Short answer
The Minneapolis-St. Paul metro had 10,456 construction establishments with paid employees in 2023, employing 100,656 people with $9.52 billion in annual payroll, according to Census County Business Patterns. Hennepin County has 2,825. Average pay is $94,574. Minnesota licenses residential builders, remodelers and roofers through the Department of Labor and Industry, and registers commercial and single-trade contractors; both files can be searched or downloaded free.
- 10,456 construction establishments and 100,656 employees across the 15-county metro in 2023; average pay $94,574.
- 77 power and communication line contractors employ 11,380 people, 148 per establishment and 11% of the metro's construction jobs.
- Minnesota's DLI file lists 6,186 active residential building contractor licenses and 9,941 contractor registrations with a metro business address.
- Public projects over $50,000 require every contractor and subcontractor to pass Minnesota's responsible contractor test.
- Minneapolis issued 3,955 commercial building permits worth $1.03 billion in 2025, 2,851 of them remodels.
On this page
This report is for homeowners and developers choosing a contractor in the Twin Cities, general contractors looking for subcontractors, people weighing a job or an acquisition, and B2B sellers whose customers are builders and trades. It covers the Census count, Minnesota's two contractor files, the public-project rules and Minneapolis permit data.
The Twin Cities market in one table
US Census Bureau County Business Patterns (CBP) 2023, construction sector (NAICS 23), Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI Metro Area (CBSA 33460):
| Measure | Twin Cities metro, 2023 |
|---|---|
| Construction establishments | 10,456 |
| Employees | 100,656 |
| Annual payroll | $9,519,421,000 |
| Average employees per establishment | 9.6 |
| Average annual pay | $94,574 |
| Share of US construction establishments | 1.28% (of 814,557) |
That average is about $18,000 higher than the $76,580 national construction figure, by our calculation from the CBP state files. Minnesota as a whole ranks third among states for construction pay, behind Alaska and Massachusetts.
Heavy civil: the power line cluster
| Type of work (NAICS) | Establishments | Employees | Per establishment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power and communication line construction (237130) | 77 | 11,380 | 147.8 |
| Highway, street and bridge (2373) | 106 | 4,479 | 42.3 |
| Water and sewer line (237110) | 119 | 886 | 7.4 |
| Commercial and institutional builders (236220) | 376 | 7,287 | 19.4 |
| For-sale homebuilders (236117) | 157 | 1,422 | 9.1 |
| New single-family general contractors (236115) | 478 | 1,810 | 3.8 |
| Residential remodelers (236118) | 2,078 | 6,917 | 3.3 |
| Plumbing, heating and air conditioning (238220) | 1,015 | 12,976 | 12.8 |
| Electrical contractors (238210) | 795 | 12,186 | 15.3 |
| Building finishing: drywall, painting, flooring, tile, carpentry (2383) | 2,112 | 14,650 | 6.9 |
| Roofing (238160) | 398 | 2,791 | 7.0 |
| Site preparation (238910) | 431 | 3,748 | 8.7 |
Nationally, power and communication line contractors average 41 employees per establishment. In the Twin Cities they average 148, which means a handful of large line contractors run big crews out of the metro and work across the region. Heavy and civil construction as a whole (387 establishments) employs 19,604 people, slightly more than every builder of homes and commercial buildings combined (19,043). Two smaller heavy civil rows, oil and gas pipelines and "other" heavy civil, have employee totals the Census Bureau flags as high-noise, so they're not reported here.
Fifteen counties, two states
| County | Establishments | Employees |
|---|---|---|
| Hennepin County, Minnesota | 2,825 | 36,847 |
| Anoka County, Minnesota | 1,392 | 9,948 |
| Dakota County, Minnesota | 1,142 | 12,402 |
| Ramsey County, Minnesota | 885 | 11,527 |
| Wright County, Minnesota | 766 | 5,123 |
| Washington County, Minnesota | 714 | 9,196 |
| Scott County, Minnesota | 637 | 5,276 |
| Sherburne County, Minnesota | 530 | 2,612 |
| Carver County, Minnesota | 386 | 2,360 |
| St. Croix County, Wisconsin | 342 | 2,161 |
Anoka County has more establishments than Dakota or Ramsey but fewer employees: it's a county of small residential and trade firms. The metro also includes four smaller Minnesota counties (Chisago, Isanti, Le Sueur and Mille Lacs) and Pierce County, Wisconsin (89 establishments). Wisconsin contractors fall under Wisconsin's rules, not Minnesota's.
Size
| Employees per establishment | Establishments |
|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 7,484 |
| 5 to 9 | 1,298 |
| 10 to 19 | 791 |
| 20 to 49 | 549 |
| 50 to 99 | 188 |
| 100 to 249 | 116 |
| 250 to 499 | 17 |
| 500 to 999 | 10 |
| 1,000 or more | 3 |
That's 9,573 establishments (91.6%) with 1 to 19 employees, 737 with 20 to 99 and 146 with 100 or more. CBP counts locations with paid employees, not companies, and leaves out the self-employed; employment is for the pay period including March 12, 2023.
Minnesota's two contractor files
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) splits contractors in two:
- Residential licenses. Anyone who contracts with a homeowner to build or improve a dwelling offering more than one special skill needs a residential building contractor or remodeler license; roofers have their own license.
- Contractor registration. Contractors offering one specialty on residential projects, and contractors on commercial projects who don't hold a residential license, register instead. Electricians, plumbers and other licensed trades hold their own DLI licenses.
