Short answer
The Pittsburgh metro had 227 concrete establishments in 2023 (Census County Business Patterns): 186 poured concrete contractors averaging 5.6 employees and 41 ready-mix plants. Pennsylvania has no concrete license, but driveways and patios over $500 are home improvements under state law: contractors doing $5,000 or more a year must register with the Attorney General, print the number on estimates, cap deposits at one-third on jobs over $5,000 and let you cancel within three business days.
- 227 concrete establishments in the Pittsburgh metro employ 1,572 people on a $121.1 million payroll.
- 71% of contractor locations (132 of 186) have one to four employees.
- There is one ready-mix location for every 4.5 contractor locations, a high plant share.
- Pennsylvania's home improvement act covers driveways and patios over $500 and caps deposits at one-third above $5,000.
- The City of Pittsburgh's general contractor license requires $1 million per occurrence in liability cover.
On this page
This report is for Pittsburgh-area homeowners, property managers and builders hiring a concrete contractor or choosing a ready-mix supplier, and for B2B sellers whose customers are concrete firms: insurers, equipment and tool dealers, rental yards, accountants and software vendors that suit very small businesses.
A market of small crews
Here is the size split for the two industry codes in the Pittsburgh, PA Metro Area (CBSA 38300): NAICS 238110 (Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors) and NAICS 327320 (Ready-Mix Concrete Manufacturing). Source: US Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023.
| Employees per location | Both codes | Contractors | Ready-mix |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 144 | 132 | 12 |
| 5 to 9 | 41 | 30 | 11 |
| 10 to 19 | 18 | 8 | 10 |
| 20 to 49 | 20 | 14 | 6 |
| 50 or more | Not published | 2 (derived) | 2 (derived) |
The "50 or more" cells are our derivation: each code's total less its published classes. The Census Bureau doesn't publish the individual classes above 49. Across both codes, 203 of the 227 locations have fewer than 20 employees.
The average contractor location has 5.6 employees, against 28.0 in Phoenix and 23.4 in Austin. For a buyer, that means the person who quotes your driveway probably pours it too. For a seller, it means owner-run businesses with little back office.
The headline figures
| Measure (2023) | Pittsburgh metro |
|---|---|
| Establishments | 227 |
| Employees (week of March 12) | 1,572 |
| Annual payroll | $121,055,000 |
| Average employees per establishment | 6.9 |
| Average annual pay | $77,007 |
| Share of US establishments | 0.76% of 29,706 |
| Industry (2023) | Establishments | Employees | Annual payroll | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concrete contractors (238110) | 186 | 1,035 | $78,592,000 | $75,934 |
| Ready-mix plants (327320) | 41 | 537 | $42,463,000 | $79,074 |
| County | Establishments | Employees |
|---|---|---|
| Allegheny County, Pennsylvania | 89 | 674 |
| Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania | 39 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Washington County, Pennsylvania | 37 | 238 |
| Butler County, Pennsylvania | 25 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Beaver County, Pennsylvania | 16 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Fayette County, Pennsylvania | 9 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Armstrong County, Pennsylvania | 6 | Not reported (high-noise figure) |
| Lawrence County, Pennsylvania | 3 | 34 |
Several county employee totals were published but flagged as high-noise (the confidentiality noise moved them by 5% or more), so we don't repeat them. Allegheny has 72 contractors and 17 of the 41 plants; Washington and Westmoreland counties have 32 and 36 contractors.
County Business Patterns counts establishments with paid employees, not companies. A one-person finisher with no payroll isn't counted, which in a market this small-scale leaves out a lot of the residential trade.
The rules that apply
Pennsylvania has no state license for concrete contractors. Two layers do apply:
| Rule | What it requires |
|---|---|
| Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (2008 Act 132) | Covers work on a private residence over $500, explicitly including driveways and patios. Contractors with $5,000 or more of home improvements a year must register with the Attorney General's Bureau of Consumer Protection, carry $50,000 personal injury and $50,000 property damage insurance, and print the registration number on all ads, estimates and contracts. |
| Deposits and cancellation (same act) | On contracts over $5,000, the deposit can't exceed one-third of the price (plus special-order materials named in the contract). You can rescind within three business days of signing. |
| City of Pittsburgh general contractor license | Needed for commercial development applications, new one- and two-family homes and work on rental or investment properties, with $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate liability insurance. |
Sidewalk and curb work in the public right-of-way follows separate city and borough permit rules, and the region's many boroughs each set their own, so ask the contractor which permit your job needs.
The plants
Forty-one ready-mix locations serve the metro, 17 in Allegheny County, and they're unusually small: 33 of the 41 have fewer than 20 employees. No listed concrete company files with the SEC from a Pittsburgh-area address. On the cement side, Eagle Materials' 10-K lists a Pittsburgh distribution terminal for its Kosmos Cement plant in Louisville, which serves western Pennsylvania. For producer contacts, the Pennsylvania Aggregates and Concrete Association represents crushed stone, ready-mix and related producers statewide.
