest number, what it counts and how it has moved. Every number here comes from Workday's annual report on Form 10-K or its 8-Ks, filed with the SEC. Workday's fiscal year ends on January 31, so fiscal 2026 ran from February 1, 2025 to January 31, 2026.
Workday employees by year
Workday reports its headcount once a year, as of January 31, in the Human Capital section of its 10-K.
| Fiscal year | As of | Employees | Change on prior year | Countries | In the US | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | January 31, 2026 | over 21,000 | about +600 (+2.9%) | 36 | about 58% | 10-K filed March 6, 2026 |
| 2025 | January 31, 2025 | over 20,400 | about +1,600 (+8.5%) | 34 | about 63% | 10-K filed March 11, 2025 |
| 2024 | January 31, 2024 | about 18,800 | +1,100 (+6.2%) | 32 | about 65% | 10-K filed March 8, 2024 |
| 2023 | January 31, 2023 | about 17,700 | +2,500 (+16.4%) | 32 | not stated | 10-K filed February 27, 2023 |
| 2022 | January 31, 2022 | about 15,200 | +2,700 (+21.6%) | 32 | not stated | 10-K filed February 28, 2022 |
| 2021 | January 31, 2021 | about 12,500 | +300 (+2.5%) | 32 | not stated | 10-K filed March 2, 2021 |
| 2020 | January 31, 2020 | about 12,200 | not stated | not stated | 10-K filed March 3, 2020 |
Workday rounds to the nearest hundred and, for the last two years, says "over" rather than "approximately", so treat the latest changes as approximate. The changes are our arithmetic. Workday's 10-Qs don't report headcount, so the fiscal 2026 10-K holds the latest company total until the fiscal 2027 10-K, due around March 2027.
Where Workday's employees work
The 10-K has given a US and international split since fiscal 2024:
| As of | In the US | Outside the US | US people (our arithmetic) | Outside the US (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 31, 2026 | about 58% | about 42% | about 12,200 | about 8,800 |
| January 31, 2025 | about 63% | about 37% | about 12,900 | about 7,500 |
| January 31, 2024 | about 65% | about 35% | about 12,200 | about 6,600 |
By our arithmetic the US workforce has stayed near 12,200 while the international workforce grew by about 2,200 in two years. Workday also added four countries over the same period, from 32 to 36.
What the number includes
- A global employee count. The 10-K says "As of January 31, 2026, our global workforce consisted of over 21,000 employees in 36 countries, of which approximately 58% were located in the U.S. and 42% were located internationally."
- Employees, not contractors. The Human Capital section counts employees and doesn't give a contractor figure.
- Before later cuts. The fiscal 2025 10-K noted that its figures "do not reflect the impacts of our restructuring plan" announced days earlier. The same timing applies to the fiscal 2026 figure and the 2% reduction announced on February 4, 2026.
- A point-in-time count on January 31.
What changed and why
Fiscal 2021 to 2023: fast growth
Headcount rose by 5,200 between January 2021 and January 2023, to about 17,700.
February 2025: about 1,750 positions
On February 5, 2025 Workday filed an 8-K announcing a plan for the "elimination of approximately 1,750 positions, or 8.5% of Workday's current workforce," with $230 million to $270 million of charges, "intended to prioritize its investments and continue advancing Workday's ongoing focus on durable growth." The fiscal 2026 10-K records $303 million of restructuring expenses for the year. Headcount still finished fiscal 2026 above 21,000.
2026: two more rounds
An 8-K signed on February 4, 2026 announced reorganizations "expected to result in the elimination of approximately 2% of Workday's current workforce," mainly in non-revenue roles in Global Customer Operations, with about $135 million of charges. On September 29, 2026 Workday filed another, for "a reduction of approximately 2.5% of Workday's current workforce" and $65 million to $80 million of charges, to "better align team structures with Workday's strategic growth priorities." Workday hasn't published a headcount after either, so the fiscal 2027 10-K will be the first total to reflect them.
