Concrete companies in Utah: 590 contractors, 47 plants and how small crews should compare suppliers

Utah has more than twelve concrete contractor locations for every ready-mix plant, and most of the contractors are small: 350 of 590 have fewer than five employees. That makes the plant relationship, and the price of a short load, matter more here than in most states.

Market report5 min readPublished

Utah had 637 concrete establishments in 2023, employing 6,215 people (Census County Business Patterns): 590 poured concrete contractors and 47 ready-mix plants, 18th among states. Salt Lake County had 173, Utah County 105 and Washington County 69. Utah licenses contractors at state level through the Division of Professional Licensing, so check the license and its classification in DOPL's lookup. The Utah Ready Mixed Concrete Association lists 12 producer members, a starting point for comparing plants.

  • 637 concrete establishments in Utah employ 6,215 people on a $442.5 million payroll.
  • Contractors average 8.8 employees per location; 350 of 590 have fewer than five.
  • Ready-mix plants pay $89,514 on average, about $21,900 more than contractors.
  • Washington County (St. George) has 69 contractor locations and no published ready-mix row.
  • CRH bought Eco Material, a South Jordan supplier of cement substitutes, for $2.07 billion in 2025.
On this page

This report is for Utah builders, homeowners and property managers hiring a concrete contractor or choosing a supplier, and for B2B sellers whose customers are concrete firms: ready-mix producers looking for accounts, equipment dealers, insurers and software vendors.

The state in Census data

Figures for Utah, combining NAICS 238110 (Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors) and NAICS 327320 (Ready-Mix Concrete Manufacturing). Source: US Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023.

Measure (2023)Utah
Establishments637
Employees (week of March 12)6,215
Annual payroll$442,491,000
Average employees per establishment9.8
Average annual pay$71,197
Share of US establishments2.14% of 29,706
Rank among states by establishments18th
Industry (2023)EstablishmentsRank among statesEmployeesAnnual payrollAverage pay
Concrete contractors (238110)59014th5,193$351,008,000$67,593
Ready-mix plants (327320)4734th1,022$91,483,000$89,514

Utah ranks 14th for concrete contractors but 34th for ready-mix plants: 12.6 contractor locations per plant.

Employees per locationBoth codesContractorsReady-mix
1 to 436735017
5 to 91391309
10 to 1967625
20 to 4940337
50 to 991789
100 or more7 (derived)7 (derived)0 (derived)

The 100-or-more figures are totals less the published classes; the Census Bureau doesn't publish those classes here. In bands, 573 locations have fewer than 20 employees, 57 have 20 to 99 and 7 have 100 or more, all of them contractors.

The counts are of payroll locations, not firms; one-person operators with no employees aren't in them.

Where in Utah

CountyEstablishmentsContractors (employees)Ready-mix (employees)
Salt Lake173163 (1,499)10 (447)
Utah10598 (1,021)7 (148)
Washington6969 (415)Not published
Weber5151 (295)Not published
Davis5148 (503)3 (not reported, high-noise)
Cache3838 (153)Not published
Iron2828 (442)Not published
Box Elder2323 (not reported, high-noise)Not published

Employee figures flagged by the Census Bureau as high-noise (its confidentiality noise moved them by 5% or more) are left out. County rows with fewer than three ready-mix plants aren't published, which is why only 23 of the 47 plants appear by county. By metro, Salt Lake City-Murray has 190 locations (11 plants), Ogden 110, Provo-Orem-Lehi 107 and St. George 69.

Who supplies Utah's concrete

The Utah Ready Mixed Concrete Association's directory shows 12 producer members, among them Geneva Rock, Jack B. Parson Companies, Amrize and CalPortland, plus 35 associate members from admixture makers to equipment dealers. No SEC-registered listed concrete company is headquartered in Utah, but several report Utah operations:

  • CRH acquired Eco Material, a supplier of supplementary cementitious materials such as fly ash, headquartered in South Jordan, on 15 September 2025 for $2,066 million net of cash (its 2025 10-K).
  • Eagle Materials' Mountain Cement plant in Laramie, Wyoming serves Utah through a Salt Lake City terminal.
  • Martin Marietta's West division, which supplies aggregates, includes Utah.

