Energy companies in Dallas: your electricity options and the head offices that make Dallas an energy town

Dallas runs more of the energy business than it produces: pipelines, power generation and gas distribution are managed from offices here, while the wells and most of the plants are elsewhere. For a household, though, the search usually means one thing, which provider to buy electricity from, and the answer depends on whose wires reach your street.

Market report5 min readPublished

In most of Dallas, Oncor Electric Delivery owns the lines and you choose a retail electric provider; Oncor's 10-K says more than 100 providers sell on its system. Garland's city utility and three electric co-ops serve parts of Dallas County, and their customers buy from the utility. As employers, Dallas County hosts the head offices of Energy Transfer, Vistra, Oncor and Atmos Energy, and Census counts 252 energy establishments there (2023).

  • Oncor delivers power to more than 4.1 million homes and businesses in over 120 Texas counties, according to its 2025 10-K.
  • Dallas County customers filed 512 complaints about 44 different retail providers with the Public Utility Commission in 2025, and 231 about Oncor.
  • Energy Transfer (22,311 employees), Vistra (about 6,390), Oncor (about 5,600) and Atmos Energy (5,487) all have Dallas County head offices.
  • Dallas County's 174 oil and gas extraction establishments pay an average of $182,971, though the county has few wells.
  • EIA lists 16 power plants in Dallas County with 2,060 MW, led by Luminant's Lake Hubbard plant.
On this page

This page is for Dallas households and businesses deciding where to buy electricity, for job seekers looking at the energy companies headquartered in Dallas, and for B2B sellers whose customers are those head offices or the smaller producers and mineral firms around them. The geography is Dallas County.

Electricity in Dallas: Oncor's lines, with exceptions

EIA's 2025 utility survey (Form EIA-861) lists six electric utilities with territory in Dallas County. Whether you can shop depends on which one serves your address:

UtilityIts roleCustomers (whole system, 2025)Choose a provider?
Oncor Electric DeliveryDelivery only4,084,796Yes
Texas-New Mexico PowerDelivery only281,982Yes
City of GarlandSells and delivers77,632No
Farmers Electric CooperativeSells and delivers104,118No
Trinity Valley Electric CooperativeSells and delivers90,834No
HILCO Electric CooperativeSells and delivers36,527No

The "No" rows follow from the market's design. NRG's 2025 10-K notes that city utilities and co-ops that haven't opted into competition sit outside the competitive market, and EIA reports these four as selling and delivering power themselves.

On Oncor or TNMP lines you pick a retail electric provider (REP). Oncor's 2025 10-K describes it as the largest transmission and distribution system in Texas, delivering to more than 4.1 million homes and businesses, and says its distribution customers were more than 100 REPs. The Public Utility Commission's complaint records show how that market behaves locally: Dallas County customers filed 512 complaints about 44 different REPs in 2025, and 231 about Oncor itself. Under commission rule 16 TAC §25.475, every plan comes with an Electricity Facts Label showing the average price at 500, 1,000 and 2,000 kWh, so compare that label rather than the advertised rate; the Texas energy report explains the rest of the market's rules and its largest providers.

The energy companies headquartered in Dallas

Dallas County's energy employers are mostly corporate offices. The data file lists 14 SEC-registered listed companies in these industries with a Dallas County address, two of them waste firms in the utility code range. The largest, checked on their latest 10-Ks, plus Oncor, which files a 10-K because of its debt but has no listed shares:

CompanyCityBusinessRevenue, 2025
Energy TransferDallasPipelines, processing, export terminals$85.54 billion
VistraIrvingPower plants and retail (TXU Energy)$17.74 billion
Oncor Electric DeliveryDallasPower delivery$6.78 billion
Atmos EnergyDallasNatural gas utility$4.70 billion (year to September 2025)
Matador ResourcesDallasOil and gas production and midstream$3.70 billion
Kosmos EnergyDallasDeepwater oil and gas$1.29 billion
USA Compression PartnersDallasGas compression services$998 million
Granite Ridge ResourcesDallasOil and gas interests$450 million
Dorchester MineralsDallasMineral and royalty interests$153 million

For job seekers, the 10-Ks give company-wide headcounts, not Dallas jobs: Energy Transfer 22,311, Vistra about 6,390 full time and Oncor about 5,600 at the end of 2025, and Atmos 5,487 at September 30, 2025. Oncor Electric Delivery Holdings owns 80.25% of Oncor, per the 10-K cover. Among private companies, the Dallas Regional Chamber's 2026 economic development guide lists Hunt Consolidated/Hunt Oil of Dallas among the region's large private companies, citing Forbes.

