The largest companies in Michigan: 25 headquarters ranked by revenue from their 10-Ks

Michigan's corporate league table is really two leagues: Ford and General Motors, which reported $372 billion between them, and everyone else, who reported $250 billion combined. Several names you'd expect at the top, Stellantis and Autoliv among them, aren't there at all once you read where their filings say they're based.

Market report6 min readPublished

The largest companies headquartered in Michigan, by revenue in their latest 10-K filings, are Ford Motor (Dearborn, $187.27 billion in 2025), General Motors (Detroit, $185.02 billion), Dow (Midland, $39.97 billion), Penske Automotive Group (Bloomfield Hills, $31.81 billion) and Stryker (Portage, $25.12 billion). The 25 companies ranked below reported $621.85 billion in combined revenue, and nine automotive companies account for 73.6% of it.

  • Ford edged out General Motors on 2025 revenue, $187.27 billion to $185.02 billion; Fortune's 2025 list, on 2024 revenue, had GM ahead.
  • Ford and GM account for 59.9% of the 25 companies' combined $621.85 billion.
  • Eight of the 25 are in Oakland County suburbs and five in the city of Detroit.
  • Stellantis files as a Dutch company and Autoliv's 10-K names Stockholm, so neither is ranked here.
  • Steelcase, SpartanNash and WK Kellogg Co were all acquired in late 2025 and no longer file 10-Ks.
On this page

This ranking is for readers who want Michigan's biggest companies in order and on the record: suppliers looking for corporate buyers, job seekers, students, investors and sellers planning enterprise accounts. For the state's whole business market, including its 229,564 workplaces and how to check a business, see businesses in Michigan.

The 25 largest companies headquartered in Michigan

Each company's revenue and company-wide headcount come from its latest 10-K, and its headquarters from the principal executive office on the cover page. Revenue is total revenue as reported (net sales for manufacturers).

RankCompanyHeadquartersRevenueFiscal year endedEmployees
1Ford MotorDearborn$187.27 billionDec 2025about 169,000
2General MotorsDetroit$185.02 billionDec 2025about 155,000
3DowMidland$39.97 billionDec 2025about 34,600
4Penske Automotive GroupBloomfield Hills$31.81 billionDec 2025over 27,700
5StrykerPortage$25.12 billionDec 2025about 56,000
6LearSouthfield$23.26 billionDec 2025not stated
7DTE EnergyDetroit$15.81 billionDec 2025about 9,650
8WhirlpoolBenton Harbor$15.52 billionDec 2025about 41,000
9BorgWarnerAuburn Hills$14.32 billionDec 2025not stated
10CMS EnergyJackson$8.54 billionDec 20258,350
11Ally FinancialDetroit$7.91 billionDec 2025about 10,300
12MascoLivonia$7.56 billionDec 2025about 18,000
13Rocket CompaniesDetroit$6.70 billionDec 2025about 23,500
14Jackson FinancialLansing$6.68 billionDec 2025about 3,890
15UFP IndustriesGrand Rapids$6.32 billionDec 2025about 13,800
16Dauch (formerly American Axle)Detroit$5.84 billionDec 2025about 18,000
17LineageNovi$5.36 billionDec 2025about 24,000
18Domino's PizzaAnn Arbor$4.94 billionDec 2025about 10,200
19Kelly ServicesTroy$4.25 billionDec 2025about 4,900 staff
20MillerKnollZeeland$3.84 billionMay 2026about 10,544
21VisteonVan Buren Township$3.77 billionDec 2025about 10,500
22PHINIAAuburn Hills$3.48 billionDec 202512,500
23UWM HoldingsPontiac$3.16 billionDec 2025about 9,100
24Cooper-StandardNorthville$2.74 billionDec 2025about 22,000
25Champion HomesTroy$2.66 billionMar 2026about 9,300

Notes on the figures:

  • Financial companies report revenue their own way. Ally's figure is total net revenue and Rocket's is total revenue, net. Jackson Financial's revenue moves with the value of its hedges, so it swings more from year to year than its business does.
  • Headcounts use each filing's own wording. Kelly Services counts its 3,600 US and 1,300 international full-time staff, not the temporary workers it places. Cooper-Standard's 22,000 includes 4,000 contingent workers. Dauch's 18,000 is before its February 2026 purchase of Dowlais Group. Lear and BorgWarner don't state a total in their 10-Ks.
  • Fiscal years differ: MillerKnoll's ended May 30, 2026 and Champion Homes' March 28, 2026.

