Energy companies in Corpus Christi: who sells your power, and the LNG, refining and plant operators behind the economy

Corpus Christi's energy economy is built for export, with LNG trains, crude docks and refineries along the ship channel. The people searching for its energy companies mostly want to know who to pay for electricity, so this page answers that first and then maps the industry.

Market report6 min readPublished

In most of Corpus Christi, AEP Texas Central owns the power lines and you choose a retail electric provider; homes on San Patricio Electric Cooperative or Robstown's city utility buy from that utility instead. For work or business, Census data shows 88 electric power, oil and gas extraction and pipeline establishments in the metro (2023). The biggest operations are Cheniere's LNG terminal, three refineries with 2,338 employees, and two gas plants owned by San Antonio's CPS Energy.

  • AEP Texas Central delivers power to 929,438 customers across its territory (EIA, 2025); in its area you pick the provider.
  • Nueces County customers filed 69 complaints about 20 different retail providers with the Public Utility Commission in 2025, and 12 about AEP Texas Central.
  • The metro's 88 energy establishments are mostly small: 43 have fewer than five employees (Census, 2023).
  • Three refineries, outside the energy codes counted here, employ 2,338 people at average pay of $174,523.
  • Cheniere's Corpus Christi LNG terminal had over 9 mtpa of capacity under construction at the end of 2025, on top of what's operating.
On this page

This report is for Corpus Christi residents and businesses working out who to buy electricity from, for job seekers looking at the Coastal Bend's energy employers, and for B2B sellers whose customers are plants, terminals and the contractors that serve them.

Who sells you electricity in Corpus Christi

Start with the name on your bill or meter. EIA's 2025 utility survey (Form EIA-861) lists four electric utilities with territory in Nueces and San Patricio counties:

Your service comes fromCan you choose a provider?
AEP Texas Central (most of Nueces and San Patricio counties)Yes. AEP owns the lines; you buy from a retail electric provider (REP)
San Patricio Electric CooperativeNo. The co-op sells and delivers your power
City of RobstownNo. The city-owned utility sells and delivers your power
Nueces Electric CooperativeAsk the co-op. EIA lists it as a direct seller and also as a delivery company for some business accounts

NRG's 2025 10-K explains the rule behind the "no" rows: competitive retail serves most of the ERCOT grid except areas, served by city utilities and co-ops, that haven't opted into competition. AEP Texas Central delivered power to 929,438 customers across its territory in 2025.

If you're on AEP lines, three things keep a provider choice honest:

  • Read the Electricity Facts Label. Under the Public Utility Commission's rule (16 TAC §25.475), it gives the average price at 500, 1,000 and 2,000 kWh, says whether the price is fixed or variable, and states the term and any cancellation fee. Use the line nearest your usage.
  • Watch the renewal date. For a fixed-rate plan the provider must send at least three written notices before it expires, which gives you time to compare.
  • Know where complaints go. Contact the provider, then the commission's Consumer Protection Division. In 2025, Nueces County customers filed 69 complaints about 20 different REPs and 12 about AEP Texas Central; San Patricio County added 13 about 9 REPs.

The state consumer advocate, the Office of Public Utility Counsel, points shoppers to the commission's Power to Choose website (powertochoose.org) for offers by ZIP code.

The energy industry in Census data

County Business Patterns 2023 counts electric power, oil and gas extraction and pipeline establishments (NAICS 2211, 211 and 486) in the Corpus Christi, TX Metro Area (CBSA 18580):

Measure (2023)Metro Corpus Christi
Establishments88
EmployeesNot reported (high-noise figure)
Annual payrollNot reported (high-noise figure)
Share of US establishments0.41% of 21,437

The Census Bureau flagged the employee and payroll totals as high-noise (noise added for confidentiality changed them by 5% or more), because of the pipeline segment. By segment:

Segment (NAICS)EstablishmentsEmployeesAverage annual pay
Oil and gas extraction (211)38563$162,536
Electric power (2211)30692$107,032
Pipeline transportation (486)20Not reported (high-noise figure)Not reported
Employees per establishmentEstablishments
1 to 443
5 to 913
10 to 19Not published
20 to 4913
50 or more (all bands)Not published

Nueces County has 73 of the establishments and San Patricio County 13; those county rows add to 86, two short of the metro total, as published. County employee counts are high-noise figures. CBP counts establishments with paid employees, not companies, and leaves out the self-employed.

The bigger employers sit outside these three codes. The same Census file shows three petroleum refineries in the metro (NAICS 324110) with 2,338 employees and average pay of $174,523, and 89 oil and gas support contractors (NAICS 213112) with 1,802 employees. If you're job hunting, those two lines matter as much as the energy total.

LNG and the port

Cheniere Energy's 2025 10-K describes its Corpus Christi LNG Terminal as having over 30 mtpa (million tonnes a year) of expected production capacity, including over 9 mtpa under construction at the end of 2025. Its Stage 3 project adds seven midscale trains, the first four substantially complete by year end, and the company approved two more trains in June 2025, with Bechtel as contractor. EIA's Texas profile notes the terminal began operating in 2019 and nearly doubled its export capacity in early 2025.

