Businesses in Georgia: 261,320 workplaces, Atlanta's headquarters and a logistics economy

Georgia's biggest companies move things: Home Depot, UPS, Delta, Genuine Parts and Norfolk Southern all report Atlanta headquarters, and transportation and warehousing employs a far larger share of Georgians than it does Americans overall. That makes the state as much a market of distribution centers and truck terminals as of office towers.

Market report6 min readPublished

Georgia had 261,320 business establishments with paid employees in 2023, seventh among states, employing 4,405,730 people, according to the Census Bureau; Fulton County had 40,949 of them. The largest companies headquartered in Georgia, by revenue in their latest 10-Ks, are Home Depot ($164.68 billion), UPS ($88.66 billion), Delta Air Lines ($63.36 billion), Coca-Cola ($47.94 billion) and Southern Company ($29.55 billion), all in Atlanta.

  • Transportation and warehousing employs 7.25% of Georgia's private workforce, against 4.68% nationally.
  • 12 of the 15 largest Georgia headquarters are in Atlanta; Aflac (Columbus), Mohawk (Calhoun) and AGCO (Duluth) are the exceptions.
  • Home Depot and UPS report about 472,400 and 460,000 employees, the largest workforces of any Georgia company.
  • Fulton, Gwinnett, Cobb and DeKalb counties hold 41.7% of the state's establishments.
  • Georgia has 272 warehouse establishments with 50 or more employees.
On this page

This page is for anyone who needs Georgia businesses: job seekers, suppliers looking for buyers, researchers and B2B sellers covering metro Atlanta, Savannah and the rest of the state. It covers the biggest headquarters, the Census count by county and sector, the freight economy that runs through both, where to check a business, and a worked example for selling to the state's warehouses.

The biggest companies headquartered in Georgia

The 15 largest SEC-registered public companies whose latest 10-K gives a Georgia principal executive office, by revenue in that filing:

RankCompanyHeadquartersRevenueEmployees, company-wide
1Home DepotAtlanta$164.68 billionabout 472,400
2UPSAtlanta$88.66 billionabout 460,000
3Delta Air LinesAtlanta$63.36 billionmore than 100,000
4Coca-ColaAtlanta$47.94 billionabout 65,900
5Southern CompanyAtlanta$29.55 billionnot stated as a total
6Genuine PartsAtlanta$24.30 billionmore than 65,000
7Asbury Automotive GroupAtlanta$18.00 billionabout 15,000
8PulteGroupAtlanta$17.31 billion6,506
9AflacColumbus$17.16 billionnot stated as a total
10AssurantAtlanta$12.81 billionabout 14,800
11Intercontinental ExchangeAtlanta$12.64 billion12,844
12Norfolk SouthernAtlanta$12.18 billion19,300
13Mohawk IndustriesCalhoun$10.79 billionabout 40,500
14AGCODuluth$10.08 billionabout 22,000
15Graphic PackagingAtlanta$8.62 billionmore than 23,000

All fiscal years ended in December 2025 except Home Depot's, which ended February 1, 2026. Intercontinental Exchange's figure is total revenues, before the transaction-based expenses it deducts in its own net measure. Together the 15 reported $538.10 billion. Global Payments ($7.71 billion) comes next.

Much of these companies' workforces is outside Georgia, and some mostly outside the US: Coca-Cola reports about 8,900 of its 65,900 employees in the US, while UPS reports 370,000 of its 460,000 there. The Metro Atlanta Chamber says 29 Fortune 500 and Fortune 1000 companies have headquarters or a presence in the region, and notes Assurant's move to Cobb County. For the metro itself, see companies in Atlanta.

How many businesses are in Georgia

MeasureGeorgia, 2023
Establishments261,320
Employees4,405,730
Annual payroll$280,396,900,000
Average employees per establishment16.9
Average annual pay$63,644
Share of US establishments3.13% (of 8,361,342)
Rank among states by establishments7
Employees at the establishmentEstablishments
1 to 4148,683
5 to 943,689
10 to 1931,078
20 to 4923,761
50 to 997,455
100 to 2494,593
250 to 4991,254
500 to 999494
1,000 or more313

In bands: 223,450 establishments with 1 to 19 employees, 31,216 with 20 to 99 and 6,654 with 100 or more. These are the Census Bureau's County Business Patterns (CBP) counts of locations with paid employees, across all sectors, for the pay period including March 12, 2023. They exclude the self-employed and government.

Where Georgia businesses are

CountyMain cityEstablishmentsEmployeesEmployees per site
FultonAtlanta40,949928,06822.7
GwinnettLawrenceville, Duluth27,653372,87313.5
CobbMarietta22,148376,11717.0
DeKalbDecatur18,258298,74716.4
ChathamSavannah9,037153,82417.0
ForsythCumming8,25387,27110.6
CherokeeCanton6,55067,42910.3
HallGainesville5,18192,38017.8
HenryMcDonough4,52865,40314.4
MuscogeeColumbus4,51078,97517.5

Fulton County alone has 21.1% of Georgia's private jobs. The four core metro Atlanta counties (Fulton, Gwinnett, Cobb and DeKalb) hold 41.7% of establishments, and fast-growing northern suburbs such as Forsyth and Cherokee are dominated by small businesses, at about 10 employees per site. Outside the metro, Chatham (Savannah) is the largest market.