Gentex ($2.53 billion), Credit Acceptance ($2.32 billion), Sun Communities ($2.31 billion) and La-Z-Boy ($2.13 billion) would rank 26 to 29.

Who's missing, and why

CompanyWhy it isn't ranked
StellantisFiles its annual report on Form 20-F as Stellantis N.V., with its address in Hoofddorp, the Netherlands, though its US subsidiary FCA US is one of the Detroit region's largest employers
AutolivIts 10-K gives Stockholm, Sweden as the principal executive office; it reported $10.82 billion in 2025. Fortune and the Detroit Regional Chamber list it under Auburn Hills
SteelcaseAcquired by HNI Corporation on December 10, 2025
SpartanNashAcquired in a merger with an affiliate of C&S Wholesale Grocers on September 22, 2025
WK Kellogg CoAcquired by Ferrero International on September 26, 2025
Penske Corp., Ilitch Holdings and other private companiesPrivate companies don't file 10-Ks
Health systems such as Trinity Health and Corewell HealthNonprofits, not SEC registrants

Autoliv is the useful lesson. Ranked by its 10-K, it isn't a Michigan company; ranked by where Fortune and the Detroit Regional Chamber put it, it's a Fortune 500 company in Auburn Hills. Neither is wrong. Decide which rule you need before you compare lists.

Fortune 500 companies in Michigan

The Detroit Regional Chamber's business climate page reproduces Fortune's 2025 list for Southeast Michigan, ranked on 2024 revenue: General Motors (No. 18), Ford Motor (19), Penske Automotive Group (141), Lear (189), Ally Financial (255), BorgWarner (307), DTE Energy (337), Autoliv (407) and Masco (478). The Chamber says the region is home to 9 of Michigan's 18 Fortune 500 companies. The others, including Dow, Stryker and Whirlpool, are elsewhere in the state. Use Fortune's own site for current ranks.

The same page lists Crain's Detroit Business's 2025 ranking of the region's largest private companies by 2024 revenue, led by Penske Corp. ($44.0 billion), Atlas Oil ($7.7 billion) and Walbridge ($5.9 billion). Penske Corp. would rank third in the table above if it were public.

Where Michigan's largest companies are

  • City of Detroit: five (General Motors, DTE Energy, Ally Financial, Rocket Companies and Dauch).
  • Oakland County suburbs: eight, from Bloomfield Hills (Penske) and Southfield (Lear) to Auburn Hills (BorgWarner and PHINIA), Troy (Kelly and Champion Homes), Novi (Lineage) and Pontiac (UWM).
  • Detroit's western suburbs: Ford in Dearborn, Masco in Livonia, Visteon in Van Buren Township and Cooper-Standard in Northville.
  • West Michigan: Stryker (Portage), Whirlpool (Benton Harbor), UFP Industries (Grand Rapids) and MillerKnoll (Zeeland).
  • Mid-Michigan and Ann Arbor: Dow (Midland), CMS Energy (Jackson), Jackson Financial (Lansing) and Domino's (Ann Arbor).

Seventeen of the 25 are in Detroit or its suburbs, but the four West Michigan companies and Dow are big enough that a statewide territory can't skip them.

