Short answer
Colorado had 2,441 trucking establishments with paid employees in 2023, employing 20,687 people on a $1.33 billion payroll (Census County Business Patterns), 20th among states, at an average pay of $64,301. Adams County alone has 39% of the jobs. FMCSA lists 23,275 active for-hire property carriers and 22,094 private fleets in Colorado. CDOT's traction and chain laws can apply on I-70 from Morrison to Dotsero between September 1 and May 31.
- Colorado has 2,441 trucking establishments with 20,687 employees, paying an average of $64,301.
- Specialized freight carriers employ 8,616 people, 41.6% of the state's trucking workforce.
- Adams County has 426 trucking establishments and 8,062 employees, 39.0% of the state total.
- About 40.4% of for-hire carriers list building materials or construction (one combined field in FMCSA's file), and 7.0% oilfield equipment.
- Private fleets (22,094) nearly match for-hire carriers (23,275) in FMCSA's Colorado register.
On this page
This report is for Colorado contractors, producers and distributors hiring trucks, drivers comparing fleets, and B2B sellers whose customers are trucking companies: equipment dealers, insurers, safety trainers, tire and parts suppliers. The Denver metro is covered on its own in trucking companies in Denver.
Colorado trucking in Census data
County Business Patterns 2023, NAICS 484 (Truck Transportation), state of Colorado:
| Measure (2023) | Colorado |
|---|---|
| Establishments | 2,441 |
| Employees (week of March 12) | 20,687 |
| Annual payroll | $1,330,198,000 |
| Average employees per establishment | 8.5 |
| Average annual pay | $64,301 |
| Share of US establishments | 1.43% of 170,286 |
| Rank among states by establishments | 20th |
| Type of trucking (NAICS) | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Local general freight (484110) | 644 | 3,696 | $58,666 |
| Specialized local freight (484220) | 624 | 3,611 | $69,497 |
| Long-distance truckload (484121) | 603 | 4,328 | $64,305 |
| Household and office moving (484210) | 232 | 3,319 | $53,889 |
| Specialized long-distance (484230) | 194 | 1,686 | $66,393 |
| Less-than-truckload (484122) | 144 | 4,047 | $72,475 |
Specialized local freight (dump, flatbed, tank and heavy haul) has almost as many establishments as local general freight, and specialized freight overall (NAICS 4842, including movers) employs 8,616 people, 41.6% of the total. LTL terminals are few but large, at 28.1 employees each, and pay the most.
| Employees per establishment | Establishments |
|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 1,814 |
| 5 to 9 | 224 |
| 10 to 19 | 186 |
| 20 to 49 | 147 |
| 50 to 99 | 35 |
| 100 to 249 | 30 |
| 250 to 499 | 3 |
| 500 to 999 | Not published |
| 1,000 or more | Not published |
The Census Bureau doesn't publish Colorado's two largest classes; the published ones sum to 2,439, so two establishments have 500 or more employees. In broader bands: 2,224 with 1 to 19 employees, 182 with 20 to 99 and 35 with 100 or more (the total less the smaller bands). The count is of locations with paid employees: owner-operators without staff aren't included, and a company with several yards counts several times.
Adams, Weld and the Front Range
| County | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adams | 426 | 8,062 | $67,140 |
| Weld | 306 | 2,252 | $73,771 |
| Denver | 279 | 2,508 | $68,446 |
| Arapahoe | 228 | 1,171 | $60,082 |
| El Paso (Colorado Springs) | 221 | 1,559 | $51,052 |
| Jefferson | 122 | Not reported (high-noise figure) | Not reported |
| Mesa (Grand Junction) | 103 | 779 | $66,680 |
| Larimer (Fort Collins) | 96 | 965 | $63,187 |
Adams County, north and east of Denver along I-70 and I-76, holds 39.0% of Colorado's trucking jobs at 18.9 employees per establishment. Weld County, with its oil, gas and farm freight, pays the most, $73,771 on average. Jefferson County's employment was published but flagged as high-noise (the confidentiality noise changed it by 5% or more), so we leave it out.
Half the register hauls its own goods
FMCSA's Company Census File (updated 29 October 2026), active property carriers with at least one power unit and a Colorado address:
| FMCSA measure | Colorado |
|---|---|
| For-hire property carriers | 23,275 |
| Private fleets only (hauling their own goods) | 22,094 |
| For-hire, intrastate only | 16,682 (71.7%) |
| For-hire, interstate | 6,591 |
| For-hire with one power unit | 14,815 (63.7%) |
| For-hire with 10 or more power units | 813 |
| MCS-150 updated since 30 October 2024 | 9,743 (41.9%) |
Contractors, ranches and energy companies run trucks for their own work, which is why private fleets almost match for-hire carriers. Among for-hire carriers, 40.4% list building materials or construction (one combined figure, because the file records the two categories identically), 17.3% large machinery, 15.0% grain, 13.1% logs and lumber, 7.0% oilfield equipment and 6.5% livestock. Cargo types are self-reported by carriers, FMCSA's open-data file doesn't always match a carrier's own SAFER record and many entries are stale, so treat these shares as indicative and verify each carrier.
Fleets based in Colorado
No SEC-listed trucking company has a Colorado business address in the data we matched. Registered fleets, from SAFER snapshots as of 28 October 2026:
| Carrier (SAFER legal name) | City | Power units | Drivers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wilbur-Ellis Company LLC (agribusiness fleet) | Denver | 1,208 | 833 |
| Accelerated Services LLC | Parker | 560 | 495 |
| Novus Ag LLC (agribusiness fleet) | Fort Collins | 402 | 269 |
| Navajo Express Inc | Denver | 296 | 303 |
| Supreme Auto Transport LLC | Longmont | 207 | 192 |
| U S Transport Inc | Denver | 203 | 134 |
| J F W Corporation (JFW Trucking) | Commerce City | 110 | 120 |
The biggest for-hire fleets here are mid-size; national carriers serve Colorado mostly through terminals registered elsewhere. For those, see the largest trucking companies.
