Short answer
The Fresno metro (Fresno and Madera counties) had 1,391 trucking establishments with paid employees in 2023, employing 8,147 people on a $458.6 million payroll (Census County Business Patterns). FMCSA's register lists 11,628 active for-hire property carriers there, 72% with one truck and about 39% listing fresh produce. Before hiring one, check its USDOT record in SAFER and its California Motor Carrier Permit, and confirm its trucks meet the state's engine rules.
- Fresno's 1,391 trucking establishments average 5.9 employees; 1,100 have fewer than five.
- FMCSA lists 11,628 for-hire carriers in Fresno and Madera counties, 8.4 for every Census establishment.
- 4,516 of those carriers (38.8%) list fresh produce in their registrations, against 4.5% in the Los Angeles metro.
- Fresno County farm production was worth $9,029,122,000 in 2024, its highest value yet.
- California requires a Motor Carrier Permit for any for-hire property carrier, whatever the vehicle size.
On this page
This report is for growers, packers and processors booking trucks in the San Joaquin Valley, drivers comparing local carriers, and businesses that sell to them: reefer and trailer shops, insurers, fuel and tire suppliers, factoring firms and compliance services.
Why Fresno trucking looks the way it does
Fresno County's agricultural commissioner reports farm production worth $9,029,122,000 in 2024, the county's highest value yet, from 1.88 million acres of farmland and more than 350 crops. Almost all of it leaves the farm by truck: to packing houses and processors, to cold storage, and out to ports and grocery distribution centers. That produces a market of many small, seasonal carriers rather than a few big fleets.
Fresno trucking in Census data
County Business Patterns 2023 for NAICS 484 (Truck Transportation) in the Fresno, CA Metro Area (CBSA 23420), which is Fresno and Madera counties:
| Measure (2023) | Fresno metro |
|---|---|
| Establishments | 1,391 |
| Employees (week of March 12) | 8,147 |
| Annual payroll | $458,603,000 |
| Average employees per establishment | 5.9 |
| Average annual pay | $56,291 |
| Share of US establishments | 0.82% of 170,286 |
| County | Establishments | Employees |
|---|---|---|
| Fresno County, California | 1,256 | 7,591 |
| Madera County, California | 135 | 556 |
| Type of trucking (NAICS) | Establishments | Employees | Average pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Long-distance truckload (484121) | 537 | 2,691 | $49,910 |
| Local general freight (484110) | 476 | Not reported (high-noise figure) | Not reported |
| Specialized local freight (484220) | 197 | 1,778 | $68,027 |
| Specialized long-distance (484230) | 90 | 670 | $66,170 |
| Less-than-truckload (484122) | 63 | 1,008 | $65,066 |
| Household and office moving (484210) | 28 | 173 | $31,578 |
The Census Bureau published local general freight employment but flagged it as high-noise: the noise it adds to protect confidentiality changed the figure by 5% or more, so we leave it out.
| Employees per establishment | Establishments |
|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 1,100 |
| 5 to 9 | 107 |
| 10 to 19 | 89 |
| 20 to 49 | 63 |
| 50 to 99 | 20 |
| 100 to 249 | 12 |
| 250 to 499 | Not published |
| 500 to 999 | Not published |
| 1,000 or more | Not published |
That's 1,296 establishments with 1 to 19 employees, 83 with 20 to 99 and 12 with 100 or more (the Census Bureau doesn't publish the classes above 249 here, and the published classes already add up to the 1,391 total). Remember the limits: these are locations with a payroll, not companies, and owner-operators with no employees are left out.
What Fresno carriers haul
FMCSA's Company Census File (updated 29 October 2026) shows the carriers Census misses. Counting active for-hire property carriers with at least one power unit and a physical address in Fresno or Madera County:
| FMCSA measure | Fresno and Madera counties |
|---|---|
| For-hire property carriers | 11,628 |
| Interstate | 6,240 (53.7%) |
| Intrastate only | 5,388 |
| One power unit | 8,388 (72.1%) |
| 2 to 9 power units | 2,820 |
| 10 or more power units | 420 |
| MCS-150 updated since 30 October 2024 | 6,879 (59.2%) |
| List fresh produce as cargo | 4,516 (38.8%) |
Carriers can tick several cargo types, and 75.2% list general freight. After produce come beverages (16.4%), paper products (15.7%) and dry bulk (11.2%). Only 309 carry a hazardous materials flag, 2.7%, so this is a food and packaging market, not a chemicals one. More than half of Fresno's for-hire carriers are interstate, a higher share than in the Los Angeles metro, which fits long hauls of produce out of the valley. Cargo types are self-reported by carriers, and FMCSA's open-data file doesn't always match a carrier's own SAFER record, so treat these shares as indicative and fleet sizes as a starting point.
The largest fleets registered here
No SEC-listed trucking company has a business address in the metro. The largest registered fleets are modest, per their SAFER snapshots as of 28 October 2026:
| Carrier (SAFER legal name) | City | Power units | Drivers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Western Grain & Milling Inc | Sanger | 246 | 169 |
| B&B Transport Inc | Fresno | 190 | 185 |
| E & R Transportation Inc | Mendota | 140 | 140 |
| DTL Transport Inc | Fresno | 117 | 244 |
| Khalsa Transportation LLC | Selma | 109 | 99 |
Many large carriers that serve Fresno are registered elsewhere and run terminals here, which is why the list of the largest trucking companies nationally looks nothing like this one.
