Energy companies in Texas: the electricity market, the industry's size and the companies that run it

Most Texas homes buy electricity from a retailer that owns none of the wires, which is why the phrase "energy companies in Texas" usually means retail electricity providers. The same phrase also describes the country's largest energy industry, and both are mapped below from regulator and federal data.

Market report6 min readPublished

Texas electricity comes from four kinds of seller: 88 retail electric providers in the competitive areas, 67 electric cooperatives, 72 city utilities and four investor-owned utilities outside the competitive market (EIA, 2025). In the competitive areas, delivery companies such as Oncor and CenterPoint own the lines. As an industry, Texas has 3,934 electric power, oil and gas extraction and pipeline establishments, 18.35% of the US total and the most of any state (Census, 2023).

  • Retail providers served 8,099,866 Texas customers in 2025; co-ops served 3,002,639 and city utilities 2,244,553 (EIA-861).
  • Oncor's lines reach 4,084,796 customers and CenterPoint's 2,858,029, the two largest delivery systems in the state.
  • Texans filed 3,990 complaints about 63 different retail providers with the Public Utility Commission in 2025; billing was the top issue.
  • Texas has 1,023 power plants with 195,966 MW of capacity run by 518 operators (EIA-860, 2025).
  • Average pay in Texas oil and gas extraction is $224,084 and in electric power $131,077 (Census, 2023).
On this page

This report is for Texans working out who supplies their electricity, for job seekers and analysts mapping the state's energy employers, and for B2B sellers whose customers are utilities, power producers, retail providers or oil and gas companies. Oil and gas get their own reports, linked below; this one centers on power.

How electricity is sold in Texas

The grid operator, ERCOT, runs the main Texas grid, which EIA says covers about 75% of the state's land area, 90% of its electric load and 27 million customers. Who sells you power depends on who owns the lines at your address:

Seller type (EIA-861, 2025)NumberCustomers servedCan customers choose a provider?
Retail electric providers (REPs)888,099,866Yes, in the competitive areas
Electric cooperatives673,002,639Generally no
City-owned utilities722,244,553Generally no
Investor-owned utilities outside competition (Entergy Texas, El Paso Electric, Southwestern Public Service, SWEPCO)41,367,357No

Customers here are accounts, not people. NRG's 2025 10-K describes the boundary: competitive retail serves most of the ERCOT load, except areas served by city utilities and co-ops that haven't opted into competition. The four investor-owned utilities in the last row sell and deliver power themselves, all on grids outside ERCOT.

In the competitive areas, a delivery company owns the wires and bills the REP, not you:

Delivery companyCustomers on its lines, 2025
Oncor Electric Delivery4,084,796
CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric2,858,029
AEP Texas Central929,438
Texas-New Mexico Power281,982
AEP Texas North201,422
Lubbock (city utility)109,490

Lubbock's city utility is on the list because EIA reports it as a delivery company for competing REPs. Oncor's 10-K says its distribution customers were more than 100 REPs at the end of 2025.

The largest retail providers

EIA reports each REP by legal entity, so one parent's brands show up separately. These are the ten with the most Texas homes in 2025:

Retail provider (EIA name)Texas residential customersParent, where its 10-K says
Reliant Energy Retail Services1,545,510NRG Energy
TXU Energy Retail Co1,442,516Vistra
Just Energy437,966Not checked
US Retailers416,504Not checked
Ambit Energy Holdings364,649Vistra
Gexa Energy310,726Not checked
Green Mountain Energy273,660NRG Energy
Direct Energy Services259,458NRG Energy
Value Based Brands (4Change, Express, Veteran Energy)245,378Vistra
Champion Energy Services218,102Not checked

Size tells you who's big, not who's cheap or good. What you pay depends on the plan, and the commission's rule 16 TAC §25.475 makes every REP publish an Electricity Facts Label with the average price at 500, 1,000 and 2,000 kWh and any cancellation fee. The Office of Public Utility Counsel points shoppers to the commission's Power to Choose website (powertochoose.org).

The commission's complaint records, published on the Texas Open Data Portal, are the best check on a provider's record. In 2025 they show 3,990 complaints about 63 different REPs and 2,025 about delivery companies. Billing led the REP complaints (1,906), followed by provision of service (860), disconnection (735) and slamming, a switch you didn't authorize (375). Delivery complaints were mostly about service quality (775) and meters (647).

The Texas energy industry in Census data

County Business Patterns 2023 counts establishments in electric power generation, transmission and distribution (NAICS 2211), oil and gas extraction (211) and pipeline transportation (486):

Measure (2023)Texas
Establishments3,934
Rank among states1
Share of US establishments18.35% of 21,437
EmployeesNot reported (high-noise figure)
Annual payrollNot reported (high-noise figure)

The Census Bureau flagged the employee and payroll totals as high-noise, meaning the noise it adds for confidentiality moved them by 5% or more. The pipeline segment carries the flag:

Segment (NAICS)EstablishmentsEmployeesAverage annual pay
Oil and gas extraction (211)1,99441,550$224,084
Electric power (2211)1,17740,291$131,077
Pipeline transportation (486)763Not reported (high-noise figure)Not reported
Employees per establishmentEstablishments
1 to 42,028
5 to 9524
10 to 19507
20 to 49497
50 to 99208
100 to 249113
250 to 499Not published
500 to 99924
1,000 or moreNot published

That's 3,059 establishments with 1 to 19 employees, 705 with 20 to 99 and 170 with 100 or more; the last band is the total less the smaller ones, since two large cells aren't published. Average pay is payroll divided by employees, our calculation. CBP counts establishments with paid employees, not companies, and leaves out the self-employed and head offices filed under management of companies.

