Marketing agencies in Dallas: 466 Dallas County offices, how they buy media and what to sign

Dallas County's agencies are bigger than the national norm, with about 15 employees per office, and a lot of the money that passes through them is media, not fees. The terms that decide what you really pay are about how that media is bought, so read them before you compare creative reels.

Market report6 min readPublished

Dallas County had 466 advertising, PR and related agency offices with paid staff in 2023, employing 7,088 people on a $628.8 million payroll (Census County Business Patterns), and the wider Dallas-Fort Worth metro had 946. To pick one, match the agency type to the job, ask whether it buys media as your agent or as a reseller, keep accounts and data in your name, and check the entity with the Texas Comptroller.

  • 466 agency offices in Dallas County employ 7,088 people; the DFW metro has 946 offices and 14,044 employees.
  • Dallas County's offices average 15.2 employees, against about 12 nationally, and 16 have 100 or more.
  • Ask whether an agency buys media as your agent or resells it as principal: the second hides the markup.
  • Under the Texas Data Privacy and Security Act, covered businesses need a contract that makes the agency delete or return personal data at the end.
  • Thryv, the one public advertising-code company the SEC placed in Dallas County, moved its headquarters to Grapevine in October 2025.
On this page

For businesses in and around Dallas that are hiring an agency, and for vendors that sell to agencies. The core figures are for Dallas County; the Fort Worth side of the metroplex is shown for comparison.

Dallas County agencies at a glance

US Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023, Dallas County, Texas, NAICS 5418 (advertising, public relations and related services):

Measure (2023)Dallas County
Agency offices466
Employees7,088
Annual payroll$628,821,000
Employees per office15.2
Average annual pay$88,716
Share of US offices1.2% of 38,864
Employees at the officeOffices
1 to 4264
5 to 963
10 to 1959
20 to 4949
50 to 9915
100 to 24912
250 to 4994
500 or moreNot published (the published cells already total 466, so none)

In bands, 386 offices have fewer than 20 employees, 64 have 20 to 99 and 16 have 100 or more. Only 57% have fewer than five people, against about 69% nationally, so this is a market of established firms as well as solo shops.

Across the metroplex, the same Census file counts 946 agency offices and 14,044 employees in the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington metro: Tarrant County has 194 offices, Collin County 135 and Denton County 107. Dallas County alone holds about half the offices and half the jobs.

What CBP counts. Establishments with paid employees, in the week of March 12, 2023. An agency with an Uptown office and a Deep Ellum studio counts twice; a freelancer without payroll doesn't count. Marketing consultancies (NAICS 541613) are outside these figures: Dallas County has 503 of them with 5,830 employees.

The kinds of agency, by Census code

If you needCodeDallas County officesEmployees
Campaigns created and placed: full-service, creative, digital and performance agencies5418102224,006
Press, reputation, public affairs54182089949
Media bought and resold (planning and buying specialists)54183011247
Media sold on behalf of stations and publishers (the other side of the table)54184015123
Billboards, transit and display54185023182
Direct mail, mailing lists54186025608
Flyers and samples delivered by hand5418707not reported (high-noise figure)
Promotional products, sign lettering, demonstrations54189074928

The rows add up to 466. "Not reported" is the Census Bureau's high-noise flag: the figure was published, but confidentiality noise changed it by 5% or more. Two more codes catch agency work: the Census index files custom SEO and custom web page design under 541511 (1,013 Dallas County offices, most of them software firms), and design-only branding studios under 541430 (137).

Out-of-home is a real channel here: Clear Channel Outdoor's 2025 10-K lists 2,505 displays in its Dallas market, 5% of its US displays and 6% of its US segment revenue.

How media is bought, and why it decides the price

Most of a paid media budget goes to media owners, not the agency, so the buying terms matter more than the fee. Omnicom's 2025 10-K describes the two models. When an agency acts as your agent, it buys media on your behalf and earns a fee or a commission. In some businesses it acts as principal: it controls the media before you get it, sets the price and takes the pricing risk. Omnicom also lists "vendor rebates in certain markets outside of the United States" among the variable payments in its contracts.

Question to askGood answer
Do you buy our media as our agent or as principal?As agent, in accounts in our name, at cost plus a stated fee
If any inventory is sold to us as principal, what is the markup?A number, shown separately, with our right to say no
Do media owners pay you rebates, bonuses or free inventory on our spend?No, or yes and it's passed through to us
Can we audit media invoices?Yes, at least once a year, with the vendor invoices
What's your fee if spend drops?A minimum stated in the contract, not a surprise

For the self-serve platforms the same idea applies: Google's rules require an agency to show a separate management fee in writing before the first purchase and on every invoice, and to report the exact amount Google charged, excluding its fees, when the contract promises monthly reports.

