Energy companies in Florida: the utilities, who serves your address, and the state's power industry

Florida's energy companies are its electric utilities, and unlike in Texas you don't get to choose one: the address decides. That makes the useful questions which utility serves a place, how big each one is and who hires, and the answers are all in public data.

Market report5 min readPublished

Florida's energy companies are mostly electric utilities, and customers can't choose among them: each address is served by one utility under territorial and franchise arrangements. Four investor-owned utilities serve 8.9 million customer accounts, led by Florida Power & Light (6,013,740) and Duke Energy Florida (2,037,985), with 32 city utilities and 16 co-ops reporting the rest (EIA, 2025). Census counts 808 electric power, oil and gas and pipeline establishments in the state, 704 of them in electric power.

  • Florida Power & Light alone has 6,013,740 customer accounts, about half the state's total, and operates 39,924 MW of the state's 79,936 MW of capacity.
  • Florida law gives the Public Service Commission power to approve utilities' territorial agreements and settle disputes between them.
  • Electric power is 704 of Florida's 808 energy establishments, with 25,073 employees at average pay of $134,463 (Census, 2023).
  • NextEra Energy of Juno Beach reported $27.41 billion of operating revenues for 2025 and about 17,400 employees.
  • Natural gas fueled over seven-tenths of Florida's generation in 2025, and solar 11% (EIA).
On this page

This report is for Floridians trying to work out which energy company serves them, for job seekers comparing the state's utilities, and for B2B sellers whose customers are utilities, power plant operators and the solar fleet.

Why you can't choose your electric company in Florida

Florida has no retail electricity market. Each address is served by one utility, set by geography rather than by shopping:

  • Territory is regulated. Florida Statutes section 366.04 gives the Public Service Commission power to approve territorial agreements between co-ops, city utilities and other electric utilities, to resolve territorial disputes, and to prescribe a rate structure for all electric utilities. It also charges the commission with avoiding "uneconomic duplication" of generation, transmission and distribution facilities.
  • Investor-owned utilities hold franchises. NextEra's 2025 10-K says Florida Power & Light serves retail customers mainly under franchise agreements with cities and counties, typically 30 years long, during which the city or county agrees not to form its own utility. FPL held 226 of them at the end of 2025.

If you're moving, find out which utility serves the address. There's no competitor to switch to if you dislike the rates: FPL's base rates through 2029, for example, come from a settlement the commission approved in January 2026, according to NextEra's 10-K.

Who serves Florida

EIA's 2025 utility survey (Form EIA-861) counts the utilities that sold electricity to Florida customers:

Utility typeNumber reportingCustomer accounts
Investor-owned48,943,736
City-owned (municipal)321,639,514
Electric cooperatives161,401,811

The trade groups count a little differently. The Florida Municipal Electric Association says Florida has 33 municipal electric utilities serving 1.6 million customers, and Florida's Electric Cooperatives lists 18 member co-ops (16 that serve homes and businesses, plus two generation and transmission co-ops, PowerSouth and Seminole) serving about 2.7 million Floridians in 57 of the state's 67 counties.

Largest utilities by customer accounts, 2025TypeAccounts
Florida Power & LightInvestor-owned (NextEra Energy)6,013,740
Duke Energy FloridaInvestor-owned (Duke Energy)2,037,985
Tampa ElectricInvestor-owned (Emera)861,413
JEA (Jacksonville)City-owned540,950
Orlando Utilities CommissionCity-owned288,492
Lee County Electric CooperativeCo-op267,019
Sumter Electric CooperativeCo-op264,730
Withlacoochee River Electric CooperativeCo-op255,506

Tampa Electric's 10-K describes it as an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of Emera Inc., serving about 866,000 customers in a 2,000-square-mile area of West Central Florida. Florida Public Utilities, the fourth investor-owned utility, had 30,598 accounts.

Florida's energy industry in Census data

County Business Patterns 2023 counts establishments in electric power generation, transmission and distribution (NAICS 2211), oil and gas extraction (211) and pipeline transportation (486) in Florida:

Measure (2023)Florida
Establishments808
Rank among states5
Share of US establishments3.77% of 21,437
EmployeesNot reported (high-noise figure)
Annual payrollNot reported (high-noise figure)
Establishments with 1 to 4 employees409
Larger size classesNot published

The employee total exists but the Census Bureau flagged it as high-noise (its confidentiality noise moved the value by 5% or more), so we don't report it. The flag comes from pipelines:

Segment (NAICS)EstablishmentsEmployeesAverage annual pay
Electric power (2211)70425,073$134,463
Pipeline transportation (486)83Not reported (high-noise figure)Not reported
Oil and gas extraction (211)2145Not calculated

Average pay is payroll divided by employees, our calculation. Florida is a power state, not a production state: EIA's profile puts 2025 crude output at 800,000 barrels, under 0.1% of the US total, and Florida has no refineries. As with all CBP data, the count is of establishments with paid employees rather than companies, and it excludes the self-employed and head offices, which are filed under management of companies.