Power plants

EIA's 2025 generator survey (Form EIA-860, final data released September 10, 2026) lists 1,023 Texas plants with 195,966 MW of nameplate capacity: 42.4% natural gas, 22.4% wind, 15.7% solar, 8.5% coal, 7.2% batteries and 2.6% nuclear. In generation rather than capacity, EIA's state profile puts 2024 at 51% natural gas, 22% wind and about 12% coal.

Operator (EIA-860)Capacity in Texas, MW
Luminant Generation (Vistra)10,893
CPS Energy (City of San Antonio)9,580
NRG Texas Power9,187
RWE Clean Energy6,809
Southwestern Public Service4,219
Lower Colorado River Authority4,208

The largest single plants are NRG's W A Parish in Fort Bend County (4,008 MW) and the South Texas Project nuclear plant in Matagorda County (2,709 MW). Harris County has more capacity than any other county, 10,251 MW at 81 plants.

Where the public energy companies are based

EDGAR lists 89 SEC-registered listed companies in these industries with a Texas business address, a count that includes a few waste firms swept in by the utility code range. More than half are in the Houston area, with Dallas-Fort Worth second and Midland third. The largest, from their latest 10-Ks:

CompanyHeadquartersRevenue, 2025
Energy TransferDallas$85.54 billion
Enterprise Products PartnersHouston$52.60 billion
NRG EnergyHouston$30.71 billion
VistraIrving$17.74 billion
Diamondback EnergyMidland$15.03 billion
Permian ResourcesMidland$5.07 billion
Atmos EnergyDallas$4.70 billion (year to September 2025)
Range ResourcesFort Worth$3.12 billion

Houston's list runs much deeper, with EOG, Occidental, Cheniere, Targa, Kinder Morgan and CenterPoint; see energy companies in Houston. Producers and refiners are in the report on oil and gas companies in Texas, and midstream operators in pipeline companies in Texas.

Selling to Texas energy companies

SegmentWhere the buying happensTypical purchases
Retail providersCustomer operations, pricing, marketingBilling and CRM, customer acquisition, usage data
GeneratorsPlant and fleet operations, outage planningMaintenance, monitoring, parts, storage integration
Delivery companiesSupply chain, with engineering and operationsGrid equipment, vegetation and storm work, field services
Co-ops and city utilitiesGeneral manager, operations manager, board for big purchasesMetering, outage systems, line work, member billing

Illustrative example. The seller and its rates are invented; utility counts are from EIA-861.

Caprock Outage Systems (caprock.example) sells outage management software to small utilities. Of Texas's 67 co-ops and 72 city utilities, 64 serve 10,000 or more customers: 49 co-ops and 15 city utilities. Each has a general manager and an operations or engineering lead, so the list is about 128 people. Co-ops buy slowly and compare notes, so one reference customer matters more than volume; a 5% reply rate gives about 6 conversations, and two pilots would make a strong year. Bebop finds and researches each utility in a list like this and drafts the opening email, and the guide to building a prospect list covers the groundwork.

Email to a co-op operations manager
Subject: Outage calls at [co-op name] during [recent storm]

Hi [first name],

[Co-op name] serves about [number] members across [counties], and [recent storm] put [number] of them out for [duration].

Co-ops your size often still take outage reports by phone. Our system maps calls to the feeder and gives crews a restoration order without new hardware.

Would a 20-minute look at how [neighboring co-op] uses it be worth your time on [day]?

[Your name]

Next step: for a city-level view, start with energy companies in Houston, where the state's largest cluster of energy head offices sits.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many electricity companies are there in Texas?

EIA's 2025 utility survey counts 88 retail electric providers selling to Texas customers, 62 of them to homes, plus 67 electric cooperatives, 72 city-owned utilities and four investor-owned utilities outside the competitive market. In the competitive areas, delivery companies led by Oncor and CenterPoint own the lines. Oncor alone reported more than 100 REPs as its distribution customers at the end of 2025.

Which areas of Texas can choose an electricity provider?

Areas where the lines belong to a delivery company in the ERCOT grid, such as Oncor, CenterPoint, AEP Texas Central, AEP Texas North, Texas-New Mexico Power or Lubbock's city utility. Customers of most electric cooperatives and city utilities, such as CPS Energy in San Antonio, buy from that utility, as do customers of Entergy Texas, El Paso Electric, Southwestern Public Service and SWEPCO.

What is the largest electricity provider in Texas?

By homes served in 2025, Reliant Energy Retail Services led with 1,545,510 Texas residential customers, followed by TXU Energy with 1,442,516, according to EIA. Reliant is part of NRG Energy and TXU is part of Vistra. NRG's 10-K says its brands together have the largest share of competitively served residential customers in Texas. Size says nothing about price, so compare Electricity Facts Labels.

What are the biggest energy companies in Texas?

By 2025 revenue in their 10-K filings, the largest Texas-headquartered companies in power, oil and gas production and pipelines include Energy Transfer of Dallas ($85.54 billion), Enterprise Products Partners of Houston ($52.60 billion), NRG Energy of Houston ($30.71 billion), Vistra of Irving ($17.74 billion) and Diamondback Energy of Midland ($15.03 billion). Integrated oil majors are filed under refining and covered separately.

How many power plants are in Texas?

EIA's 2025 generator survey lists 1,023 power plants in Texas with 195,966 MW of nameplate capacity, run by 518 operators. Natural gas is 42.4% of that capacity, wind 22.4% and solar 15.7%. The largest operators by Texas capacity are Vistra's Luminant, San Antonio's CPS Energy and NRG, and the largest single plant is NRG's W A Parish in Fort Bend County.

Find the Texas energy companies that fit your offer

Describe the utilities, generators or providers you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies, explains why each fits and drafts the first email.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in