How to vet a small crew
- Ask for the registration number and check that it's on the estimate. Its absence on a home job is a red flag under state law.
- Ask for the insurance certificate and check it meets at least the state minimums; for city work requiring a general contractor license, $1 million per occurrence.
- Get thickness, base and reinforcement in writing, plus who pulls any permit.
- Keep the deposit within the law and pay the rest against progress.
- See two finished jobs at least two winters old. Freeze-thaw shows up fast on bad flatwork.
Worked example: a driveway contract that follows the act
Illustrative example. The job and figures are invented.
A Mt. Lebanon homeowner signs a $12,600 contract to replace a driveway and front walk, with $900 of special-order decorative pavers for a border.
| Check | Result |
|---|---|
| Is it a home improvement? | Yes: a driveway at a private residence, over $500 |
| Maximum deposit | $12,600 ÷ 3 = $4,200, plus $900 of named special-order material = $5,100 |
| Cancellation window | Three business days from signing |
| Registration number | Must appear on the contract and estimate |
A contractor asking for half up front ($6,300) is asking for $1,200 more than the act allows.
Selling to Pittsburgh concrete firms
With most firms under five people, buying is the owner's decision, often made from the truck. Products that sell here remove paperwork or risk: insurance that meets state and city minimums, bookkeeping, estimating apps, financing for a skid steer. Plants buy the same things as anywhere (drivers, trucks, admixtures), but most are small enough that the owner or plant manager decides. For approach, see how to sell to small businesses. Bebop can pull together the small Allegheny County crews that fit your offer and research each one.
Illustrative example. An insurance agency (threeriversrisk.example) targets the 162 contractor locations with fewer than ten employees. At one owner each and a 10% reply rate, that's about 16 conversations; writing five liability and auto packages at $9,000 in annual premium is $45,000 a year, at the agency's commission rate.
Subject: Insurance that meets the city and state minimums Hi [first name], Pennsylvania's home improvement act asks registered contractors for $50,000 and $50,000 in cover, and city general contractor work asks for $1 million per occurrence. A lot of small crews carry one and not the other. We write liability and auto for concrete contractors with one to ten people, and can quote from your current dec page in a day. Want me to check yours? [Your name]
Local sources
| Source | What it gives you |
|---|---|
| Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (2008 Act 132) | The full text of the registration, insurance, deposit and cancellation rules |
| City of Pittsburgh: contractor licenses | When the general contractor license applies and its insurance minimums |
| Pennsylvania Aggregates and Concrete Association | The state association for ready-mix and aggregates producers |
| Master Builders' Association of Western PA | The commercial builders who hire concrete subcontractors |
| Associated Builders and Contractors, Western PA | Merit-shop contractors, including concrete firms |
Next step: for the wider builder market, read the report on construction companies in Pittsburgh.
Sources
- County Business Patterns (CBP), 2023, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act, 2008 Act 132, Pennsylvania General Assembly, accessed 30 October 2026
- Contractor Licenses, City of Pittsburgh Permits, Licenses and Inspections, accessed 30 October 2026
- Eagle Materials Inc. Form 10-K for the year ended 31 March 2026, US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), filed 19 May 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- Pennsylvania Aggregates and Concrete Association, PACA, accessed 30 October 2026
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many concrete companies are there in Pittsburgh?
Census County Business Patterns counted 227 concrete establishments in the Pittsburgh metro in 2023: 186 poured concrete contractors and 41 ready-mix plants, employing 1,572 people. Allegheny County had 89 of them. The contractors are small, averaging 5.6 employees per location, and owner-operators with no payroll aren't counted at all, so the real number of crews is higher.
Do concrete contractors need a license in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania has no state concrete license. For home jobs, the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act applies: contractors doing $5,000 or more of home improvements a year must register with the Attorney General and carry $50,000 personal injury and $50,000 property damage insurance. Driveways and patios are covered. Cities can add their own rules; Pittsburgh requires a general contractor license for some work.
How much deposit can a contractor ask for in Pennsylvania?
Under the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act, on a home improvement contract over $5,000 the contractor can't take a deposit above one-third of the contract price, plus the cost of special-order materials named in the contract. On a $12,600 driveway that's $4,200 plus any listed special-order items. You also have three business days after signing to cancel without penalty.
How do I check a concrete contractor in Pittsburgh?
Ask for the contractor's Pennsylvania home improvement registration number, which the law requires on every estimate and contract, and confirm it with the Attorney General's office. Ask for insurance certificates; city general contractor work needs $1 million per occurrence. Then get thickness, base and reinforcement in writing and look at two older jobs to see how the flatwork has handled winter.