Selling to Michigan's largest companies

Companies this size buy through supplier registration, security and insurance reviews and buyer-set payment terms, and the automakers and their suppliers run some of the most formal supplier programs in any industry. The 10-K helps you plan in three ways:

  1. Segments show which business units have their own budgets. Ford, for example, reports separate segments rather than one car business.
  2. Workforce detail shows where the people are. Several of these filings say how many employees work outside the US, which matters if you sell anything delivered to staff.
  3. Fiscal year ends set the budget calendar: MillerKnoll plans to May and Champion Homes to March, while most of the list plans to December.

Illustrative example. The agency, rates and results are fictional; the workforce figures are from the 10-Ks.

Great Lakes Language Partners (greatlakeslanguage.example) translates safety training, HR policies and product manuals, and wants Michigan headquarters with large workforces abroad.

  • General Motors: 155,000 employees, of whom 94,000 are salaried or hourly in the US, leaves about 61,000 outside it.
  • Stryker: 56,000, with 28,000 in the US, leaves 28,000.
  • Whirlpool: 41,000, with 39% in the US, leaves about 25,000.
  • Dauch: 18,000, with 5,000 in the US, leaves 13,000.
  • Together, about 127,000 employees outside the US at four headquarters within a few hours' drive.

It targets heads of learning and development and HR communications, not procurement, and proposes a paid pilot translating one plant's safety training. Bebop can find those people at each company and draft outreach that references the plant and country.

Email to a learning and development lead at a Michigan headquarters
Subject: Safety training for [Company]'s [country] plants

Hi [first name],

[Company] reports [number] employees outside the US, and safety training usually reaches them weeks after the English version, if it's translated at all.

We translate and voice-over plant training into [languages] in five working days, with terminology checked by engineers. Could we translate one module for your [city] plant as a paid pilot and let your team judge it?

[Your name], Great Lakes Language Partners

Next step: prepare for accounts like these with enterprise account research.

Sources

Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .

Questions people ask

What is the biggest company in Michigan?

By 2025 revenue in its 10-K, Ford Motor Company of Dearborn is the biggest company headquartered in Michigan, at $187.27 billion, with about 169,000 employees. General Motors of Detroit is a close second at $185.02 billion and about 155,000 employees. On Fortune's 2025 list, which uses 2024 revenue, GM ranked 18th and Ford 19th, so the order depends on the year.

How many Fortune 500 companies are in Michigan?

The Detroit Regional Chamber says the Detroit region is home to 9 of Michigan's 18 Fortune 500 companies. Its 2025 table lists General Motors, Ford, Penske Automotive Group, Lear, Ally Financial, BorgWarner, DTE Energy, Autoliv and Masco. The rest, such as Dow, Stryker and Whirlpool, are elsewhere in the state. Check Fortune's site for current ranks.

Is Stellantis a Michigan company?

Not by its filings. Stellantis N.V. files its annual report with the SEC on Form 20-F, giving an address in Hoofddorp, the Netherlands. Its American brands, Chrysler, Dodge and Ram, and its Jeep brand are sold in the US through its subsidiary FCA US, and the Detroit Regional Partnership counts Stellantis among the region's largest employers, with 32,613 people.

What is the largest private company in Michigan?

On Crain's Detroit Business's 2025 list of the Detroit region's largest private companies, republished by the Detroit Regional Chamber, Penske Corp. of Bloomfield Hills is first with $44.0 billion in 2024 revenue, followed by Atlas Oil ($7.7 billion) and Walbridge ($5.9 billion). That list covers Southeast Michigan only; private companies elsewhere in the state aren't included.

Which Michigan companies have the most employees?

By company-wide headcount in their 10-Ks, Ford (about 169,000) and General Motors (about 155,000) are far ahead, followed by Stryker (about 56,000), Whirlpool (about 41,000) and Dow (about 34,600). These are worldwide totals. In the Detroit region itself, the Detroit Regional Partnership lists Ford, Henry Ford Health and General Motors as the three largest employers.

Research Michigan's largest accounts

Describe the companies and people you want. Bebop finds them, explains why each fits and writes a playbook for every account.

Edit the search to match your market. Already have an account? Log in