California's rules for a Fresno carrier
California layers its own requirements on the federal ones. Under the DMV's Motor Carrier Permit (MCP) program, a permit is required for:
- anyone paid to transport property, regardless of vehicle size, type or weight
- vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more, for commercial or private use
- any vehicle or combination carrying hazardous materials, or needing a commercial driver license
- a truck and trailer combination over 40 feet long
Applicants need a CA number from the California Highway Patrol, proof of workers' compensation cover, and liability insurance of $300,000 to $5,000,000 combined single limit depending on vehicles and cargo. The permit lasts 12 months.
Engines matter too. The California Air Resources Board's Truck and Bus Regulation requires diesel vehicles over 14,000 pounds operating in California to have a 2010-or-newer engine and emission system as of January 1, 2023, and the DMV can refuse registration to a vehicle that doesn't comply.
How to check a Fresno carrier
- Search its USDOT number in FMCSA's SAFER Company Snapshot: active status, interstate or intrastate, power units, and an MCS-150 dated within two years.
- Ask for its CA number and current MCP, and a certificate of insurance naming you.
- Confirm engine compliance for every truck that will run your loads, especially older units brought back for harvest.
- For produce, ask for reefer unit service records and temperature logs from last season, and agree on pre-cooling and loading times in writing.
- Line up a second carrier before the peak; small fleets can't add trucks when every packer wants them the same week.
Selling to Fresno trucking companies
With 1,296 of 1,391 establishments under 20 employees, the owner is the buyer almost everywhere. What they buy follows the season: reefer service, tires, brakes and financing before harvest; factoring during it, when shippers pay slowly; and repairs and engine upgrades after it. Only the 12 establishments with 100 or more employees have a maintenance or safety manager running purchases.
Illustrative example. The shop and its rates are invented; the counts are FMCSA data above.
Valley Reefer Service (valleyreefer.example) sells pre-season inspections for refrigeration units. Fresno and Madera have 2,820 for-hire carriers with 2 to 9 power units. If the metro's produce share holds for them, about 1,094 list produce, and 59.2% have a current MCS-150: about 648 active small fleets. At a 5% reply rate that's 32 conversations; if one in four books, 8 fleets with five units each at $400 per unit is $16,000 of work before the first pick. Bebop can find carriers matching that description and research each one first.
Hi [first name], this is [your name] at [shop]. Your USDOT record shows [number] trucks hauling produce out of [city]. Most fleets your size lose a load or two each season to a reefer that quits on a hot afternoon. We do a pre-season check on each unit at your yard in about an hour. Want me to hold a slot for [week] before harvest gets busy?
Local sources
| Source | What it gives you |
|---|---|
| FMCSA Company Census File | Every USDOT record, filterable by Fresno and Madera counties |
| California DMV Motor Carrier Permits | Who needs an MCP and how to apply |
| Fresno County crop and livestock report | Crop values, the demand behind the valley's freight |
Next step: compare Fresno with another valley-edge market in the report on trucking companies in Sacramento.
Sources
- County Business Patterns (CBP), 2023, US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- County Business Patterns datasets, 2023 (metro and county files), US Census Bureau, accessed 30 October 2026
- Company Census File, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (data.transportation.gov), updated 29 October 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- SAFER Company Snapshot, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, data as of 28 October 2026, accessed 30 October 2026
- Annual Crop and Livestock Report, Fresno County Department of Agriculture, 2024 report, accessed 30 October 2026
- Motor Carrier Permits, California Department of Motor Vehicles, accessed 30 October 2026
- Truck and Bus Regulation, California Air Resources Board, accessed 30 October 2026
Written by the Bebop team at Blackpearl Group. Published .
Questions people ask
How many trucking companies are in Fresno?
Census County Business Patterns counted 1,391 trucking establishments with paid employees in the Fresno metro (Fresno and Madera counties) in 2023, employing 8,147 people. FMCSA's register lists 11,628 active for-hire property carriers in the two counties, because it includes owner-operators without employees; 8,388 of them report a single power unit and 4,516 list fresh produce as cargo.
What is the largest trucking company in Fresno?
Among carriers registered in the Fresno metro, Western Grain & Milling in Sanger reported the most power units in SAFER as of 28 October 2026, with 246, followed by B&B Transport in Fresno with 190 and E & R Transportation in Mendota with 140. No SEC-listed trucking company has a business address in the metro; large national carriers serve Fresno through local terminals.
Do I need a Motor Carrier Permit in California?
Yes, if you are paid to transport property, whatever the vehicle size, or if you operate a vehicle of 10,001 pounds or more gross vehicle weight rating, carry hazardous materials, run a vehicle that needs a commercial license, or pull a combination over 40 feet. The DMV issues the permit for 12 months and requires a CHP CA number, insurance and workers' compensation proof.
What engine rules apply to trucks in Fresno?
California's Truck and Bus Regulation, run by the Air Resources Board, applies to diesel vehicles over 14,000 pounds operating anywhere in the state, including out-of-state trucks. Since January 1, 2023, covered vehicles must have a 2010-or-newer engine and emission system, with few exceptions, and the DMV can deny registration to a vehicle that doesn't comply.
How do I find produce trucking companies in Fresno?
Filter FMCSA's Company Census File for Fresno and Madera counties and the fresh produce cargo field: 4,516 for-hire carriers tick it. Then check each in the SAFER Company Snapshot for active status, cargo, power units and a current MCS-150. Ask shortlisted carriers for their California Motor Carrier Permit, insurance certificate and reefer service records before harvest.