The Texas data rule to put in the contract

If your agency will handle customer data (email lists, CRM exports, website visitor data), Texas law may require a specific contract. The Texas Data Privacy and Security Act, in force since 1 July 2024, applies to businesses that operate in Texas and process personal data, except those the US Small Business Administration defines as small. For those it covers, section 541.104 of the Business and Commerce Code says the contract with a processor such as an agency must set out instructions, the purpose and type of data and how long processing lasts, and must require the processor to:

  • keep everyone handling the data under a duty of confidentiality;
  • delete or return all personal data at your direction when the service ends, unless the law requires it to keep the data;
  • give you the information you need to show compliance, and allow reasonable assessments;
  • use subcontractors only under a written contract with the same obligations.

Even if you're exempt as a small business, the delete-or-return clause is the cleanest way to get your lists back when you change agencies.

Before you sign

  1. Confirm the entity. Search its legal name on the Texas Comptroller's franchise tax account status page.
  2. Own the accounts. Ad accounts, analytics and the website domain in your company's name, with the agency added as a user.
  3. Get the work assigned to you. A written copyright assignment for creative, since commissioned work outside nine narrow categories isn't a work made for hire (US Copyright Office, Circular 30).
  4. Call two references, one of them a client that has left.

Public companies

The SEC's records placed one listed company in the advertising codes (SIC 7310 to 7319) in Dallas County: Thryv Holdings (Nasdaq: THRY). Its 2025 10-K says Thryv, a "Remote First" company, closed its Dallas headquarters and moved it to Grapevine effective 1 October 2025. It reported $785.0 million of 2025 revenue: $461.0 million from small-business software and $324.0 million from Marketing Services, the print Yellow Pages and digital marketing business it plans to end by 2028. So no public agency group is now based in the county, and the holding companies' 10-Ks don't name their offices by city.

Selling to Dallas agencies

Dallas offices are larger than average, which changes who you reach. At the 64 offices with 20 to 99 staff, a department head (paid media, creative, analytics) usually evaluates and an owner or COO signs. At the 16 offices with 100 or more, add finance and IT, and expect a security questionnaire.

Illustrative example. The vendor, price and response rates are invented.

Spendline (spendline.example) sells media invoice reconciliation to agencies at $900 a month. It targets Dallas County agency offices with 50 or more employees, where media volume justifies the tool: 15 + 12 + 4 = 31 offices. Two meetings a month from that list would be a strong result. The opening line uses something public, such as a new media-of-record win, which means a new set of vendor invoices to reconcile. When the list runs to hundreds of agencies across the metroplex, Bebop researches each one and finds the person who runs media operations.

LinkedIn note to a head of media operations
Hi [first name], congrats on [agency] winning [client]'s media. New accounts usually mean a month or two of matching vendor invoices to the buys by hand. We [what you do, e.g. reconcile media invoices against orders automatically] for [similar agency]. Open to a short look before the first [client] invoices land?

Dallas sources

SourceUse it for
Texas Comptroller franchise tax account statusWhether a Texas entity is active
Dallas Regional ChamberRegional business news and member events
City of Dallas Office of Economic DevelopmentExpansions and incentive deals, early signals of new agency clients
PRSA DallasThe local Public Relations Society of America chapter

Next step: see how Dallas fits the national picture in the largest advertising agencies and how to build a list, or the NAICS codes for marketing businesses.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

How many marketing agencies are in Dallas?

County Business Patterns counted 466 advertising, PR and related agency offices with paid employees in Dallas County in 2023, employing 7,088 people. The whole Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington metro had 946 offices and 14,044 employees. Dallas County also has 503 marketing consulting offices. These are locations with payroll, so freelancers are excluded and a two-office firm counts twice.

What's the difference between an agency buying media as agent or as principal?

As your agent, an agency buys media on your behalf, usually in accounts in your name, and earns a disclosed fee or commission. As principal, it controls the media first and resells it to you at its own price, taking the pricing risk, so you don't see its margin. Omnicom's 2025 10-K describes both models. Ask which one a proposal uses and get any markup stated.

Does Texas law require a contract with my marketing agency?

If your business is covered by the Texas Data Privacy and Security Act, in force since 1 July 2024, yes for personal data. Section 541.104 requires a contract that sets out processing instructions and makes the agency keep data confidential, delete or return it when the service ends, and bind subcontractors to the same terms. Businesses the SBA defines as small are largely exempt.

Are there public marketing companies headquartered in Dallas?

Not now. The only SEC-registered company in the advertising codes that the SEC's records placed in Dallas County, Thryv Holdings, says in its 2025 10-K that it moved its headquarters from Dallas to Grapevine effective 1 October 2025. Thryv reported $785.0 million of 2025 revenue, most of it from small-business software, and plans to exit its print and digital marketing business by 2028.

Find the Dallas agencies that match your offer

Describe the agencies you sell to. Bebop finds matching firms across the metroplex, explains why each fits and drafts the first message.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in