Checking a contractor

Utah licenses contractors at state level through the Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), and its license lookup covers every licensed contractor. DOPL's own classification pages didn't load for our automated check, so we haven't listed the concrete classification codes here; read the classification shown on the license and ask whether it covers your job. Then:

  1. Confirm the license is active in DOPL's lookup and that the name matches your contract.
  2. Ask for insurance certificates and whether the firm carries workers' compensation.
  3. Ask which plant supplies the mix and the strength on the ticket.
  4. Get thickness, reinforcement and base in writing.

Worked example: comparing plants on a small pour

Illustrative example. Prices and fees are invented to show the arithmetic.

A three-person Provo crew orders 6 yards for a garage slab and compares two plants.

Plant APlant B
Price per yard$162$171
Short-load fee$175 (loads under 8 yards)None above 4 yards
Extra time on site (20 minutes over allowance)$60$45
Delivered cost$972 + $175 + $60 = $1,207$1,026 + $0 + $45 = $1,071
Per yard delivered$201$179

The cheaper yard price is $22 a yard more expensive once the short-load fee lands. With most Utah crews this small, short-load and standby terms matter more than the posted price. Ask every plant for both.

Selling to Utah concrete firms

Contractors are numerous and small, so the owner decides and buys simply; plants are few, so each plant relationship is worth a lot. A producer selling into Utah has 590 contractor locations to win and 47 existing plants to compete with. For working with owner-run firms, see how to sell to small businesses. Bebop can find Utah concrete firms that match a description and research each one.

Illustrative example. A ready-mix producer opening a plant in Utah County (timpmix.example) targets the county's 98 contractor locations. At a 15% reply rate that's about 15 conversations; ten accounts averaging 600 yards a year at $165 a yard is $990,000 in annual sales.

Email to a Utah County concrete contractor
Subject: Short loads without the short-load fee

Hi [first name],

Most of [Company]'s pours are probably under 8 yards, which is where short-load and standby fees add up.

Our new plant in [city] has no short-load fee above 4 yards and gives 10 minutes a yard of free unloading time.

Want our price sheet for your next few pours?

[Your name]

Sources for names

SourceWhat it gives you
URMCA member directoryProducer and associate members
DOPL license lookupLicense status for every contractor
AGC of UtahCommercial and highway contractors
Salt Lake Home Builders AssociationHomebuilders who hire concrete subs
UDOT contractor resourcesState highway work and prequalification

Next step: for the wider builder market in the state, read the report on construction companies in Utah.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many concrete companies are there in Utah?

Census County Business Patterns counted 637 concrete establishments in Utah in 2023: 590 poured concrete contractors and 47 ready-mix plants, employing 6,215 people. Salt Lake County had 173, Utah County 105 and Washington County 69. Utah ranked 18th among states by concrete establishments. The count covers only locations with paid employees, so solo operators aren't included.

Do concrete contractors need a license in Utah?

Yes. Utah licenses contractors at state level through the Division of Professional Licensing, which issues general and specialty classifications. Look up the contractor in DOPL's license lookup, confirm the license is active and the business name matches your contract, and check that the classification shown covers concrete work. Ask for insurance certificates as well.

Who are the ready-mix suppliers in Utah?

Census data counted 47 ready-mix establishments in Utah in 2023. The Utah Ready Mixed Concrete Association's directory lists 12 producer members, including Geneva Rock, Jack B. Parson Companies, Amrize and CalPortland. On the cement side, Eagle Materials serves Utah from its Laramie, Wyoming plant through a Salt Lake City terminal, and CRH owns South Jordan-based Eco Material.

What is a short-load fee on ready-mix concrete?

It's a charge a plant adds when an order is below a minimum load, often several yards, because the truck makes the same trip for less concrete. On a small pour it can change which plant is cheaper: in this report's illustrative 6-yard order, a $175 fee turned the lower yard price into the higher delivered cost. Ask each plant for its short-load and standby terms.

Find the Utah concrete firms that fit your offer

Describe the crews or plants you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies, explains why each fits and drafts the first email.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in