Dallas County in Census data

County Business Patterns 2023 counts electric power, oil and gas extraction and pipeline establishments (NAICS 2211, 211 and 486) in Dallas County, Texas:

Measure (2023)Dallas County
Establishments252
Share of US establishments1.18% of 21,437
EmployeesNot reported (high-noise figure)
Annual payrollNot reported (high-noise figure)
Establishments with 1 to 4 employees144
Larger size classesNot published

The Census Bureau published an employee total but flagged it as high-noise (the confidentiality noise moved it by 5% or more), and the larger size classes aren't published for this county. The segments:

Segment (NAICS)EstablishmentsEmployeesAverage annual pay
Oil and gas extraction (211)1742,144$182,971
Electric power (2211)63Not reported (high-noise figure)Not reported
Pipeline transportation (486)15Not reported (high-noise figure)Not reported

Average pay is payroll divided by employees, our calculation. The extraction count is mostly small offices: 110 of the 174 have fewer than five employees, 24 have 5 to 9, 13 have 10 to 19 and 22 have 20 to 49. Head offices like Energy Transfer's are filed under management of companies, so they aren't in these counts at all. Like every CBP figure, these are places with paid staff, not companies, and the self-employed aren't in them. Where Dallas firms actually drill is covered in oil and gas companies in Dallas.

Power plants in Dallas County

EIA's 2025 generator survey (Form EIA-860) lists 16 plants in the county with 2,060 MW, 86.8% of it natural gas and 12.1% batteries. Two plants hold most of it: Luminant's Lake Hubbard in Sunnyvale (928 MW; Luminant is Vistra's generation business) and Mountain Creek in Dallas (852 MW, run by Mountain Creek Power). Anole Energy Storage near Seagoville adds a 240 MW battery.

Checking a Dallas energy company

SourceUse it for
SEC EDGAR 10-KHeadquarters, revenue, headcount and union coverage
PUCT complaints on the Texas Open Data PortalA retail provider's complaint record in Dallas County
EIA-861 service territory fileWhich utilities serve a county
Dallas Regional Chamber economic development guideFortune 1000 and large private headquarters in the region

Selling to Dallas energy companies

The big four buy like corporations: procurement-led, with supplier registration and long cycles. The faster market is the long tail of small producers, mineral companies and royalty firms in the extraction count.

Illustrative example. The seller and its rates are invented; the size counts are Census 2023.

Bluebonnet Ledger (bluebonnet.example) does outsourced revenue accounting and joint-interest billing for small oil and gas companies. Firms with fewer than five people often keep this in-house or with a bookkeeper, and firms with 50 or more have their own teams, so its target is the 59 Dallas County extraction establishments with 5 to 49 employees. One contact each (the controller, or the owner where there isn't one) gives 59 people. At an 8% reply rate, about 5 conversations; two new clients a quarter would be a good result. With a list this small, the research on each company matters more than the send volume; Bebop researches each account and drafts the first email, and the account research guide shows what to look for.

Email to the controller of a small producer
Subject: JIB statements at [company]

Hi [first name],

[Company] operates [number] wells in [basin or county] and, from your website, has partners on most of them.

Joint-interest billing is often the job a small team falls behind on first. We run JIB and revenue distribution for producers your size, on your accounting system, at a fixed monthly fee.

Would a 15-minute call on [day] be useful to see whether it would free up month-end?

[Your name]

Next step: compare the Dallas picture with the state's largest energy cluster in energy companies in Houston.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

Who is the electric company in Dallas?

Oncor Electric Delivery owns and maintains the power lines in most of Dallas, but it doesn't sell electricity to households: you choose a retail electric provider, which bills you. Parts of Dallas County are on Texas-New Mexico Power lines, where the same applies. Garland's city utility and the Farmers, Trinity Valley and HILCO electric cooperatives sell power directly to their own customers.

Can I choose my electricity provider in Dallas?

Yes, if Oncor or Texas-New Mexico Power delivers to your address, which covers most of Dallas County. Compare plans on the Public Utility Commission's Power to Choose site using each plan's Electricity Facts Label. Customers of Garland's city utility and of the local electric co-ops can't switch, because those utilities haven't opted into retail competition.

What energy companies are headquartered in Dallas?

By 2025 revenue in their 10-K filings, the largest are Energy Transfer ($85.54 billion), Vistra in Irving ($17.74 billion), Oncor Electric Delivery ($6.78 billion) and Atmos Energy ($4.70 billion for the year to September 2025). Others with Dallas head offices include Matador Resources, Kosmos Energy, USA Compression Partners, Granite Ridge Resources and Dorchester Minerals.

How many energy companies are in Dallas?

Census County Business Patterns counted 252 electric power, oil and gas extraction and pipeline establishments in Dallas County in 2023, 174 of them in oil and gas extraction. Most are small offices: 144 have fewer than five employees. Corporate head offices are counted separately under management of companies, so the largest employers aren't in that total.

Find the Dallas energy companies that fit your offer

Describe the producers, utilities or head offices you sell to. Bebop finds matching companies, explains why each fits and drafts the first email.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in