Revenue per employee
Workday's fiscal 2026 revenue was $9,552 million: $8,833 million from subscription services and $719 million from professional services. Divided by the year-end headcount, that's $9,552 million ÷ 21,000 = about $455,000 per employee (our calculation). Because the 10-K says "over 21,000", the true figure is a little lower.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Employees | Revenue per employee (our calculation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $9,552 million | over 21,000 | about $455,000 or less |
| 2025 | $8,446 million | over 20,400 | about $414,000 or less |
| 2024 | $7,259 million | about 18,800 | about $386,000 |
| 2023 | $6,216 million | about 17,700 | about $351,000 |
| 2022 | $5,139 million | about 15,200 | about $338,000 |
The fiscal 2026 10-K explains one year-on-year improvement as "primarily due to our revenue growth outpacing headcount growth." Workday reports one segment, so there is no per-business split. For companies measured the same way, see the highest revenue per employee list.
Selling to a company this size
General guidance on how software companies of 21,000 people buy, not a description of Workday's internal processes.
- Follow the restructuring language. Three rounds of cuts aimed at "highest priorities" and "strategic growth priorities" mean budget is moving toward some teams and away from others. Find the teams that are gaining.
- Think international. With all recent growth outside the US, regional leaders in Europe and Asia may own more decisions than they did two years ago.
- Engineering builds by default. A software company will weigh your product against building it in-house. Show the cost of that option.
- Land with one team. Win where the problem is sharpest and use the result to reach the next team: the land and expand motion.
- Name the people. Work out who signs, who uses and who can block. Our guide to finding decision makers shows how.
Mapping a company in the middle of reorganizations is slow work. Bebop researches each account and suggests who to talk to and the angle to open with; check what it finds against the company's filings.
How to check Workday's headcount yourself
- Search SEC EDGAR for Workday, Inc. (CIK 1327811) and open the latest 10-K, filed each February or March.
- In Item 1, Business, find Human Capital. The first sentence gives the employee count, the countries and the US share.
- For later changes, look for 8-Ks that list Item 2.05, Costs Associated with Exit or Disposal Activities: Workday uses it for each workforce reduction.
- Remember that a percentage cut applies to the workforce at the time, which may differ from the last published total.
Next step: see how Workday compares with other software makers on our list of the largest software companies.
Sources
- Workday, Inc. Form 8-K (Item 2.05, workforce reduction of approximately 2.5%), Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 29 September 2026
- Workday, Inc. Form 8-K (Item 2.05, reorganizations, about 2% of workforce), Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 4 February 2026
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2026, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 6 March 2026
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2025, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 11 March 2025
- Workday, Inc. Form 8-K (Item 2.05, restructuring plan, approximately 1,750 positions), Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 5 February 2025
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2024, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 8 March 2024
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2023, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 27 February 2023
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2022, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 28 February 2022
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2021, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 2 March 2021
- Workday, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2020, Workday, Inc., via SEC EDGAR, 3 March 2020
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many employees does Workday have in 2026?
Over 21,000 in 36 countries on January 31, 2026, the end of fiscal 2026, according to Workday's 10-K filed March 6, 2026. Workday hasn't published a total since. It has announced reductions of about 2% of its workforce (February 2026) and about 2.5% (September 2026), so the current figure is likely somewhat different; the fiscal 2027 10-K will give it.
How many people did Workday lay off?
On February 5, 2025 Workday announced the elimination of approximately 1,750 positions, or 8.5% of its workforce, with $230 million to $270 million of charges. It announced further reductions of about 2% of its workforce in February 2026, mainly in non-revenue customer operations roles, and about 2.5% in September 2026. The filings give percentages, not numbers, for the 2026 rounds.
How many Workday employees are in the US?
About 58% of over 21,000 employees at January 31, 2026, according to Workday's fiscal 2026 10-K, which is about 12,200 people by our arithmetic. The US share was about 63% a year earlier and about 65% at January 31, 2024. The other 42% work in Workday's 35 other countries; the filing doesn't give counts by country.
What is Workday's revenue per employee?
About $455,000 or a little less in fiscal 2026, by our calculation: revenue of $9,552 million divided by over 21,000 employees at January 31, 2026, both from the fiscal 2026 10-K. The same calculation gives about $414,000 or less for fiscal 2025 and about $338,000 for fiscal 2022. The 10-K says revenue growth has outpaced headcount growth.