What Georgia businesses do

Sector (NAICS)EstablishmentsEmployeesEmployees per siteAverage pay
Retail trade (44 to 45)35,820513,43414.3$35,396
Professional, scientific and technical services (54)33,198326,7249.8$101,301
Health care and social assistance (62)30,047586,19519.5$63,074
Construction (23)22,475216,9099.7$74,341
Finance and insurance (52)15,226202,82413.3$107,094
Administrative and support services (56)14,364430,97430.0$48,864
Wholesale trade (42)12,389219,97817.8$82,829
Transportation and warehousing (48 to 49)9,385319,35334.0$63,200
Manufacturing (31 to 33)7,874409,33352.0$62,730
Management of companies (55)1,505128,41585.3$132,303

Average pay and employees per site are our calculations from CBP payroll and counts. Transportation and warehousing has only 9,385 establishments but 319,353 jobs, 7.25% of the state's total against 4.68% across the US, and its sites average 34.0 employees. Warehousing and storage alone had 1,037 establishments and 108,795 employees, a figure the Census Bureau flags as moderately affected by the noise it adds for confidentiality. Management of companies, the Census category for head offices, employs 2.91% of Georgia's workers, slightly above the national 2.76%.

How to look up a Georgia business

SourceWhat it's good for
Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionThe official register of corporations and LLCs, with status, registered agent and annual registrations
SEC EDGAR, Georgia filers10-Ks for the state's public companies, including headcount and segments
Metro Atlanta ChamberRegional business data, key industries and headquarters announcements
Georgia Ports AuthorityPort of Savannah and Brunswick operations, investment plans and economic impact releases

The Secretary of State's search is the first check on any Georgia company: confirm the legal name, that the entity is active and current on its annual registration, and who its registered agent is.

Prospecting Georgia's warehouses and freight terminals

Distribution centers and truck terminals buy maintenance and equipment services constantly: dock doors and levelers, forklifts, racking inspections, conveyors and fire protection. The site general manager or maintenance manager usually decides, within budgets set regionally.

Illustrative example. The company, rates and results are fictional, to show the method.

Peach State Dock & Door (peachstatedock.example) repairs and services loading dock equipment.

  • Warehousing and storage establishments with 50 or more employees in Georgia: 103 + 92 + 37 + 23 + 17 = 272.
  • General freight trucking establishments with 50 to 999 employees add 121 + 69 + 26 + 5 = 221 (the 1,000-plus band isn't published).
  • It assumes 60% are within its service areas around Atlanta and Savannah: about 296 sites.
  • Signing 5% a year to preventive maintenance contracts would add about 15 sites.

It targets maintenance managers and site general managers, and times outreach to the end of the summer peak and before the holiday shipping season, when a broken door costs the most. Sorting which of 296 sites are owner-operated and which are run by third-party logistics firms with national contracts is the research Bebop does for each account.

Email to a maintenance manager at a Georgia distribution center
Subject: Dock doors at [site] before peak

Hi [first name],

A dock door or leveler that fails in November usually means a trailer you can't unload and a repair crew you can't get for three days.

We service dock equipment at distribution centers from [Savannah / McDonough / Fairburn] with a 24-hour response and a preventive maintenance visit each quarter. Could I send a quote for [site]'s doors and levelers ahead of peak?

[Your name], Peach State Dock & Door

Next step: go deeper on the state's freight sector in trucking companies in Georgia.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many businesses are in Georgia?

The Census Bureau counted 261,320 business establishments with paid employees in Georgia in 2023, seventh among states, employing 4,405,730 people with $280.4 billion in payroll. Fulton County had 40,949 of them. These figures count locations, not companies, and leave out self-employed people and government employers, so the number of registered businesses is much higher.

What are the biggest companies in Georgia?

By revenue in their latest 10-K filings, the largest companies headquartered in Georgia are Home Depot ($164.68 billion for the year to February 2026), UPS ($88.66 billion), Delta Air Lines ($63.36 billion), Coca-Cola ($47.94 billion) and Southern Company ($29.55 billion), all in Atlanta. Genuine Parts, Asbury Automotive, PulteGroup, Aflac and Assurant complete the top ten.

Which Georgia companies have the most employees?

By company-wide headcount in their 10-Ks, Home Depot (about 472,400 associates) and UPS (about 460,000 employees, 370,000 of them in the US) are the largest, followed by Delta Air Lines (more than 100,000), Coca-Cola (about 65,900) and Genuine Parts (more than 65,000). These are worldwide figures, not Georgia headcounts.

How do I look up a business in Georgia?

Search the Georgia Secretary of State's Corporations Division records to confirm a company's legal name, whether it's active and current on its annual registration, and its registered agent. Licensed professions and trades are checked separately with the relevant state licensing board. For public companies, SEC EDGAR has annual reports with headquarters, revenue and headcount.

Which Georgia county has the most businesses?

Fulton County, home to most of Atlanta, with 40,949 establishments and 928,068 employees in 2023, 21.1% of the state's private jobs. Gwinnett County is second with 27,653 establishments, Cobb third with 22,148 and DeKalb fourth with 18,258. Outside metro Atlanta, Chatham County, home to Savannah, is largest with 9,037.

Find the Georgia businesses that buy what you sell

Describe the companies you want, from Savannah distribution centers to Atlanta headquarters. Bebop finds them and the people to contact.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in