How Florida makes its power

EIA's state profile (updated April 16, 2026) says Florida is the second-largest electricity producer after Texas, with natural gas fueling over seven-tenths of 2025 generation, nuclear second from two plants on the Atlantic coast, and solar 11%. Homes use more than half the state's electricity, the largest residential share of any state.

EIA's 2025 generator survey (Form EIA-860, final data released September 10, 2026) lists 331 plants with 79,936 MW of capacity, run by 97 operators: 69.2% natural gas, 15.4% solar, 4.9% nuclear and 4.6% coal. FPL operates 39,924 MW of it.

PlantOperator (EIA-860)CountyMW
West County Energy CenterFlorida Power & LightPalm Beach4,263
Crystal RiverDuke Energy FloridaCitrus3,449
Turkey PointFlorida Power & LightMiami-Dade2,978
ManateeFlorida Power & LightManatee2,951
Fort MyersFlorida Power & LightLee2,681

Public energy companies headquartered in Florida

The data file lists 9 SEC-registered listed companies in these industries with a Florida address, three of them waste firms in the utility code range. Two matter for scale, both in Juno Beach:

CompanyRevenue, 2025Employees, end of 2025
NextEra Energy$27.41 billion operating revenues ($18.26 billion at FPL)About 17,400 (about 9,400 at FPL, 7,900 at NextEra Energy Resources)
XPLR Infrastructure$1.19 billionNone of its own; managed by NextEra affiliates

Tampa Electric also files a 10-K, for its debt, and reports 2,601 employees, substantially all in Florida. Duke Energy Florida reports inside Duke Energy's combined 10-K. For job seekers, the city utilities and co-ops are the next tier of employers, and the municipal association's website runs a career center for its members.

Selling to Florida utilities and plant operators

BuyerWho decidesWhat they buy
Investor-owned utilitiesSupply chain and category managersGrid hardening, storm restoration, vegetation, meters, through supplier registration
City utilities and co-opsGeneral manager, operations director, board for big contractsLine work, outage systems, billing, generation support
Solar and gas plant ownersAsset managers and O&M managersInspection, maintenance, monitoring

Illustrative example. The seller and its rates are invented; plant counts are from EIA-860.

Sawgrass Aerial (sawgrass.example) inspects solar plants by drone. EIA-860 lists 213 solar plants in Florida with 12,301 MW, run by 41 operators. FPL runs 110 of them and buys through procurement, so Sawgrass starts with the other 103 plants and 40 operators: Tampa Electric with 28, Duke Energy Florida with 27, and independent owners with the rest. An asset manager and an O&M manager at each operator gives about 80 contacts; at a 6% reply rate that's 5 conversations, and a single fleet contract would justify the year. Bebop researches each operator in a list like this and drafts the first email; the guide to finding decision makers covers who to look for.

Email to a solar asset manager
Subject: Thermal scans for [plant name]

Hi [first name],

EIA lists [plant name] in [county] at [capacity] MW, online since [year].

Florida's heat and storms are hard on modules and combiners, and a hot spot found by drone costs less than one found by a failed string. We fly and report a [capacity] MW site in [number] days.

Would it help to see a sample report from a plant your size?

[Your name]

Next step: compare Florida's utilities with the rest of the country in the list of the largest utility companies.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

Can I choose my electric company in Florida?

No. Florida has no retail electricity choice: each address is served by one utility, whether an investor-owned company such as Florida Power & Light, a city utility or an electric cooperative. Florida law gives the Public Service Commission authority over territorial agreements and disputes between utilities, and FPL serves most customers under long franchise agreements with cities and counties.

What is the largest energy company in Florida?

Florida Power & Light, owned by NextEra Energy of Juno Beach, had 6,013,740 customer accounts in 2025 according to EIA, about half the state's total, and operates 39,924 MW of generating capacity in Florida. NextEra reported $27.41 billion of operating revenues for 2025 in its 10-K, $18.26 billion of it at FPL, and about 17,400 employees.

How many electric utilities are in Florida?

EIA's 2025 survey shows 4 investor-owned utilities, 32 city utilities and 16 electric cooperatives selling electricity to Florida customers. The trade associations count 33 municipal utilities and 18 co-ops, the latter including two generation and transmission co-ops. The investor-owned four are Florida Power & Light, Duke Energy Florida, Tampa Electric and Florida Public Utilities.

Who are the biggest energy employers in Florida?

From their 10-K filings, Florida Power & Light had about 9,400 employees at the end of 2025 and Tampa Electric 2,601, substantially all in Florida. NextEra Energy, FPL's parent, had about 17,400 in total. Census counts 25,073 people working in electric power across 704 Florida establishments in 2023, at average pay of $134,463.

Find the Florida utilities and plant owners that fit your offer

Describe the utilities, co-ops or plant operators you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies, explains why each fits and drafts the first email.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in