The Port of Corpus Christi, which calls itself the third largest US port by total waterborne tonnage, reported a record 162.7 million tons in the first nine months of 2026. Third-quarter volumes included 30.4 million tons of crude oil and 6.6 million tons of LNG, up 46.2%.

Power plants

EIA's 2025 generator survey (Form EIA-860) lists 25 plants in the metro with 5,479 MW of capacity, run by 19 operators: 64.4% natural gas, 27.6% wind, 3.5% batteries and 3.2% solar.

PlantOperator (EIA-860)CountyMW
Barney M DavisCPS Energy (City of San Antonio)Nueces1,082
Nueces BayCPS Energy (City of San Antonio)Nueces730
Corpus Christi Energy CenterCorpus Christi CogenerationNueces593
Ingleside CogenerationIngleside Cogeneration LPSan Patricio517
Gregory Power PlantGregory Power PartnersSan Patricio470
Karankawa WindAvangrid PowerSan Patricio307

The wind fleet is mostly in San Patricio County, where RWE Clean Energy runs the Papalote Creek and El Algodon Alto farms.

Public companies and local lists

No SEC-listed company in these industries has a Corpus Christi-area address on EDGAR; the big operators are run from elsewhere, Cheniere from Houston and CPS Energy from San Antonio. For named local employers, the Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation's top-companies list for the Coastal Bend (data as of March 2026) includes AEP Texas and Flint Hills Resources, alongside industrial firms Turner Industries Group, MMR Group, Bay Ltd. and Kiewit Offshore Services.

SourceUse it for
EIA-860 plant fileEvery plant's operator, address and capacity
PUCT complaints on the Texas Open Data PortalComplaints about a provider or utility, by county
Port of Corpus Christi releasesCargo volumes by commodity, quarter by quarter
CCREDC investor directory and top-companies listLocal employers and member companies

Selling to Coastal Bend energy operators

This is a market of a few large sites, so buying runs through plant maintenance and turnaround planning, not a long list of small accounts.

Illustrative example. The seller and its rates are invented; plant and refinery counts are from EIA-860 and Census.

Baffin Bay Hydroblast (baffinbay.example) cleans heat exchangers and boiler tubes. EIA-860 lists eight gas-fired plants of 40 MW or more in the metro, run by seven operators, including cogeneration units at a refinery and two chemical plants; Census adds three refineries. That's roughly ten sites. With a maintenance manager and a turnaround planner at each, about 20 contacts. One booked job per planned outage season is the realistic goal, so research the outage calendar and the plant's last cleaning before you write. Bebop can pull that account research together for each site and draft the first email; the guide to finding decision makers covers who to look for.

Email to a plant maintenance manager
Subject: [plant name] exchanger cleaning before [outage season]

Hi [first name],

[Plant name] runs [number] units at [capacity] MW, and planned outages on the coast tend to bunch up in [season].

We hydroblast heat exchangers and boiler tubes with a crew based in [town], so you're not paying for travel from Houston. We can quote from your last inspection report.

Is there a planner I should send a quote template to for [season]?

[Your name]

Next step: see the wider picture, including ERCOT, the statewide plant fleet and the public companies, in energy companies in Texas.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

Who is the electric company in Corpus Christi?

AEP Texas Central owns and maintains the power lines in most of Corpus Christi, but it doesn't sell you the electricity: you choose a retail electric provider, which bills you. Customers of San Patricio Electric Cooperative and the City of Robstown buy from those utilities directly, and Nueces Electric Cooperative members should ask the co-op what applies to their account.

Can I choose my electricity provider in Corpus Christi?

Yes, if your address is on AEP Texas Central's lines, which covers most of the city. Compare offers on the Public Utility Commission's Power to Choose site and read each plan's Electricity Facts Label, which shows the average price at 500, 1,000 and 2,000 kWh and any cancellation fee. Co-op and city utility customers outside AEP's area generally can't switch.

What are the biggest energy companies in Corpus Christi?

The largest operations belong to companies headquartered elsewhere: Cheniere Energy's LNG terminal near Corpus Christi, the area's three refineries, and power plants such as CPS Energy's Barney M Davis and Nueces Bay stations. The regional economic development corporation's top-companies list names AEP Texas and Flint Hills Resources. No SEC-listed energy company in these industries has its head office in the metro.

How many energy companies are there in Corpus Christi?

Census County Business Patterns counted 88 electric power, oil and gas extraction and pipeline establishments in the Corpus Christi metro in 2023, 73 of them in Nueces County. Most are small: 43 have fewer than five employees. Counting refineries and oilfield support contractors as well adds 3 refineries and 89 support establishments with a combined 4,140 employees.

Find the Coastal Bend sites that fit your service

Describe the plants, terminals or contractors you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies, explains why each fits and drafts the first email.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in