DLI publishes both files as nightly CSV exports with business name, address, license number, status and dates. In the exports we downloaded on 30 October 2026, records with an "Issued" status and a business address in the metro's Minnesota and Wisconsin counties (matched by ZIP code) included:
| DLI file | Active statewide | With a metro address |
|---|---|---|
| Residential building contractor licenses | 10,977 | 6,186 |
| Residential remodeler licenses | 427 | 288 |
| Residential roofer licenses | 138 | 57 |
| Contractor registrations | 15,265 | 9,941 |
Together that's more than 16,000 active licenses and registrations with metro addresses, against 10,456 CBP establishments, because the DLI files include owner-operators with no payroll. To vet a firm, look it up in DLI's iMS license search, confirm the status and license type match the job, and check the enforcement column.
Public jobs: the responsible contractor test
On a publicly owned or financed project with a prime contract estimated above $50,000, Minnesota law requires the prime contractor to verify under oath that it meets the responsible contractor criteria: workers' compensation and unemployment insurance in order, required tax registrations, no prevailing wage or misclassification violations in the past three years, and no current suspension or debarment. Every subcontractor must meet the same criteria regardless of the subcontract's size, and primes must list their first-tier subs. For a seller, a firm that bids public work has already assembled its compliance paperwork, which makes it a likely buyer of payroll, safety and document tools.
What Minneapolis permits show
The City of Minneapolis publishes its construction permits on its open data portal with type, work type, stated value, applicant and location. For permits issued in 2025:
| Permits issued in 2025 | Permits | Stated value |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial remodels | 2,851 | $619.1 million |
| Commercial new buildings | 27 | $182.0 million |
| Commercial roof and window work | 1,032 | $144.4 million |
| Commercial additions | 42 | $89.3 million |
| Residential (all work types) | 10,240 | $265.4 million |
| Mechanical | 10,048 | $172.6 million |
| Plumbing | 14,981 | Not stated |
Minneapolis is a remodeling city: commercial remodels carry more than three times the value of new commercial buildings, and only 75 residential permits were for new construction. The applicant field often names the contractor, so the file doubles as a list of who is active.
Selling to Twin Cities contractors
| Size band | Establishments | Who usually decides |
|---|---|---|
| 1 to 19 employees | 9,573 | The owner |
| 20 to 99 employees | 737 | Owner with an operations or project manager |
| 100 or more | 146 | Fleet, safety, procurement and preconstruction leaders |
Winter shapes the buying calendar. Site, concrete and masonry crews buy heat, ground thaw and enclosures from October; residential firms plan spring work over the winter, which is when they have time to take a call. When you have the firms, our guide to finding decision makers helps you find the person who signs.
Illustrative example. North Star Thaw, its rates and its win rate are invented; the counts are from CBP 2023.
North Star Thaw (northstarthaw.example) rents ground-thaw units and temporary heat. Its targets are concrete (256 establishments), site preparation (431), masonry (276) and commercial builders (376): 1,339 accounts. If 40% are large enough to pour or dig through winter, that's about 536. Winning 10% (54 accounts) at five units for eight weeks at $650 a unit-week is about $1.4 million a season. The research that matters is which of the 536 have foundations scheduled for November. Describe that list in a sentence and Bebop finds the firms and writes a playbook for each one.
Where to find names
| Source | What it gives you |
|---|---|
| DLI license and registration lookup | iMS search plus free CSV exports of every license and registration |
| DLI contractor registration | Who must register and the registration export |
| Minneapolis CCS permits | City permits with type, value, applicant and location |
| AGC of Minnesota | Building and highway contractors statewide, with a member directory |
For the rest of the state, see Minnesota construction companies; for the design side, the Minneapolis architecture firms report.
Next step: segment the Twin Cities list by trade and size with the construction companies industry guide.
Sources
- County Business Patterns 2023, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- Residential contractors, remodelers and roofers, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, accessed 30 October 2026
- Construction contractor registration, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, accessed 30 October 2026
- License and registration lookup and data exports, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, exports downloaded 30 October 2026
- Minnesota Statutes section 16C.285, Responsible contractor requirements, Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, accessed 30 October 2026
- CCS Permits, City of Minneapolis Open Data, accessed 30 October 2026
- AGC of Minnesota, Associated General Contractors of Minnesota, accessed 30 October 2026
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many construction companies are in Minneapolis?
The US Census Bureau counted 10,456 construction establishments with paid employees in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area in 2023, employing 100,656 people, including 2,825 in Hennepin County. Minnesota's licensing files are larger: in October 2026 they listed 6,186 active residential building contractor licenses and 9,941 contractor registrations with metro addresses, because they include owner-operators with no employees.
How do I check if a contractor is licensed in Minnesota?
Use the Department of Labor and Industry's iMS lookup: continue as a guest and search by name or license number. Residential builders and remodelers who offer more than one special skill need a residential license; single-trade and commercial contractors register instead. Check that the status is active and the license type fits your job, and look at the enforcement action field before you sign.
Do commercial contractors need a license in Minnesota?
Minnesota doesn't issue a commercial general contractor license, but contractors on commercial projects who don't hold a residential license must register with the Department of Labor and Industry, and trades such as electrical and plumbing need their own DLI licenses. On public projects over $50,000, every contractor and subcontractor must also meet the state's responsible contractor criteria.
Why is construction pay so high in Minneapolis?
Average annual pay at Twin Cities construction establishments was $94,574 in 2023, about $18,000 above the national construction average, according to County Business Patterns. Part of the reason is the mix: heavy civil firms, including power line contractors that employ 11,380 people locally, pay more than residential trades. Minnesota statewide ranks third among states for construction pay.
Where can I find building permits in Minneapolis?
The City of Minneapolis publishes construction permits on its open data portal, with permit type, work type, stated value, applicant and location. In 2025 the city issued 3,955 commercial building permits worth $1.03 billion and 10,240 residential permits worth $265.4 million. For St. Paul and the suburbs, check each city's own permit records.