Mountain rules
The Colorado Department of Transportation says its Traction Law can be put in force on I-70 from Morrison to Dotsero between September 1 and May 31, and that non-compliance can bring a $100 fine plus a $33 surcharge, or $500 plus a $157 surcharge if it causes a travel-lane closure. Commercial vehicles have their own chain law on top of that. The Colorado Motor Carriers Association runs a Mountain Rules campaign with CDOT and the Colorado State Patrol to remind drivers to take mountain grades slowly.
For a shipper, that means asking a carrier how it handles the mountain corridor:
- Check SAFER for active status, interstate or intrastate operation, authority and an MCS-150 within two years.
- Ask about winter equipment and training for I-70 and other mountain routes, and how the carrier handles closures.
- Match equipment to the load: end dumps, belly dumps, flatbeds, livestock trailers and oilfield rigs are separate businesses.
- Get a certificate of insurance naming you, at least $750,000 for interstate general freight (49 CFR 387.9).
Selling to Colorado trucking companies
Colorado buyers are split between Front Range fleets that run construction, distribution and LTL work and rural carriers tied to oil, gas and agriculture. Both feel the seasons: construction and aggregate hauling peak in summer, while mountain operations need chains, traction gear and winter training before September. Private fleets are a market in themselves; a contractor with 30 dump trucks buys tires, telematics and insurance like a carrier does.
Illustrative example. The trainer, its price and its rates are invented; the counts are FMCSA data above.
Divide Driver Training (dividetraining.example) runs mountain and winter driving courses. Colorado has 813 for-hire carriers with 10 or more power units. If 41.9% are current, as statewide, about 341 are active fleets. A 6% reply rate gives 20 conversations; if one in three books a course for 25 drivers at $150 each, that's 7 fleets and $26,250, booked in July and August. Bebop can find carriers like these and research each one first.
Subject: [company]'s drivers and the I-70 season Hi [first name], CDOT's traction and chain laws can apply on I-70 from September 1, and fleets your size usually have a few new drivers who haven't chained up on a grade. We run a half-day mountain driving and chain-up course at your yard. Want to hold a date in [month] before the season starts? [Your name]
Sources for Colorado names
| Source | What it gives you |
|---|---|
| FMCSA Company Census File | Every USDOT record, filterable by Colorado county and cargo |
| SAFER Company Snapshot | One carrier's status, authority, fleet and inspections |
| CDOT traction law | When and where the traction and chain laws apply |
| Colorado Motor Carriers Association | The state association in Denver, founded 1939, with more than 50 training classes a year |
Next step: compare Colorado's specialized market with a farm-and-truckload state in trucking companies in Missouri.
Sources
- County Business Patterns (CBP), 2023, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- County Business Patterns datasets, 2023 (state and county files), US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- Company Census File, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (data.transportation.gov), updated 29 October 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- SAFER Company Snapshot, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, data as of 28 October 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- Traction Law, Colorado Department of Transportation, accessed 30 October 2026
- Colorado Motor Carriers Association, Colorado Motor Carriers Association, accessed 30 October 2026
- 49 CFR 387.9, Financial responsibility, minimum levels (2024 edition), US Government Publishing Office (govinfo), accessed 30 October 2026
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many trucking companies are in Colorado?
Census County Business Patterns counted 2,441 trucking establishments with paid employees in Colorado in 2023, employing 20,687 people, 20th among states. FMCSA's register lists 23,275 active for-hire property carriers with a Colorado address, because it includes owner-operators without employees, plus 22,094 private fleets hauling their own goods. Of the for-hire carriers, 16,682 operate only within Colorado.
Where are trucking companies in Colorado located?
Adams County leads with 426 trucking establishments and 8,062 employees in 2023, 39.0% of the state's trucking jobs. Weld County has 306 establishments and the highest average pay, $73,771. Denver County has 279, Arapahoe 228 and El Paso County (Colorado Springs) 221. On the Western Slope, Mesa County (Grand Junction) has 103.
When does Colorado's chain law apply to trucks?
CDOT says the Traction Law can be put in force on I-70 between Morrison and Dotsero from September 1 to May 31, when conditions require it. Its page lists a $100 fine plus a $33 surcharge for non-compliance, rising to $500 plus a $157 surcharge if it closes a travel lane. Commercial vehicles also have a separate chain law, so check CDOT's current rules before winter.
What are the largest trucking companies in Colorado?
Among for-hire carriers registered in Colorado, Accelerated Services in Parker lists 560 power units in SAFER as of 28 October 2026, followed by Navajo Express in Denver with 296, Supreme Auto Transport in Longmont with 207 and U S Transport in Denver with 203. Agribusiness fleets such as Wilbur-Ellis (1,208) are larger. No SEC-listed trucking company is based in the state.
Why are there so many private truck fleets in Colorado?
Many Colorado businesses haul their own materials: contractors and aggregate producers, ranches and farm suppliers, and oil and gas companies. FMCSA's register lists 22,094 Colorado private fleets with at least one power unit, close to the 23,275 for-hire carriers. Among for-hire carriers, about 40.4% list building materials or construction (one combined field in FMCSA's file) and 7.0% oilfield equipment as cargo.